The magic words.... Sorry.

25 59
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The new week is here again, it is a huge grace to be among the living and I want everyone to always appreciate that gift of life. There is a Yoruba adage that says, "when a child appreciates yesterday's gift, such a child will receive another gift". When you are the appreciative type, you should definitely expect bigger blessings or would stop giving a child a gift because he or she appreciates it a lot?.

It is important that we cultivate the habit of thanking more than asking from God, he knows what we need, and thanking him more might even trigger him to do things we aren't even expecting.

This article makes me laugh, I didn't have anything in my for today. I have been struggling to come up with even a post on noise cash since yesterday but I feel somehow kind of different today, the new week comes with new energy I guess.

On my way home from the farm, I went through a school and I heard the kids' voices singing the five magic words poem. It reminded me of being a teacher, those days were hectic but I enjoyed it because I was engaging with kids.

These magic words are important because it has to do with our relationship with people, you do be asking what adults have to do with a child's poem?

Have you imagined why most children's life always looks perfect and simple? They are taught to say please when they require something, thank you when given something, and sorry when they are wrong.

The magic words make them very humble and it surprises me to see adults not applying the lessons they teach their kids, is that they are bigger or have outgrown using those magic words.


Today's magic word is SORRY.

The word "sorry" is not everyone's word, it is surprising to see people feeling too big to say sorry. I don't know if using the word pride is appropriate because that is what I see with people who refuse to say sorry even when they are wrong, this simple word has ruined lots of relationships (not necessarily love affairs).

During my supervisor days, I was embarrassed by my Indian boss in a general meeting, he calculated my team's daily average sales wrongly. I knew he was wrong so I didn't say anything, I went to meet him after the meeting, and instead of apologizing, he said my team growth has dropped and blamed me for other things, I left his office instead of making him see the right thing.

Another meeting came up which involved his superiors, he made another mistake because he used 30 days to calculate February average sales which had 28 days then. I didn't hesitate to call his attention to it, they looked into it and that simple mistake has affected lots of sales documentation on the spreadsheet.

One of his superiors was pissed, my boss immediately went close to them to apologize. I was surprised that he could apologize to them and why not me then? I could have just overlooked it and called his attention to it later like the other time.


Apologizing for committing a blunder doesn't take away anything from you, it even earns you respect because it takes matured minds to do so. Feeling too big to say sorry has ruined relationships, it wouldn't cost you anything to say sorry and save your relationship.

It seems to be the easiest word for me to use always because I use it even when I am not at fault, I just say it to let peace reign and it works a lot.

Does saying sorry have to be genuine always?

In relationships, I think sorry has to be genuine. In some situations, no one cares if it is genuine or not, they just to hear you admit that you are wrong and apologize but it is different in a relationship.

You must be genuine when saying sorry in a relationship because it has a different meaning in there, it means I admit I am wrong and it won't happen again.

Saying sorry for one blunder every time can ruin a relationship, it can take away love, trust, commitment and might as well end the relationship. It is impossible not to make mistakes but some can be avoided and when it happens and we apologize, it must be genuine.


Life isn't as tough as we think, lots of issues can be prevented if we drop our pride and apologize. Apologizing to people doesn't have anything to do with age, class, and even status, you shouldn't hesitate to do so regardless of how small that person might be to you, people you think are small can cause you big troubles.

Trust me when I say it won't cost anything, it is free and you wouldn't hesitate to do that when you have signed up for peace in life.

The article continues tomorrow, stay tuned in, and have a beautiful week.

Lead image.

Click other images for the source.

11
$ 2.75
$ 2.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.04 from @Success.1
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Sorry is a simple word yet so hard to say especially if we don't want to accept our mistakes. Sorry is also a powerful word that can make the relationship better. Thank you for this reminder friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit I'm bad at asking for apologies, like it's really a huge deal for me, I know that asking for apology is such an easy thing but fornme it's not, but when I know that I'm the one who done wrong to people then I will solely apologize but when I'm not and people make me sorry to someone so that it will not be a huge issue anymore then it's a no, how can I apologize on things that I never did, they say I'm a hard headed one but still a no.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a good thing when we apologise to people when we are wrong. Lolz apologizing when not wrong sometimes makes the other person see the wrong they did especially in relationships.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love it when I'm corrected, no man is an island as we aren't prone to mistakes. I say sorry all the time and act towards what am being corrected for. I d agree that when in a relationship, saying sorry should be truly genuine as the genuineness of it would prevent the relationship from crashing

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Well said Balikis, people who are open to correction are open to growth in life. Sorry in relationships must be genuine, it helps relationships grow pretty well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There were times that I never said sorry to someone even though I realized that I was wrong. I felt guilty while reading this. It must be about my pride. But we're okay now. He ended up being sorry instead of me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

People who say sorry even when not at fault have beautiful minds and you should always hold them close. I am glad the article touched your heart.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually it's our ego which keep us away from saying sorry, even when we are wrong, and later lead us to loss relationships.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A lot of people have lost beautiful relationships, I hope they learn their lesson and don't let such happen again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should all learn to apologize when we’re wrong and even sometimes when we’re not because there are some people who will want to fight you knowing that they are the one who course the disagreement. Life isn’t tough human makes it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those are the devil, they want trouble despite been guilty. It is better to say sorry and let those kind of human pass.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Admitting the mistake and saying sorry both are high class qualities of brave , humble and gentle people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it make our reputation good in the sight of others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the action you took on that day when the superior came, he would have not come to himself, he might even insult you after the meeting

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I did it just to make him understand that been the boss doesn't exclude him from making mistakes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your India boss made mistake and didn't still say sorry to you, but said sorry to his superior, maybe because he saw himself superior to you. Hmmm! And Life isn't supposed to be lived like that. Saying Sorry genuinely wouldn't make us loss anything. We just have to imitate the children's humility and say sorry whenever we make a mistake.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, he felt too big to tell me that. Some things about life shouldn't have anything to do with superiority, apologizing when wrong builds stronger relationships.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry is indeed magical,it's a way to reconciliation,and forgiving people who sins against us also.Before,I didn't learned this word.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sincere apology makes the bond stronger, it helps relationships grow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always taught that to my nephew.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's great, adults need to learn from them as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying SORRY was really hard for those who have HIGH PRIDE and EGO. yet not all who says sorry were genuine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not all sorry are genuine but it is better to say it than not saying it at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Saying sorry whatever our positioned in life is a must as long as long as we made mistakes

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, but some people don't understand that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago