My Lazy times Today.

4 14
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Today I woke up late because I went to sleep so late yesterday. I had to set an alarm that rang for the second time before waking up. Beams of lights were seen through my window and I realized it was past eight. Luckily for me, I don't go to work on Mondays. There's a lockdown every Monday here in Eastern Nigeria. Almost all companies don't open because of fear, some security groups might burn or demolish properties of defaulters. Even schools don't open on days like this.

I already made plans for today but was so lazy, procrastinating on time to start. I wanted to help my neighbors daughter with her homework in the morning but on waking up late, I shifted it till afternoon and from afternoon till evening. I just thank God I didn't disappoint the little girl.

It has been a long time since I procrastinated on something. The last time I could remember was at school, before the strike action.

The world of education is rife with procrastination. Students put off studying over the academic year and wait until the last minute to get ready for tests. They occupy so much time with games and socialize that they finally lose track of time and begin to stress out just a few days before the tests. These are the kids who don't perform at their best during the tests.

High grade students on the other hand, maintain a high standard of academic performance and find the ideal balance between work and play. They never experience lastminute worries since they are wellprepared for their exams.

Time is just like a river; it never stops moving forward. Even if you put off doing your work or put off finishing it until the last minute, time will still pass.

"I can't tell you why there's a delay, but stick your head out of the window and you'll know why". _Dizzy Dean

Because they adhere to rigorous schedules for planting and harvesting, farmers must keep a constant eye on the passing of time. Because time does not wait for anyone, their farming timetables are dependent on the weather, and if they postpone planting or harvesting by even one day, it will be disastrous for them.

Today, I didn't follow up my schedule because I didn't wake up early. Now I understand what procrastination does to humans in this little time I failed to follow up my daily goals. How much more do people who procrastinate all time feel about what they miss. That's even if they notice that.

Time should be respected, and we shouldn't waste it. You may be familiar with the proverb, "Ask a student who failed an exam to understand the value of one year. Ask a woman who delivered a premature baby to help you understand the worth of one month. Ask someone who just missed his train how important one minute is to them.

Ask someone who has just avoided an accident to help you understand the importance of a second. Even one second of your life is valuable since time is so valuable. Don't waste it, then. If we treat time with respect, it will treat us with the same respect.

There's time to relax and wind off after a long run of working and pursuing goals, but I think it doesn't count for growths relaxing and winding off without working or pursuing any goals.

Thanks for reading lovelies.

@Gianna-B

Lead image taken from unsplash.

5
$ 0.05
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.01 from @Sylv_Sylv
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

We shouldn't waste time, very true. We should also not live under the illusion that rigorous supposed time management is a thing we can do. If one's fortunate not to have too many uncertainties in their life, one should be grateful

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, we should'not waste our time for nothing. "if you can't give me time , atleast be considerate enough not to waste mine" my favorite line when it comes to time. I don't care how other people waste their time, but for me it's too valuable i can't just waste it, i'll do my thing with my own pace while being mindful of others.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We all do have the same 24hours and what we do with our time matters most. We shouldn't waste time but to do things on time. Procrastination is a disease and thief of time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We really need to rest for once, since achieving goals will always be tiring

$ 0.00
1 year ago