I am glad I was caught.

11 40
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Lying isn't really my thing and it would be a lie if I claimed not to have lied before. There are situations when I don't have a choice but to lie, it is difficult to lie because I barely remember things that happened not to talk of things that were cooked up.

One lie would require ten more lies to keep things on track and that's huge for me. My conscience disturbs me a lot when I do things I am not supposed to do and I easily get caught so I try as much as possible to stay as clean as possible.


There are situations when I said the truth and wish I had lied, being too honest can hurt sometimes. It sounds weird when you tell people that saying the truth always can sometimes bring regret, I have been a victim. It was supposed to end with regret but it didn't because I am happy I said the truth. I don't have my conscience disturbing and that's okay by me.

I remembered telling the truth some time ago when I had some issues at work and the person used it against me. I decided to cut ties with the person because I was actually suffering for someone else's sin. The habit of always trying to speak the truth was inculcated in me by an event that happened when I was little.

One event reshaped my life and the impact of the lesson learned that day was huge even though I was young.

I was five years old then but I remembered clearly everything that happened that day.

It was a Sunday, we had an anniversary celebration and there was lots of food and drinks. My parents are church workers so they made sure I and my siblings had everything we wanted.

I remembered my dad asking me if I was okay with the food and I say yes. My mom and dad were too busy to eat at the church so they brought their food home.

I was watching TV when my mom placed the food on the dining set, there were lots of meats in that bowl and I couldn't take my eyes off them. I sneaked to the dining and took one of the small pieces of meat, I ate it and returned to watching TV.

They both came to the dining after freshening up and my dad noticed that someone had touched the food.
He asked me and I denied it. He knew I was the one so he checked by smelling my hands, they were smelling exactly just like the fried meat.


He started by scolding me for lying, I was thoroughly disciplined and he scolded me the next day for stealing. He told me to remind him every morning for 10 strokes of cane which I did but he didn't beat me and he promised to beat me any day I didn't remind him.

I reminded him every morning until we started living separately, that experience created a huge fear in me and it still exists today.

I am fond of telling the truth even though it will hurt because I fear what will happen if I am caught. I don't want to be dragged or embarrassed so I try to speak the truth no matter how difficult it is. This doesn't mean I do not lie, I just don't find pleasure in telling lies.


I have concluded that a lot of parents have contributed to how terrible their children have become at doing several immoral things.

Things like stealing, lying and many others didn't start today but some parents choose to joke about it instead of taking the proper action.

Imagine if my dad just overlooked it that day, I fear what I might have become because as a kid, I wouldn't see a crime in taking what doesn't belong to me.

I know a woman who takes alcohol a lot and her eight years old daughter usually sips out of her mother's drink. The little one got tipsy one day and almost fell into a pit. We scolded her and all the mother could do was make jokes out of the incident, she didn't scold the girl.

This girl went on drinking from her mother's wine and I feared what her future would be if she continues like that.


The best time to curb a child's bad act is when they are young because when they grow to age, it will be difficult to stop them from doing it and it becomes a huge problem.

Why do it later when we can do it now?


Lead image.

14
$ 2.91
$ 2.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @bmjc98
+ 4
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Parents do a lot in disciplining their children my friend. I was once to ld by my father " it takes one word for a wise man to understand" and from that day on, it was woven into my character. though I may be stupid most of the time and do nasty things I still remember his words.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a powerful message father passed to you and you can see how it guides you when doing things.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is but I'm stupid though. lols

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's true parents play important role in the upbringing of their children,and I am glad your father scolded you at that time, which helped you to spoke truth in your life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Parents have a lot to do with raising a child, it is the number duty of all parents to teach their kids every good moral that they can talk about.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your dad is a great disciplinarian. Thank God he did not overlook what you did then because it might have turned into something big

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I could have become a professional thief because I will think that there is nothing wrong with the act.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not a fan of lying either. Whenever I was asked to lie for them, and I felt like I had to, I would end up mumbling my words. But sometimes, being too honest is not ideal. I guess too much of everything is not good.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

That's right are, being too honest sometimes can put us in trouble but it doesn't change the fact that it isn't good thing to lie.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The best time to curb a child's bad act is when they are young because when they grow to age, it will be difficult to stop them from doing it and it becomes a huge problem. This is absolutely correct

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true, it becomes difficult to change them as they grow.

$ 0.00
1 year ago