The two faces of life - you can dream again.

16 44
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Things are said to be of two faces but I didn't understand that well enough until I became an adult because my knowledge and understanding of life were limited. I thought things were predictable in life, l was a great dreamer like every other child that had millions of dreams and thought somehow everything will be fulfilled in a twinkle of an eye.


I remembered when I was younger during my primary school days, my class teacher would ask us what we wanted to be in the future. We all had specs and you start hearing from the pupils, I want to be a banker, a lawyer, a doctor, a journalist, and so on.

Source

In my case, my dream was flying in the air as a pilot or working as an aeronautical engineer.

Fantastic dream right?

We were taught that all we needed was to study hard to achieve everything we wanted in life, little did we know that achieving our dreams was more than that. It worked for some, at least about few of my mates were able to become doctors, lawyers while many of us had no choice than sleep and dream again (laughing).

It remains very funny to me because we were always very confident with those dreams and if life didn't show it other face, I guess many of us would have become what we all dreamt of while growing up.

My dream of flying in the air started as a kid, I always stood to catch the sight of any object making a sound in the air.

image source: Unsplash

Source

Airplane and Helicopter were my favorite drawing even though I wasn't good at them, I was always happy doing them because I saw myself in every picture I drew, and at the bottom of the drawing, I do write the name Capt. Tom.

My dream became an obsession and my friends started calling me Capt. tom because my drawing follows me around. I always thought that nothing was impossible until the dream remained a dream.

Why??

Aviation courses were quite expensive here in the country and it was a course mostly taken by the rich kids in the country and I wasn't from a rich family. Even if someone gave me money for aviation at that time, I would have given it to my mom to start a business to sustain the family because I knew she was struggling to take care of her kids.

I got opportunities for scholarships and couldn't process them because I was not financially fit for them, it required traveling out and that was the last thing my family finance could afford.

My closest shot to my dream was joining the military in 2011, the Nigerian Airforce was my target but I didn't have the right connection because getting a space into top military schools requires you to knowing influential people like governors and others.

Unsplash.

Source.

But where do I come across such a person when I don't even know the local government chairman of my area?

I tried the exam thrice but couldn't make it into the Academy, it could have been a perfect chance to fulfill every dream I had which becoming a pilot was number one. After I missed every shot, I felt down and decided to dream again but I saw nothing coming because the future was entirely cloudy.

Several questions crossed my mind and what if that wasn't my dream? What if God had a different plan for not just me but for many of us who couldn't become what we wanted in life.

Not everyone believes in destiny but there are times when we walk on a different path from what we are destined to be, let forget about destiny, and focus more on our purpose in life.


As an individual, we all have different purposes in life. That thing we are trying to be, that position we are trying to reach, the height we are trying to reach might not be our purpose that's why it looks like we have failed to try to achieve it.

We are not a failure, we maybe weren't doing what's right. Probably we walked on a different path from what we were made for and it doesn't mean that it is the end of the world for us. We can always dream again and this time ask for God's guide while dreaming again. That was the case for me, I had to dream again and after praying, I was lead and guided by God, and to crown it well for me, he made the dream come through for me in a way I wasn't expecting.

Unsplash

Source

It happened quickly and short because it was God's plan all along and even if I can't fly a plane today, I have been able to touch lives and still hope to help lots of people fulfill their dreams.

After looking back at the past year of my life, I concluded and wished that I have known my purpose which would help me make my dream rightly earlier but it wasn't late because it is better late than never.

Lead image

10
$ 7.45
$ 6.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I agree, it is better late than never that's why I'm starting to do the things that I want. I believe this is my life's purpose. So help me God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the huge rewards. Yeah, truly - there is no time we make a new dress and we can't wear it.

As long as we are alive, we can dream again and embark on the right path to success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We have good plans for us, but God has the best plan. Good thing that you allow God work for you. 💗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, we can't be wiser than God because he knows the best for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He has the best plan for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can say that again, I pray we don't by our own hands miss out on Gods plans for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God determines whatever happens to man. That something doesn't work out today does not mean it didn't because we don't deserve it. It did because God is involved and it isn't yet our time. With time, all our dreams will come true.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's very thoughtful, things worked with time as God as scheduled and we must give up on ourselves when things are not going rightly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have some purpose in our life sometimes we achieved that purpose and sometimes not it does not mean if we fail our life end, life always going on I have a dream to become a engineer but don't make because I know it's not Destiny, always be patience you will get soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for your contribution. Not achieving those childhood doesn't make anyone a failure, it is just that we were too young to dream rightly.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems like we have the same situation here in our country. It's not what you known but who you know as we always say. Indeed, we are being redirected to things that are better in store for us or maybe it's not yet our time and we are being tested to wait, be patient but while doing that, do other things.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It might be a test but the factor restricting sometimes can be out of our control leaving us helpless, the government are not helping at all as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Despite having a goal in life, the means of actualizing those dreams will be a problem. I'm a teacher right now butt I never for once when I was a child dreamt of becoming a teacher.

Day in day out, we kept on keeping these dreams of ours hoping that one day it shall manifest but yet we are getting older still on same dream.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What if teaching was originally your purpose? As far as you happy doing it and you can influence lives positively, I believe that you are on the right track.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love that last line... It is better late than never... We all had a lot of dreams for our future but somehow we either were unable to achieve or we changed it... But then, we can't stop dreaming you know???

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, we can't stop dreaming regardless of whatever challenge or setback we face in bringing those dreams to reality.

What was your dream as a kid sir???

$ 0.00
2 years ago