Shocking Moments I had with my parents.

30 57
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I made a post yesterday on noise cash, the post was about how people handle their kids being scolded by an outsider and someone made a comment that made me remember some things about childhood and I think it would be fun sharing them on the platform.

If you find it interesting, feel free to join the challenge of "Shocking Moments I Had With My Parents".

There are a lot of things that happened during childhood and you wouldn't have believed it if someone told you it would happen especially from your parents, these memories don't have to be bad because I know there are good things they have done for us unexpectedly.

Growing up wasn't much fun for me, I have shared my stories severally and there is no point going into that again. I grew up with my mother and that's why she means the world to me.

Despite the love she has for her kids, she wouldn't hesitate to discipline them when they misbehave. My mom was a disciplinary officer, she would go at any length to make us happy but she wouldn't take the slightest of shit from you because she will make us( I and my siblings) understand that we can't allow all her struggles on bringing us up to be put to waste.

She was strict but loving, these made me and my siblings do things with caution around her to avoid facing some disciplinary actions. These things I am about to share were things that really troubled my heart and some even made me thought that I wasn't her child but it was the child that hated punishment that was speaking in me then.

Doubled punishment.

My junior school had lots of fruit trees in the compound and there was a law that the fruits mustn't be plucked during school hours.

On this fateful day, the teachers were having a meeting in the staff room. Been a very naughty boy, I lured some of my friends out of the class.

I convinced them about plucking the fruit since the teachers were too busy to see us and they agreed but unfortunately for us, the meeting didn't last as expected. We were caught and ask to crawl on our knees.

While undergoing the punishment, my mom came into the school premises and I can't remember why she came to school that day. Every teacher knows her to be strict when it comes to her kid's education, she doesn't wait for open days to check our books and she causes problems for the teachers who ain't doing their job well.

She saw me on punishment and ignored me, I kept my eyes open in case she passes again because the school has more than one gate and she did. I quickly called her and told her to help me apologize to my teacher so that they can free me and my friends. She said okay and went back to the teachers, she passed again assuring me that we will be released.

A few minutes later, my friends were told to leave while I was told to stay. The teacher said, " your mom pleaded on your friends behalf and told us to discipline you for disobeying the school law".

I didn't believe my ear, I was mercilessly beaten and when I got home to ask mom why she did that to me, I got another sound slap. I wept badly remembering everything that happened that day and doubt if my mom was my mom.

The female classmates.

Another one I could remember clearly was in senior school.

I joined a new school when I was close to writing the West Africa Examination, it is mandatory when leaving secondary school. The old school didn't have approval for the exam and mom wasn't cool with that so she switched me to another school.

On my first day at school, I caught the attention of several girls. They were all around me trying to know me better and I played the cool guys since there was this fair one I couldn't take my eyes away from just for friendship's sake.

After school, four of these girls decided to walk me home which I agreed. I expected them to turn around when we got to the gate but they followed me in, I wasn't cool about that being the first day but I took them in just to show how mature I was even though I wasn't.

I went to get water for them from the kitchen but they were all gone when I came back, I searched everywhere and even checked under the chair, behind the curtain if they were playing some sought of game with me but they were gone.

I gave up and went into my bedroom only to find my mom sitting on my bed, I was shocked because I didn't know she would be home. I greeted her but she didn't respond well, the next thing she did was to ask, "who were those girls?".

I answered and she continued, don't you see they are older than you. Oh so your height is disturbing you, I already sent them away and if I see you going around with girls, you are in trouble.

I was angry because I knew that my news would be on every student's lips, everyone would know that I am just a kid. It happened as predicted and I was ashamed because these girls avoided me but they never told me what my mom said.


After secondary school, she eased her level of strictness towards me but it continued with my siblings. It was then I realized that she was just trying to inculcate some discipline into me.

Those lessons helped me a lot and it is one of the things that helped me to become the silly boy I am today.

Feel free to share your own stories too, it would be great if you tag me so I can get to laugh as well.

Thanks for reading.

Lead image

11
$ 5.80
$ 5.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Your Mamma sounds like every single Indian Mom ever πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ bt that double punishment shocked me as well lol..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, when ever I look back at the memory, I just can't help but laugh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. I saw @esthery challenge on this and I would also try to make mine too

Should I say it’s typically something common to most African parents. And I appreciate them for that because they drilled us to become a better person

God bless our parents.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Their training made us the angels we are today, it could have been worse without them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, you're still a kid buddy and your mom is a disciplinary mom like my mother, but she did well in raising you because look what you are now, you have a big heart to those who are in need

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, some lessons are best learned the hard way.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My shocking moments with my parents was when my father pointed a gun at me coz I burst out my anger towards him 🀣 Then I eloped after that haha.
So far, my mother never scolds me since I was young.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow, a gun? I would leave the house for good.

It is my dad who scolded me once but my mom was a regular.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think ,most of us experienced that during our school days πŸ˜„ .They decipline us to able us to learn from our mistakes.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That was the goal, to make sure that we don't make those mistakes again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a typical Nigerian mother🀣 they don't condone any form of indiscipline at all. My mum will beat the heel out of me with whatever she sees close anytime i break a rule, which most is football.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I remember one time when I played football and my skin peels as a result of injury, my mom put aboniki Robb on a fresh wound and I nearly died. Our mothers are just so special

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mom is good at disciplining I guess. She wouldn't let you get away easily and knowing that you realized she did it for your good is awesome. I adore your mom :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, Nigeria parent knows for this but they are slowly losing this value and it is terrible seeing children without values.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's the same almost everywhere. Today's younger generation are kind of losing grip on important values which is quite sad

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ I could totally relate to the first story, classic African parents. We are talking about people that will flog you and tell you not to cry, and if you do you will get whooped again πŸ˜‚ but sometimes those punishments are too much, I know what I passed through in my mom's hands

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right, there are times when the punishment gets out of hand but my mom is good at calling back into her arms.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom doesn't even do that, we usually have to find a way of crawling back into her arms πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Growing up wasn't quite amazing for some of us but despite that, it was memorable. Those times prepared us for the world that was ahead of us. I am particularly grateful for those times and styles of our upbringing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

African parents and their style of raising kids is special, most of those discipline doesn't exist again and we can see what the world is turning into.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£ that is what my mum would do back then too if anyone ever come home with me. She would have sent them away before I know or hear anything.

She begged for your friends but you πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

I like her approach, I won't lie. I know the world is changing but I prefer to handle things hard at first too before easing up. It's all about the lessons for me and she made you into who you are today and that's impressive.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The girls experience was really embarrassing for me, I became a laughing stock at school but I would have become a devil if she didn't take that action.

Those girls were something else.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha students can drag enh... They showed you pepper. Hahaha those girls were high class. Their eyes don tear πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very strict indeed, she was just doing that for you all to be responsible and I'm sure you'll feel very sad for her actions then , but at times goes on you'll get to know why she's doing so.

A adage says, Catch then young, and you know that female child vis very difficult to train, if they are not strictly trained , the child might go astray... Love you mother, she's a mother who wanted the best for her children.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Funny enough, she didn't have a female child, just four boys. The lessons we learned became really helpful when we eventually left home for survival.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My mom gave me so many shocker in my life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you share them with me in an article, that would make a whole lot of sense.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also constantly quarrel with my parents, but you need to understand and obey them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago