Not adding values, cut it off.

16 48
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Isn't it funny when you complain about not being productive online only for people to discover that you spend so much time on irrelevant things in the social world, I took some time off to watch some short comedy videos on Facebook and I have spent almost 45 minutes, I later got to know that I have wasted so much time when the data provider company sent me a notice that I have just 10% of my active data remaining, I couldn't believe my eyes because I just did the subscription over the weekend.

The point here is that a lot of us complain about not making progress in life forgetting that we have attached to ourselves things that only steal value away from us instead of adding value to us and these things make it difficult for us to move forward in life.

Sometimes I ask myself what's the essence of striving to move when it is impossible to move in life? It is not like you are not moving but the things you have tied to yourself will serve as a hindrance to taking the next step.


True life experience.

I have this group of friends we tried something out together when I was still working, we were all working in the same company and it made us very close. The deal was that one of us would sponsor the group on Friday's and we will continue rotating it every Friday.

The first Friday gave me an insight into what this new way of life would look like in the long run, I didn't take drink and meat worth 1000 naira ($2) while others went wild. I know my limit with drinks so I didn't pass my boundary, it went on like that for me until it got to my turn.

They usually go to local bars in their favorite location but things changed on my day, I took them to a restaurant in Ketu where we had a nice meal and after everything, I decided to take my leave but I was held back because they needed to drink alcohol. I was surprised because I have spent almost one-quarter of my salary and to avoid spending excess, I insisted on buying can beers for them which they agreed and we all departed after that.

While on the bus back to Ikorodu, I was having several thoughts about the relationship we were keeping. It doesn't add value to me instead it is draining me because I already have how my salary is been spent every month and I have a few bucks left for fun which isn't enough to keep myself in the clique.

I made up my mind to quit and when I broke the news to them, all they did was laugh because they felt I was not exposed like they are or probably am scared to spend, I heard shitty things about my decision but it didn't change my decision and I benefitted from keeping my distance because two among them fell into huge debts and they were been dragged around.


There is always a limit to things and we must step out regardless of what people will way because it wouldn't do our lives any good if we keep up with it.

I have seen people become a fool in a relationship because they are scared of what people will say and others meanwhile the relationship is draining values from them.

It doesn't have to be people, there are material things that could be draining you financially. It could be your lifestyle, something in your possession that is taking too much from you, it could even be your smartphone, gambling, and many other things.

How would you identify these?

They do nothing other than take away from you.


You have a car that needs to be disposed of but you didn't and because of it, you keep draining yourself to keep it in shape.

You will think it is adding value to you because people will respect you for driving a car but the truth is that, it is taking away values. There are other things you can do or probably sell it and raise more money to buy a good one.

It is not difficult to identify these things but we are obstinate about letting go while for some people, it is an obsession and if we don't quit, it might end badly which means we must identify what it is and cut it off before it cuts us badly.

Extra

A friend outside the platform referred to one of my articles while we are talking about cutting off things that are slowing us down in life, she said it is better to cut family off since they are taking too much away from her. A lot of people misunderstand these attachments of a thing, I once mentioned in an article about how responsibilities can hold us down in life but we should be grateful to God because we can carry them out without much stress, what if we can't carry them properly.

Family is not a setback and we shouldn't see them like they are taking away value from us because they are adding value to us, it's just that we might not see those values immediately. Wouldn't there be a great honor for you when every member of the family including yourself is doing very well in life?


Thanks for reading.

Lead image

13
$ 7.22
$ 6.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 12
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Yes you are right,have always told my friends that if at any point in life they won't add any value to me they should do me a favour and leave me alone, valueless life won't give any value

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, sometimes it is hard to make the decision but we must definitely take the step if we ever want to be free.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You took the best decision. Friends that don't talk to you about how to get better but only how to spend the one ,one have isn't friends. Some friends add to us while some subtracts. They are an example of the latter. I do experience that facebook experience of yours, but mine is on Instagram, i do get caught up watching skits and football highlights which end up wasting my time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True friends aren't centered for fun alone, they should bring amazing opportunities as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i am a movie freak but nowadays i realize d i have made progress that i can stay a month without even seeing any movies and other things I do online that are not worth it, the time is precious i have to manage it well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very true. Whatever that will not add values to us, it's better we cut ties with them before we get into trouble. I remember the first time I downloaded Tiktok and I wanted to see what people do there, I didn't know I have spent more than thirty minutes laughing and scrolling videos. I had to delete it because I couldn't see any other things it has added to me, I was just laughing. Lol I immediately deleted it.

We need to identify those things helding us back and stay away from them when it's not too late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, those things that adds no value to us seems sweet. They come in disguise as good and valuable things to do. It takes time and self evaluation to see what they really are to us and to cut them off. Nice one bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bitter Truth, why keeping things that will never add value to our life rather than devaluing us?

Some will never mind, they keep on wasting time and resources on things that will never benefit them. majority of friends are there to drain us , just like you said, but it's good that you're able to realize this on time before its late. You make the best decision by cutting them off.

It's better to cut of relationship that requires much from us and yet we gained nothing, and they're are some material things to we need to cut of from our lives too, some prefer to spend half of their salary on clothes just to feel among, isn't that crazy ?

They cloth will add no value to our life, it true that people will see that we are living a high standard life, but deep within you , you're gaining nothing, you're wasting money on unnecessary things , it's better to cut off from materialism before it's late.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, timely! I am on the verge of re-assessing my daily 8 hours of work. Which "8 hours" is actually a fiction. I always end up with "what happened to my 24 hours"?

This is a good one George! Though i felt sad about your friends' reaction to your decision. Some people need to understand that we all do not have the same capacity to accommodate preferred leisures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were very lucky that you thought of it and make a quick decision withiut considering what they will say. It's good we cut off people who doesn't add value to our life before they put us in the position that we wouldn't like ourself.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah. That's true, I remember when I was use to watch p*#n back then, if I was to calculate the money I used on data just to watch it everytime ehn, until I realized that it isn't adding value to my life, I decided to control my taste for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha πŸ˜‚ I can relate, coz I've been there before Thank God I'm wiser now and use my data for important things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…at least I'm not alone

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I strongly agree with you that we should cut off anything dragging us down but now like family because they will still be the one to stand for you when you are completely down

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was the reason why I had to limit my usage of Whatsapp and other social media because I discovered it always take my time and I gain nothing from it. At a point when I started learning a digital skill, I turned off Whatsapp completely because it's a huge distraction and I didn't open the app for over 2 months, it did a whole lot of benefits for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago