Timing matters.

26 38
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

What happens if your accomplishment percentage for a particular task is less than 50%, would you still carry on to do it?

This was the thought that clouded my mind as was about writing this article because I didn't have enough power on my mobile device and the laptop also needs to be charged.

I felt reluctant not just because of the battery, my head seem full, and was too tired to carry on with writing so I decided to use some of my power to read articles and engage but the first article I came across two articles that sent me straight into the writing mode.

Stop Thinking and Start Writing by @Jane and Laziness won't get you anywhere by @eommaZel, you can read and get inspired as well.

I slept last night with the thought of getting a new system today since the old one has been faulty for weeks now, it slept early so that I can set out early. I woke up as early as 5 am and left for the market at 6 am because Lagos traffic is always something else on weekdays. The computer village was my destination, the market is located in the heart of Ikeja.

Shot from the bus while before it left the bus terminal.

It was really cold and I was shivering, other passengers were complaining about the cold. To my surprise, the bus Air condition was on and I was wondering why at such time.

The view from the bus glass.

We turned them off but some can only be controlled by the driver and he didn't turn it off until people started complaining. I approached him and said the cold was disturbing since the harsh approach of the passenger wouldn't solve it and he said that some passengers usually complain when they turn it off.

My response was "Oga, not at a time like this". After the incident, it kept coming to my head that there are lots of proper things that we do at the wrong time which makes our results, or reactions from people very terrible.

The Air Condition would have been of great advantage at noon when the weather would be hot, it would only complicate issues in cold weather. A lot of us are like that, we know what's right but we do it at the wrong time.

I remembered a couple who were once my neighbor, they were young and usually have heated arguments. His wife is a full housewife, they didn't have a kid then. The cause of their arguments was mainly chores and cooking, the man complains always and we thought he was nagging until they had an argument that almost led to him beating her up.

While talking to him, he said he doesn't understand what his wife does during the day that prevents her from doing what's necessary at home until late at night. He doesn't eat out so he expects her to have made dinner and do other things required of her at home but the woman is always fond of cooking when he comes and that makes him angry always.

She is a good cook because I ate her meal one weekend while we were having a small get-together in the compound so cooking wasn't her problem but she was terrible with timing.


The book of Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 says, "For everything, there is a season, A time for every activity under heaven. A time to be born and a time to die. A time to plant and a time to harvest".


A student who chooses to read-only after an exam will definitely gain some knowledge but the knowledge would be irrelevant for the past exams, it would do him more good to read before the exams.

We must understand that everything in life has to do with timing except for instance when life comes in between us and what is required of us at a particular time.


You can be the best at a particular thing at work or anywhere but if you fail to do what you are good at when required of you, someone else would wear your crown. The person doesn't necessarily have to be the best or as good as you but he or she will be everyone's favorite because the person did what was necessary at the right time.

Imagine you calling firefighters at the beginning of an outbreak and they didn't show up until the fire has ruined everything beyond repair would you appreciate them for still coming? What if they came immediately after the call and put the fire out, will you appreciate them or not?

Your answer is what you need to rate yourself because there are times we do things and feel bad because we weren't appreciated unknowing to us that our timing was wrong.

Back to the journey.

The trip was a success and I am grateful to the platform for the support it has rendered to me financially because purchasing a laptop during this period was only possible with the help of the BitcoinCash I earned from the platform.

I made it to Ikeja and got something that fits perfectly into my budget without stress, the system cost me $130.

My new laptop.

It is not new but it will serve me well and also help me boost my engagement again since I have been using my smartphone for quite some time.

I got home at noon, too bad we don't have electricity so I haven't been able to use the system properly and I made a mistake of not getting a power bank as well in the market.

My phone went off at the point of editing this article so I had to find a means of charging and that's why you are seeing this late because I started earlier.


I am happy everything went well and the weekend would definitely be a great one not just for me but us all.


All image in the article belong to me, and I add a few more at end of the article so enjoy checking them out.

Other side of the popular Mile12 market.

A shot from the pedestrian bridge Ojota.

Another image I took because of the truck color.

12
$ 7.20
$ 6.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

maybe if I have to accept the fact that my work assignments are only 50% of the results for me this is a failure that must be corrected because it doesn't match expectations. and this does not match the demands of the work we have to do..

today I am reminded by you of a discussion of the book of Ecclesiastes whose contents are about everything there is a time.. this is an advice for us that our life in this world is only temporary.. so use the best time possible for us to get 100% results from our efforts and plan.. because when it's time for us to leave everything.. we have carved out something the best.. reading that makes today motivated.. thanks friends for reminding..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bad timing will lead to chaos and disorganization of things in the end. his is why we are always taught the proper acquisition of time management. Congratulations on your system. BCH made it possible to get what you needed and I am very sure working on a laptop for things like vthis would be easier than using phone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Princess, it would really help me boost my engagement. I and Esthery went out and she called my attention to a lady who looks like you, I saw the resemblance and was wondering in you have a family in Ikorodu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe 😅 I don't have any of my family there. Perhaps I might have from my mother's lineage which I don't know of.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A lot of people aren't patient with the way others use or waste their time I guess... Beautiful laptop you have there. Congratulations ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything seems good if it is done at its perfect timing. The air conditioner should be avoided in winters, he should understand this. Good to see the pictures you shared.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He probably doesn't have an idea that it hurts others even though it might be cool for him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had this thought that people there are not wearing face masks or anything. Well, congrats for having a new laptop. It will be a great help to you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The face mask was compulsory before but not anymore, the government are tired of correcting us over and over again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know what to feel about that, but our country is still struggling dealing covid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a day you had! Every second matters because wasted time cannot be retrieved. Timing is everything!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Time is definitely one of the things we can't retrieve once it is lost so we must always do what's right at the needed time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once we let a second pass by without doing what was necessary then we have lost a great deal of our time. And it's gone forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is indeed gone, making every seconds of our existence count matters a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Looking at the picture at the bus seems there no more social distancing in your place. Did your country already beat the covid? As for your neighbor, if I am the husband for sure I would be also mad. Who.wouldn't?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Covid in Nigeria is nothing but an invented story. A fat lie by the government. If not half the country's population would have been lost by now.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with you on that, our medical care won't be able to counter the virus if we truly have it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I was amazed! Our country was chaos and our lives here was restricted since covid happened

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I read about other countries issue with Covid-19 but I really don't know why we Nigerians are exempted from the wave of the virus.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

OMG why our country can't do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social distancing? Did we ever observe that, Covid was never in Nigeria. Our government were just lying about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow really? That's nice George. So there was no lock down implemented in your country?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello George_Dee , Nice meeting you Sorry for such a stressful day and I hope you feel relieved Can I please know the specifications of the laptop bought, I really need to get one also and yours seems kinda cute and portable... 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay, it is just a 3GB ram and 256GB storage. It is nice meeting you too, I love the portability as well but there are more portable ones that cost more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh ... really ..thanks for the information I didn't get the name of the maker Sorry for disturbing you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is Hp, I am obsessed with their product.

$ 0.00
2 years ago