Boring Day Plus Faulty Laptop

17 78
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago

Today, I am just going to write about how my day went and some of the little things that happened. Please bear with me. 

I left my room around 8:am, headed to a restaurant close to my faculty then had breakfast. Monday is the most busiest day of the week for me because we have 4 lectures back to back every Mondays, but today was a really boring day for me. 

I had a boring class today. The course was ‘Construction Economics’ and the professor was fantastically uninteresting.

I’m usually one of those people who sit quietly at the front, taking notes and paying attention, even when the material is dry. I’m very good at being alive but today I wasn’t. Because the class was so tedious, I started to focus on my own life instead of the notes or my instructor. My mind began to wander, to think of all the exciting things I have going on right now. The first thing that popped into my head was that I haven’t prepared my study plan for the semester and that bothered me a lot. 

As I was sitting in class, listening to my professor, I began to look around the room. The room was full of my course mates – some were on their laptops or phones and others were staring straight ahead or talking with their friends. It made me think about all the things I have to do and all the work that I have to turn in by the end of the week.

I thought about all the papers, presentations, tests and quizzes I would have over the next few days. In that moment, I realized that being bored isn't as bad as it seems. Being bored is a sign of taking time off to relax and regroup. It gives you time to let your mind wander, to think about life without the distractions of school or work. It's like a break in life, when you can be at peace with yourself. In the end, it's really not that bad at all, then I zoned in back and tried to catch up with what the professor has been saying. 

Then I zoned off again and was deep in my thoughts again. Then i had a different opinion, boring classes are the worst. I hated having to sit through one of those every week. And I have a couple of them. And they were way different than anything that happened during my awesome BIM, New materials or advanced construction technology classes. Actually, the course is an important one, and you're probably wondering how anyone could be so bored by learning about something important. But I just can't seem to pay attention to stuff that doesn't interest me. Or that I don't need to know. So after a while, for the first time since a long time, I actually almost fell asleep during a lecture.

Although if I had fallen asleep, it would have been an ironic choice because It was supposed to be my favorite course. I want to skip the rest of it but the professor is too strict to allow that. He told us that we must listen to him and nothing else. I try to understand what he’s saying but he won’t stop repeating himself. The worst is that he’s condescending. When the class ended, I was so fatigued that I wanted to skip the next class, then I remembered that I have to have straight A(s) this semester. So the better choice was to wait. 

I left the faculty around 7pm and then went straight to the supermarket to get groceries. I got to the room and then tried to charge my laptop. Then i noticed it wasn’t charging. 

Just out of warranty and my lovely laptop has developed faults. It's got a bit of a stressful few months with the family and the tech world, and I had to change the keyboard.   It was replaced a few weeks ago and I've taken care of it since I had it back. I'm taking it to an engineer tomorrow to get it looked at and to see if it can be fixed or replaced. Not that I can’t try to fix it myself, but I don’t like fixing my gadgets as I usually get bored whilst trying to couple it back after uncoupling it. 

There's a lot of work files, research papers, and photos on there as well as all my coding for my project. I'm hoping that I don't lose it. But anyways, I can always savage my hard disk. 

19
$ 7.07
$ 6.68 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
+ 11
Sponsors of Giddyboy
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Giddyboy
2 years ago

Comments

I hate it when my gadgets are being faulty, for about 3weeks now am not happy due to the fault my PC is giving... Though the battery is bad for about a year now but the Charing port is faulty too, any slight touch at the back the PC will off

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oops. Seems your PC has a lot of faults. Anyways, I have fixed mine.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It sure does

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Although I don't have a laptop yet, I can still relate to your struggle especially when you are using the laptop in the class. I can relate to it one day.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Laptop aids learning and makes it easier.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's very hussle when laptop is broken, the expenses is a problem and also when will it be fixed. Hope every will be go through this. Go back to the shop and get it fixed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I feel your pain buddy. My desktop got wasted but as well as my laptop also broken for many times. Take your time and complete all tasks

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Don't worry everything will be fine. If there is a problem with the laptop, it feels very bad because at this time I do not know what to do. . I hope your laptop is fixed soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I’m sure you’ll be fine and you probably will get it fixed in a short time, but days like this are bitter days and it’s normal… I hope you do get it fixed

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really hope so too. Really need the laptop to be at a 100%

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then bring it back to the shop. Maybe the ones they replaced wasn't new

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I’ll get it fixed this week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My friend, what you said reminded me of my university days and classes when it was early in the morning and the professor was lecturing, in those hours I couldn't prevent my eyes from closing and my head from falling. And it wasn't just me. The rest of the class was napping with me. And that was a real shame... I hope your laptop is fixed, and has no particular problems.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't worry about all that happened today, you will be fine. There is a reason for that, Mondays always comes with their own separate stress.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Right. Mondays are always usually stressful.

$ 0.00
2 years ago