I became a fool for being my brother's keeper.

17 66
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

This is definitely not an interesting experience but the lesson learned wasn't a thing I would do away with as long as I am alive, experience becomes the best teacher only when you hold on to the lessons dearly. I love giving opportunities when I have them in my care, I have always believed in lifting people while I am also trying to become successful in life.

I once mentioned my job as a supervisor in my previous workplace, I had the power to hire and fire anymore but I was more of the hiring type because I always believe that there is always a room to improve so I don't get tired of offering an unlimited second chance to my staffs. The only time I sacked someone was because he lied, he wasn't willing to do away with laziness at work and he doesn't run out of lies.

There was a particular guy then, he wasn't working with me but we are under the same company. He is a bike salesman and I like him because he was hardworking, I saw him from time to time going around making sales and that feels great to me. I became close to him when he was attacked by thugs for resisting to give them money while doing his job, he was badly injured.

I was near the area so I got a call from the company to help check his condition, he was rushed to the hospital and he resumed work after he got better. Not long after that, he was involved in an accident and many thought he was dead, the police who came to the scene were the ones who discovered that he wasn't dead and rushed him to the hospital.

After he recovered, the company had to let him go without any compensation. The relationship we have built during the incident and the fact that we are from the same hometown made me concerned about him and he called me from time to time for help in my team but there was no vacant space.

During that period, a guy on my team told me he wanted to return to his hometown permanently. The guy uses a tricycle for sales so I decided to fix the person who has been disturbing for the job but it will be difficult because all the brands in the company use one HR so it would be difficult to just take to the company that dropped him.

I didn't report the guy that left, the plan was to replace him with Wale and will find a means to stop the salary from going to the guy that left. I didn't inform any of my superiors about it and just handed over the tricycle to the Wale. I took him to a distributor and picked the goods in my name to prevent my superiors from knowing because the guy became famous after the accident.

I picked goods worth a hundred dollars for him on the first day, he sold it all and paid me in full. I made up my mind to tell my superior about him if he keep up with the sales for the whole month, he made good sales the second day and I was happy.

I was on another route the third day when he called that he needed to do a supply worth about $325, it would take me over 3hrs from the route I was working that day to where I placed him. I told him to carry on with the supply, the distributor called me and I told them to release the goods in my name. I spoke to Wale to be quick with the supply and return with cash before the distributor closed, and he assured me that he would be quick with it.

I got to his route late so I visited the distributor since his line was switched off, they said he hasn't returned yet. I waited but he didn't show up so I just assumed something must have delayed him, I believe we will see each other the next day.


His lines were still switched off, and I became worried, I reached out to people for any information about his whereabouts but no one could reach him. I became scared and prayed because I didn't want to have negative thoughts about the situation.

At night, I got a call from an unknown number. I picked it up and it turned out to be him, I was happy. I bombarded him with questions and he begged me not to be offended, he said he just had to do what he did because he has suffered with the company and deserves some compensation. I tried convincing him that I am not the company and made him know what the implication of his action would be for me, but he just ended the call. It was then I realized that he pretended just to get the right opportunity to steal, I was restless through the midnight.

In the morning, I went to get his address from the office, and HR warned me not to get involved with him If it has to do with job. I went to his house and I was told he traveled to his hometown, every effort to reach him failed and I was automatically in debt.

The distributor was losing her cool already because she didn't see her money or the guy, she called my immediate superior and inform him that I took goods for about four days and haven't paid anything. He called me and we met, I explained everything and I remembered how he loudly called me "a fool", I had to admit it but I was only trying to help him put food on his table.


I felt foolish, why would I put my job and integrity on the line for someone? My boss and I went to the distributor, I explained everything but it wasn't her concern and all she wanted was her money. I was in debt, and the company tricycle was missing as well.

I was working in that environment when I saw the tricycle parked outside a big church, I approached the security and he said it has been there for a few days now, he doesn't know who parked it there so I told him everything. He told me to bring the spare keys, original documents, and my id card before he released it to me. I was able to retrieve the tricycle and my worries dropped since it remained the distributor's money.

I first withdrew my savings to pay part of the money, my team sacrificed a carton each daily from their sales to cover up so that I could get his salary that went into the debt and my one-month salary as well. I regretted helping him and remembering how my boss insulted me over his case hurt me badly but I was happy it didn't get to the office because they could have sacked me for that.

After some time, I learned that he got married after he stole the money which means the marriage process was on before his act. I didn't let that bother me but I learned not to trust blindly anymore.

I allowed his condition and the hometown connection to fool me, I am glad I didn't lose my head for it. Many times we often get out of our way just to help people because of their personality not knowing they are only pretending and looking for a perfect time to strike, the experience hasn't stopped me from doing what I love doing but I don't go to the extent of putting myself at high risk just to help others. Some people are worth it because their condition needs it but I take my time to see deeply before doing any help beyond giving out things.

I learned to trust with caution, I am glad I survived it.

9
$ 2.36
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Lixten
+ 5
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

A sad story really happened in the company. Your efforts were noticed, there are some staffs which are not always willing to do anything when it comes to work, Laziness has tied them down

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Man sorry to hear you got stitched up by him, he's got some nerve though just disappearing with the money!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I didn't know he could pull such a stunt, he looks innocent, God fearing but I was all wrong. I took a huge blow for trusting too much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It does no evil to do good but some people are very wicked to the extent that they push anyone who tries to help them into bad debt. Sorry for your loss dear, just don't trust so quickly next time

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have learned my lessons, life just choose to teach me the hard way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats a big lesson for everyone buddy, money can really change a goodman to became evil

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Money is the root of all evil, it makes people sometimes do the unbelievable.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

this is the sad reality sometimes. With the our urge to help sometimes we end being fooled by those kind of people. My experienced are just more on lending money. You know when someone begged you that they badly need it and promised to pay it back. Sad to say that "paying" didn't happen.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I get your point clearly, lending people money would make to see the true side of humans. It's one of the reasons why I don't lend people what I can't let go if they refuse to pay me back.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, sometimes they even the one who get mad when being reminded😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is soo sad. We as people will encounter something similar to this as long as we live and interact with people. That doesn't mean we should change who we are, we should just apply caution next time. Now hth does he even become happy with stolen money?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It didn't stop me from helping, a few other people betrayed my trust at work after him but I don't bother because the harm that they caused me was very small.

We can't lose the go in us because of what someone did, we just have to continue to be the good we are.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's really the act of others that make us untrusting. I'm glad though that you were able to recover the tricycle. I just pray and hope still for better things for him and you of course.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I really don't hold any grudges against him, I heard how he returned to Lagos and started looking for a job again. I just didn't take interest in him, everything happened for a purpose.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God! I was beginning to love the guy, what a disappointment. I wish I can curse here.

People are not always what they seem, give them time and they will eventually show their true color which will blow your mind.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Time indeed reveals the true identity of people, it is just so sad that we can't even get a hint until the damage is done.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Goodness! That was so unexpected though. Hmm.

$ 0.00
1 year ago