Be Good with Your Family

4 18
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

“It’s TUESDAY! And since it’s CHOOSEDAY: choose to smile, choose to be happy, choose to love, choose to bless, choose to be a blessing, choose to be humble, choose to be patient, choose to be kind… And above all Choose God to guide your life. HAPPY TUESDAY!” ~ Anonymous

Second day of a working week lovelies. Today I got a call from an uncle who I haven't heard from for years. It was a big surprise seeing his name on my call screen.

"Buzz! Buzz!" As my phone vibrated to ringing, I took a look to see a phone number I thought was already not in existence. I was like "wow" as I kept staring at his calls. I wasn't even prompted to take the call, I just kept looking at it as if it wasn't my phone ringing with lots going through my head.

"Buzz! Buzz!" Again for the second time it rang. This time around I was about to leave the house for work. Well, I took the call but before that...

" Have you ever had an uncle or aunt from your father's side that doesn't even care about you and your family?"

This is one, I have one and here is it. The last time I saw his eyeballs was in my secondary school days. He came back with his wife to spend the season of Christmas. I didn't actually see him in his house, nor did he visit us. I met them (with his wife) at a party. I didn't recognize him at first, I was standing close to him and I heard someone call my name..

"Do you have an uncle that will never call you back even when you keep reminding them of their promises? They will always be like "hello how are you?" But will never contribute to your living fine".

.. I took the phone and it was his wife. She has called to ask about me and everyone else, probably because they know my parents wouldn't dare pick their calls.

Since they travelled outside the country, they have forgotten about home. They forgot about their own brothers and sisters. They only come back occasionally and even as that, they don't tell anyone when they're around. They have chosen to stay away from the family and live alone. For so many times, they have been called by the family but they don't reply. Today, I was surprised to see my phone ring for his calls.

.. As I spoke with my uncle's wife, I noticed her tense voice. She was sounding so lively as usual. I immediately suspected something was wrong. I tried to know how she was doing and also about my uncle but she said he was sick and hospitalized.

This isn't a funny moment anymore. I had to listen carefully to her plea if I told my dad to take her phone call and hear her out.

At this point, I knew she has been calling her husband's siblings but none was answering her. I felt so pity for her and promised to help her. I asked if I could speak to my uncle but she said he was asleep at the moment. After speaking with her, I called my mom to inform her about it. She felt bad for her too. This is the time they need family to be with them. It is quite difficult because they are not in good terms with everyone. I wish things weren't this way, who knows how sick my uncle is now. Well, I hope his brothers forgive him and be there for him at this time of need.

I really don't want to come in between my uncle and his brothers. I can only tell my mom to talk to my dad about it. I'll keep in touch with her to know how she's fairing though. This is one of the reasons why people should live in peace with their family. Blood is always and forever thicker than water. Some people who keep distance from their family should remember that one day they'll come back home. Let's try to be at peace with our siblings even when everyone has their own family for united we will always stand. People who don't have brothers are looking for one while others with lots don't value what they have.

Thank you for reading and have a lovely day.

@Gianna-B

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

6
$ 0.28
$ 0.24 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Sylv_Sylv
$ 0.01 from @BCH_LOVER
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Indeed we have to love and value our family but sometimes blood are no longer thicker than water.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

True friend people should have an understanding and love each other. They must helping and supporting each other. Avoid those fightings and misunderstandings because it's not really good.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

People tend to forget family when life is better for them. Hope your dad forgives and forgets. Your uncle was just being ignorant

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree with you, we should always try to live at peace with our family because time will come that we will also need them especially during the tough times of our life... I'm thankful that all my aunts and uncles are close to each other. Every occasions or any problems that the family are facing, they are there always for each other.

$ 0.01
1 year ago