False accusation I had to live with it.

13 43
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Growing up as a teenager was a rough one for me and I had to start supporting my mum immediately after secondary education, I was just 14 years of age. I had no choice since she was raising me and my siblings alone, I couldn’t help sitting while she does multiple jobs to put food on the table.

Picture of myself in the school premises where I work, this was my regular pose because of my obsession of becoming a captain

My first job was teaching a kindergarten class where I lied about my age, the pay was terrible but it was the only job available.

My final days as a teacher.


I did it for three years before meeting this group of pasters that took me into their team. We work as contractors in printing print, the pay was fair because you get paid based on the job you have done.

Picture of me at one of the printing press, those are drug packs behind me waiting to be glued


After a few months, I have mastered the job and was capable to work with or without my team. I stretched my arms, met other teams with a better job, and started working everywhere, every day, including weekends. Going back to school was my motivation, there are days I get really tired but wouldn’t have a choice. Soon I became everyone's favorite because my job was good, there are always no errors or very little that can be overlooked.

A team I once worked with got a contract in Agege, somewhere in Lagos. It was a job that would take lots of time so the person recruited different teams, I was the youngest but no one could predict that because I was taller than everyone and that made me blend in very well.

Picture of me while working

The man in charge took so much interest in me and bought me lunch on a few occasions. We became so close that he tips me extra at the end of the week and that made me happy because I had extra to save, he was in his early thirties while I was 18 already. He wanted me permanently with his small team, the offer was exciting so I left the group for him which turned out to be the biggest mistake in the job.

Our relationship was smooth until his girlfriend’s birthday, I got to work as usual and he told me that it was his girlfriend's birthday. I sent my wishes but he insisted that I spoke to her and wish her myself. I was reluctant because I was a very shy type with ladies but I got her number since he insisted.

I called her and we had a brief conversation, that same day she called me at night to say thank you. We talked at length again and somehow, we became friends. I was foolish to have allowed her to get too close, it wasn’t my fault. I don’t have a female sibling and the struggles my mom was going through made me very kind to females whether old or young, I have lost count of how many times I have bought a sitting ticket for buses and ended up standing through the trip because I couldn’t stand the sight of a pregnant woman, nursing mother or aged woman standing.

The thought of what if it was my mom troubles me until I give my seat out.

We got so close, that we chat at work. I didn’t see it as anything but it turned out to be something else. My boss had issues with her but I wasn’t aware of it, he thought she was seeing someone else but had no proof. The issue was settled and things got back to normal between them, he checked her phone one day and saw that she communicates with me a lot. We didn’t have any job at hand then and my former teams were still pissed with me for quitting so they turned me down I begged to join them just for that week, I can’t be blamed for that, or can I?


He was quiet about it until we had a job to do; I got the text, packed my bag, and set out because there are times I don’t return for a week or two. On getting to the factory, I went to greet him since we haven’t seen him for about a week. He said I wouldn’t be working with them anymore but he wanted me to come so he can tell the team what I did wrong.

I was surprised and waited patiently to hear what my offense was, he announced to everyone when we gathered that I was having an affair with his girlfriend. I didn’t believe my ears, I tried to defend myself but that was late.

I cried and everyone was surprised, I had a lot running in my head. I still had to work more for my school dreams to come to reality, I hate being accused wrongly and it is one of the reasons why I don’t cross my limit with people.

I called the girlfriend and told her, she said she noticed he has been acting up but she didn’t know why. She promised to talk to him about it but shockingly, he ended the relationship as well.

I went back to my former group, they heard what happened even before I told them and that even made them accept me back because they knew I wouldn’t do such. They were mostly female and I was very friendly to all that you would think I was having an affair with a few of them.


The fact that I couldn’t clear my name hurts me till today, someone tried settling it but this man said nothing can change his mind because he knew what he saw. I guess he just used me to end the relationship because his ex-girlfriend said she saw him with a lady a few days after they broke up, he could have just done it nicely without dragging my name in the mud. A guy I called my friend told me he can't introduce his girlfriend to me after the incident but it meant nothing to me.

I wish he gave me a chance to explain myself then, he could have known I was just too young to do such but some things are meant to happen permanently without correction whether good or bad and we just have to live with it.

I got admission to polytechnic a few months later and had to put everything behind me.

Studying in the school premises.

It made me knew people who were my friends and pretenders, a lot of people in that field who heard the story showed their true nature but that is bygone now because I doubt if anyone remembered again.

Life goes on.


Lead image


12
$ 4.93
$ 4.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Damn, this was heartbreaking sha and you really didn't deserve it. I guess that your boss used you as an excuse to end things with his girlfriend and didn't care how you feel about it, to him you were just "damaged control". False accusations is very terrible and hard to counter because it's usually the person that tells th story first that holds people's emotions

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so pathetic, i can't imagine being falsely accused of something I didn't do. Thank God the other members took you back in. That man was really something else and to think that he was the one that actually cajoled you into taking her number in the first place, makes me see the more reason why I should feel it was truly a setup. He just could have broken up with her on a normal day without having to drag your name in the mud.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow.... Bro I just have to say that the look on your face didn't change much because you look exactly well maybe not exactly but you look alot like you did when you were younger. It's been a long time coming really...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, there isn't much difference between now and then.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is really sad and unfair. You were accused wrongly and wasn´t allowed to clear or defend yourself but I guess it was true that he only used you as an excuse to end the relationship with his ex because he doesn't want to be seen as the bad guy.

At least, you were able to learn your lessons and know the type of friends are in the world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I learned my lesson, I have always been careful with my relationship with people since. I don't get too close to avoid problems like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a tough one. I know how it looked because he was jealous but I always tell people that there is nothing that cannot be overlooked especially harmless chat like yours but because he wanted to use it to his advantage, he made you take the fall for it. It wasn't surprising he forced you to get her number and call her yourself. It was a perfect set up.

There are some things in life that we can't control and this is one of them. Maybe you will clear your name one day and maybe you won't...but the thing is, your conscience is clear and that should amount for something.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, he knew I easily get along with people probably he knew that the girlfriend was that kind of person as well.

I told my mom about it then and she was really angry because I couldn't clear my name, it was the least battle I needed to fight then since my education was all that mattered.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad you left that fight and didn't let it dangle on you because nothing you say would have mattered since he was hell bent on twisting the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You sure have been through alot George.. It's not your fault and please even though he were kind to you, do not let it bother you much. It's his loss for sure. That's what happens when people jump into conclusions before even hearing the full story.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He thought he was smart, he only used me as an excuse to end his relationship. The experience really made me reduce how close I get to people...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's so painful to experience such a thing at that age you were, however, am happy you did not allow it to break up your resolution to go to school. Like you concluded the story, Life must go on no matter what.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Life must go on, that one huge lesson I have learned very young. As long as a situation doesn't claim our life then we must keep moving.

$ 0.00
2 years ago