In reality, money can buy happiness to an extent.

7 36
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Doing what you love to earn a living is a great thing plus it is a huge blessing if that thing can foot your bills and even give you a comfortable life after.

But in a scenario when that thing I love doing doesn't help me solve my financial needs comfortably, I will rather embrace a job I don't like and be financially okay. Sometimes ago, I wrote an article about how passion doesn't guarantee success; a lot of people grow gray hair while waiting for that thing they are passionate about to solve all their financial problems and because it works for some people doesn't mean it will work for you too. If your passion is not helping you live comfortably to an extent, it is best to get a job to replace it or combine both if possible.

I can't speak for everyone and in my case, I would rather do something legal that I don't like but would make me financially okay than doing something I love that doesn't give me enough. My reasons are quite simple, I am just going to be as real as possible.

I have lots of financial responsibilities.


The responsibilities on me wouldn't even make me have the second thought about taking a job I don't like as long as the pay is huge, I know the money involved will eventually make me love it after some time.

I have rent, and utility bills, my brothers are in school, I am responsible for myself, and I have a mom and family members looking up to me so it will be unwise to choose what I love when there are other options. No matter how much I can dislike a job, getting good pay will eventually make me like it and even dedicate my time to it.

The expatriates I was working with then were rude, they made me hate the job but seeing my bills sorted at the end of every month makes me happy and it got to an extent I do not even bother about their rude habits, I just do my job and get out of the place when its closing hour. A Nigerian artist mentioned in a song that "money doesn't buy happiness", I thought deeply about it and he was wrong.

Happiness for an average Nigerian is the ability to sort bills, put food on their table, have a roof over their head, and others, doing any of these things require money. These things aren't too much and if what I love won't take care of this, I better do what I don't have passion for that will help me handle them conveniently.

I am not a fan of pictures and outings, now imagine I got a modeling contract involving hundreds of thousands of dollars, I wouldn't mind modeling every day since the money will take care of my worries completely.

I have dreams.


Responsibilities aren't the only things that require money, fulfilling my dreams requires lots of money as well. I want to create job opportunities, I want to own a school of good learning standards that will be very cheap and affordable for an average Nigerian, I want to build houses and rent them out to homeless people at cheap prices, and I want to own a big farm and others.

All these wouldn't be possible if I can't even take care of my bills, since the job I don't like can help me achieve these things, I will do what I don't like, make lots of money and fulfill my dreams.

There is time for everything.


We all don't know how long we will live but no one would wish to see him or herself die an untimely death.

Now is the time I can do any kind of legal work even though I don't like it, I am strong and have a good ability to endure a lot of things, so it would be wise to make money now and retire to the things I love later. At that time my expectation about life wouldn't be so high and I must have secured my future with the investment so even though I don't make enough money doing the things I love later, my investment would cover my expenses.


Thanks for reading.

Lead image

7
$ 1.64
$ 1.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 5
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

it means you are the breadwinner of the family? that is hard, but bro i hope you enjoy being young adult too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can say money cannot buy happiness, but can produce happiness. You know when we earn and spend money, the happiness we get is short term. But still, consider a happiness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you are right, there's are something we can not do without money, and it' also contribute in achieving our dreams just like what you said. so I agree with you. sometimes when I'm broke I feel so down to do anything, but when I see money, it will seems as if I drank an energy drink... that's the power of money... hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiness can be bought with money. There are times money brings happiness to a sorrowful mind.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I posted on my status and on Twitter yesterday that sometimes all you need is $100,000. I got a lot of comments. There is no perfect cure than credit alert hahaha. Money does wonders...yes, we get happiness from it due to the things we can do with it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happiness is guaranteed by Sound health, and then Money is an additional stuff to it, when someone has Sound health without Money, the sound health will no longer be there because no money to maintain it After peace of mind, money is the next, absolute happiness comes from Money

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You just said what is in my mind, that it's money that can give happiness to 98% of Nigerians. To many of us, money can buy our happiness and it's the real truth. It's in the olden days that money can't buy happiness, but it can now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago