My Mantra: Que Sera

9 42
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Are you familiar with the song Que Sera?

Going down the memory lane, my grand father used to lay down on our little nipa hot and sing this line,"Que Sera, Sera... Whatever will be... Will be..."

Now that I grew up and as I understood its meaning it became my mantra.

Life is complicated, yes but only if you complicate things too. You see, Que sera, whatever you do and how much your strive hard if it is not meant for you it will not be for you. We get what we want with the combination of hard work, a lil luck and prayers but if that is not really what God wanted us to be then brace yourself as there should be something that lies way better ahead of you. Believe, have faith and pray. This is what I always do. It is tiring to stress yourself up to something that you do not know the outcome or pressure yourself over something that may not even be worth it.

Now let me show you the lyrics of the song and how I can deeply relate to it:

Que Sera, Whatever will be, will be...

When I was just a little girl
I asked my mother, what will I be
Will I be pretty
Will I be rich
Here's what she said to me

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future's not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be

When I grew up and fell in love
I asked my sweetheart, what lies ahead
Will we have rainbows
Day after day
Here's what my sweetheart said

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future's not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be

Now I have children of my own
They ask their mother, what will I be
Will I be handsome
Will I be rich
I tell them tenderly

Que sera, sera
Whatever will be, will be
The future's not ours to see
Que sera, sera
What will be, will be
Que sera, sera

When I was a child I am way too curious what will I become and what path will I take to lead to that "success"? My mom would always tell me to pray for me to be guided to the right path and be protected. But when I was young I was ambitious. Though I am competitive and ambitious in a way that I only "compete with myself".

But because I get to perform I also gain rivals without even noticing and knowing that those who befriended me wanted only to use me for their own advantage. I am not bragging but way back in the academe I always get awards, not until I reached College when I learned how to play my cards and just stay low profile. Despite that, I was once part of the Deans List but I got removed because in College you don't just need to be brainy, your pocket must also be full. I cannot join any activities and I had a hard time catching up with projects because I do not have s computer or even a laptop but that did not stop me from aiming to graduate.

There were lots of times when I even thought of quitting and just look for a job but then since I learned about the meaning of this line and this song it became my mantra.

From then on, it makes me feel less burden. I do not worry much of things I do not control coz if it is meant to be, it will be.

Now, as a sister I am trying to share this mantra to my brother.

He is about to be onboarded on an interisland Cargo Vessel but then he suddenly got sick:

He got so frustrated because he had been applying for quite awhile and now that he is already hired he got sick and that is 3 days before their scheduled swab test!

He started to feel ill last Saturday. All the symptoms of possible Covid case is visible. The other day they, Tuesday morning he already felt better, no fever but still with clogged nose and cough. Still he was advised to do the swab and he is willing though worried coz if it would turn out positive we will all be quarantine. He took the swab yesterday afternoon.

The line that I stated,"Dba niana ko f para imo ma imoha jd na", in English is same with "If its meant to be for you, it will then be yours eventually".

And just earlier today he tried to inquire about the result and it says:

Come to think of it, if it is for you then no one can take it away. We just gotta have faith and ready plan B if all else fail. Well yeah you might wanna tell me its easy for me to say that but actually this is not because I want to think too much complications with life coz I believe it is enough that we do not even know where we're from so let us not dig deeper or kill ourselves to know more what is being presented.


...end thoughts...

Sharing this story to everyone so you can re-assess yourselves about not putting too much stress over something you cannot control and learn to push the right buttons and wait for the timing.


13
$ 4.42
$ 4.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 6
Sponsors of Glez
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Glez
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Agree.. Sakin naman, everything happens for a reason.. wag paka stress sa mga bagay bagay.. by the way, eto din kinakanta ko nung bata pa ako pero di ko alam yung buong lyrics.. ngayon ko lang talaga nabasa tong buong lyrics.. hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading the title, nakadumdom kos kanta dayon. Our Lord is in control, there are events that will make us stronger. good to know that the swab result for your bro is negative.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's true that things that is not meant for us will never be ours even if we sweat blood on it. But surely God knows what's best for us :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

uso gyud ang fever with matching colds and cough... i just had mine last three days ago.thank God nawala ra sad sya after 2 days... lisod kau ron masakit kay basin ingnon covid na daun

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Elem ako una ko tong narinig. Namention korin to sa ibang article.ko dto.. hehe Ang.daming.nagbago mula pagkabata.. mga plano at pangarap na.nag iba... Pro an mahalaga ay ang kasalukuyan.. kung ano man meron tayo nagayon.. yun ang itinadhana..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truth. "Que sera what ever will be will be." Thanks for the story Glez it's a reminder and an inspiration. God bless to you and your brother.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is also a reminder to never lose hope because God has arranged you for something you deserve. Trust HIM β€πŸ™

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Whatever will be will definitely be. No matter how far it wanders, if its yours, it will definitely come back.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yes dzai pag di talaga para satin kahit ano pang gawin natin di talaga magiging atin yan.

$ 0.05
2 years ago