Surviving as a student.

7 38
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Life as a student is fun but it is a different story when you don't have anyone to support you through your studies, you will develop some survival skills that will amaze you when you look back at the times when you just have to do anything to survive.

I am a survivor, it wasn't an easy thing to go higher institution without backup. Feeding was the major problem, my school was about 45 minutes trek from my house but it wasn't a problem as long as my belly was filled. Food doesn't come easy, I usually tutor my mates in some courses and I get a few bucks from them which I mostly save for school fees. In the course of surviving, I came up with survival skills with my friends.


Our first shot was great, it went well and we had enough to eat the next morning. We usually attend parties uninvited, did I hear someone say party-crasher?

Nope, we are far better than that, we usually get our information right about the invite before attending. We do settle in well into events with white lace that we specially sew for the weekend mission, foods and drinks for Saturday and Sunday are always secured.

It went on like that and there was a fat guy among us who sometimes act like the family of those doing the event, he was good at controlling the servers to bring more food to our table and we usually have fun at parties.


A weekend came, there was no information about any party, no party posters and it looked like we will starve for the weekend. I had this girl whose mother sells provisions but I kept her for, the weekdays so sorting the weekend without affecting the weekdays was a must for me.

We decided to take a stroll, we trekked for over an hour before we got a venue. It was a naming ceremony, we were too dirty to enter because of the dry season dust so we went back home to freshen up, strategize on how to come back home with food since it wasn't an elaborate party, and walked majestically to the event place. On getting there, we blended in, as usual, sat down, listened to the sermon, and even paid offering with the last $0.10 left on me to bless God for providing more than enough food for us only for them to finish the party and gave us a donut and Pepsi, I looked around and didn't believe my eyes.


Probably it was an appetizer, but it turned out to be the only meal that will be shared at the naming ceremony.

The sharing of the snack was even too that we couldn't even take an extra piece of donut, I ate the snacks with mixed feelings of happiness and sadness,

it solved the pressing hunger issues but we exhausted the food on trekking back home.


That one-time disappointment didn't stop us from trying again the next weekend and there were good and bad days in the quest for survival.

Another weekend was approaching and we saw some people clearing the school field, that particular field has been abandoned except for parties so we did our research about the event properly.

We got there earlier than anyone on that Saturday, the canopies were set but only the DJ was there with a few people. I asked why the party hasn't started and they said there was a bit of delay at the church; did I mention that it was a wedding party?


We looked for a perfect spot under the canopy and relaxed with our heads up, the day looks very promising for us.

A bus came into the venue with some food items, it was offloaded.


A beautiful lady came to greet us and asked why the party hasn't started so we told her about the delay at the church.

She settled in well with us, we thought she was part of the family so we related with her and even lied about being a distant relative. People started arriving from the church and the party started, this lady didn't leave our table.

We were waiting for her to leave the table so we could start our operation but she didn't go, she collected different foods and drinks. I was wondering why but I had no idea, probably she was waiting for some people.

We ate and drank moderately, there was surplus food but we didn't want to embarrass ourselves since we already claimed to be family. Things were rounding up when we discovered that the beautiful lady who we thought was a family came to hustle as well.

She had turned the food into takeaways and it looked like she brought them along, she got lots of souvenirs at the party and harvested the drinks on our table.

Source
I wasn't cool with what she was doing and I was asking myself why a beautiful lady like this would be packing food from the party venue.

She completed her mission and left before us, we couldn't fulfill our mission because we met a senior hustler than us. We restrategized and ensure we don't allow strangers at our table anymore.


Lead image

All GIFs were gotten from peakd front end, thanks for reading.

7
$ 1.23
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.04 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

To have a meal a day what not a person should do. Reality when facing the truth is severe.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The packing of food is embarrassing though 😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Very very embarrassing but we don't have a choice and it was fun strategizing as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Studying has never been easy. There will come a time when you will just question if continuing your study is worth it or not.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Times like that are inevitable but we just have to keep grinding till we come out successful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe😅 Who never hustle for school. I remember when I was at the University, I used to go for all these activations so that they will give us something. Some of them will even be far from school but we always have free bus😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Survival is the key my dear and as long as we aren't stealing, I don't think there is anything to be ashamed of .

$ 0.00
1 year ago