The Beauty of Okra

1 51
Avatar for Gianna-B
6 months ago
Topics: Plants, Food, Okra

Hello actives! Happy weekend!! This month is in its last days. It was a great one but not so good for me. I didn't make as much money as I wanted probably because of some challenges but today I'm moving on. Another month has another opportunity and as we say "tomorrow is pregnant". You never can tell what will happen. This evening I took some quick photos in a friend's house. We were about to leave when I saw some beautiful okra trees and decided to take some shots. They looked so beautiful.

Today was a rainy day. Normally by this time of the year, it rains heavily at night. It has happened occasionally but today's own was different. In the morning when everyone was ready for work, it started raining heavily till afternoon. That was so crazy. I had to stay indoors and do my workout. A rainy Friday that disrupted most people's plans for the day.

After the rain, the weather dropped from normal +24 degrees to +16 degrees. It was so cold for me that I had to start sleeping again. What a good sleep I had afterwards. Not long after I woke up, it started raining again. This time around, it wasn't heavy and within just a few minutes, my friend came to visit. I had already forgotten we had somewhere to go.

Visiting her mother's place was fun, I didn't even expect to see okra plants as I did but was taken by surprise. It's been a long time since I saw one, even though I eat okra soup occasionally. The sight was amazing and the bright flowers made it more interesting.

I remember how my grandma would harvest her okra and dry them under the sun. According to her she said the dried ones will be used in the dry season when there's no fresh okra in the market. That's another type of soup to taste. Some people go as far as cooking with the leaves. I have never tasted that but I guess it should be good.

Draw-soup as it is called is one of my favorite local delicacies. The sweet aroma that spreads far away from the kitchen makes everyone crave for it. It's a legendary soup according to history and women who make the best of it easily win the heart of men _ according to history.

Do you have okra in your home? Have you eaten one before?

Thanks for your time.

All images belong to me.

4
$ 0.32
$ 0.27 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Amjad_Ali_Waince
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
6 months ago
Topics: Plants, Food, Okra

Comments

Yes, I have okra plants at our small space. I have four and I harvest it everyday! i like it blanched. I tried eating it raw, the young ones and i like it! tastes sweet.

$ 0.00
6 months ago