The Nigerian National University Games (Lagos, 2022

6 18
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago
Topics: Sports

Good evening read family. It has been fun somewhere in Lagos Nigeria since last week. The universities of the nation is participating in all games for this year hosted by the university of Lagos (UNILAG). It a bomper and it on going as we READ right now. KUdos to my friends who are right there competing and kudos to the Lagos university for hosting the biggest event. This game is open for all universities in Nigeria and there are hundreds of them. A journey for the students and an experience to have too. Would have loved to be in one of the games, probably soccer if I were amongst them. An opportunity is ringing for so many athletes with passion. Times like this comes in a while and people can't wait to represent a school.

The first time I heard of NUGA was far back in 2007, in my primary school days. So nice a game as I visited with my elder brother who back then was a cricket player. I could still remember the crowd and entertainment that followed every day. It an experience that every student should have. A wider knowledge per say because traveling and featuring in sports like this is another form of education. People with passion comes together to compete. The best of the best meet each other to take the bull by the horns.

My friend Williams is representing his school in a martial arts (Taekwondo) fight competition. They had earlier gone for trials and luck and skills by his side, he made it and won a medal. The media qualified him to go for this NUGA games at Lagos Nigeria (UNILAG) So, all athletes who are to compete in Lagos are qualified athletes from the preliminary NUGA. It really gonna be a clash of the Titans and I will be missing all these events, the games and the cheers from the crowd and spectators. I also remember representing my secondary school in a football match in another state. The celebrity feeling of being an athlete. The care and love we were shown for representing the entire school in soccer (female team). I was the goal keeper and probably, the number one ad first choice keeper. We did well and won silver medal after a tough match between us a.d the host team. It was an experience to always remember.

Williams is good in martial arts and I wish him all the best. Other games from his university include volleyball and handball, chess and basketball, judo and athletics, javelin and other sports. I just love them all and a super fan too. With tournaments locally and internationally, I can assume to say that sports is one of the best thing that can unite the whole world. Just like the world cup, featuring all races and nations, or the Olympics games which is another banger uniting the best of the best too from all around the world. The strength of sports is competition.Competition is what sports men and women train for and give in their best to dominate.

Right from my secondary school, sports have been my hobby and till now, I still wish to feature in the next NUGA by Gods grace. More exposure and experience in the bank to explore. For some athletes, it an opportunity to visit a new place. Just like Lagos is so popular in Nigeria and Africa, people would love to visit for the first time and sports being the window of connection is a great achievement.

May I also say some congratulations to some of the taekwondo guys that already won medals and a friend to a friend of mine that has just won bronze medals. Kudos people! make ur school proud. Anything worth doing is worth doing well. Waiting for my own time to come and represent my school . People use to say that gold is the highest of all medal won in sports and they give more value to it. It true per say but to me Gianna, anyone else that has a medal bronze or silver is a champion. The person is the best. Even though I myself would train and work to get that gold medal but .... what happens if I get knocked out of the medal table? so everyone has the full rights to celebrate silver and bronze medals same way gold is celebrated. The nearly that doesn't kill a bird means alot to the hunter and nothing to the story teller. When we are up for fight, let know we are fighting and get ready to fight yo the finish/finals. If anyone reading this has been eliminated in any sports before climbing the medal table, he or she would know how it feels. All athletes and competitors motive is to take the gold medal and that why it takes a king to handle the throne. The best came together to know that best among them. That's how I see it from my perspective.

Shout out to my lovely sponsors

Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty

Sporting is good, physically and mentally. Competition makes it an experience and winning is the goal of every sports man) woman. Congratulations to all this who made it in the preliminary and are there in Lagos doing what they know how to do well. More congratulations in medals are coming your way I pray.

thanks for reading and I wish you all good health and fitness in all endeavors.

@Gianna-B, 2022.

6
$ 0.79
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
2 years ago
Topics: Sports

Comments

It's so painful I couldn't grace any of the events even tho it was happening in my school. That regardless, shout out to every school that participated💃🏻

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Nuga game was a very interesting one. I was in UNILag on the final football match between Unilorin and OAU

$ 0.00
2 years ago

NUGA games is turning out to be Nigeria's world cup Lots of unexpected happening

I'm new on readcash plz show love

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Welcome to the family dear.. this is a best choice you made

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such kinda competition can a make a man or woman physically and mentally strong so we should participate in such competitions not for just winning it can may lead us to a lesson

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago