Plan your weekend

3 16
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"The only reason why we ask other people how their weekend was is so we can tell them about our own weekend". Chuck Palahniuk

Today is the end of the week and the beginning of a new month. Holla! It's October already and my county's 62nd independence day celebration. Thanks to all my pen friends who have called to celebrate with me.

This weekend has been a good one for me, I had earlier planned for it and am happy to see I am following my plans. After my schedule in the morning, I welcomed a friend who wanted me to accompany her to her aunt's house. It wasn't in my plans to do that and when I told her I wouldn't help her out, she decided not to go again. I was curious about her changing her mind but she said she was bored and wanted to walk around. I asked her of her plans for the weekend but she said she has no plans at all

Have you ever looked forward to the weekend with anticipation only to be let down because it passed by too quickly and you didn't fully enjoy it? Here are a few tips to help you maximize your weekends if you want to enjoy them and feel renewed and motivated afterward.

The same applies to planning your weekend as you do your week. Be sure to plan out your weekend activities in advance just like I always do. Even while it doesn't imply that every moment will be scheduled, you should go into the weekend knowing what you hope to accomplish. If you don't have any plans, you'll wind up doing nothing and then, when the weekend is gone, you'll wonder where the time went. The anticipation, however, will enhance not just your weekend but also your week if you plan your activities for Saturday and Sunday during the week.

Monday to Friday, routine largely governs how we live. But if we're not careful, the comfort of our routines can easily cause us to fall into a rut where we just repeat the same actions. Therefore, the weekend is an excellent time to push ourselves to venture beyond our comfort zones by engaging in novel activities, joining a new group, checking something off our bucket list, or picking up an old interest.

Unsplash image

While cramming your schedule with various activities might be enjoyable, doing it excessively can be physically and mentally draining. Instead, make sure you block off some time just for you so you may relax anyway you like, perhaps by reading a favorite book. Avoid using your free time to do activities that aren't relaxing, like checking your email nonstop.

We frequently make the error of not being able to truly enjoy our Sunday because we are preoccupied with thoughts of Monday morning and the job that is waiting for us. It can happen to anyone especially when your job is a stressful one. It is right to be disturbed and make plans but for the sake of the weekend, we have to take a better Chill.

Spend some time on Sunday night organizing the upcoming week so that you are aware of the goals you have for the week, both at work and in your personal life. You can prevent the weekend feeling from abruptly ending on Sunday by taking some time on Sunday night to plan another enjoyable activity for the upcoming week and consider the upcoming weekend.

I have already planned today and even my tomorrow. I also have plans for the new month which I will start working at from next week. Since I began scheduling my time, the result has been good and the weekend is well spent waiting for more. I hope you find some of these tips helpful.

Unsplash image

Thank you for reading and happy new month to you all

Lead image credit: taken from unsplash.com

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Moooniac
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Sometimes, I don't plan my weekends but just go with the flow but some other times, I do which turn out to be great in the end.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah! I always planned my weekend so I can enjoy it more :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeahh, haha, it seems to me that sometimes I get asked and I'm surprised that the weekend is over and I haven't done anything yet.. Haha..

$ 0.00
1 year ago