Beauty Restored.

22 50
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

There is a Yoruba saying that "Ile oba to Jona, Ewa lo busi", which means when a King house is burnt, it adds beauty to it.

Isn't that a crazy adage?

Nah, it is not a crazy one. You will understand why as you read through the article.

How can a burnt palace look more beautiful than it looked before the fire razed it down?

That's the beauty of the language, it requires you to think when translating it. Yoruba is one language that can tangle and untangle words depending on the situation of things, there are times when a particular phrase used to give a positive compliment would also mean negative at the same time.

A few weeks ago, I mentioned in my post on noise cash and also in a read cash article about something that happened in my favorite place of the house.


I had lunch late on that fateful day, I was really hungry that I just made the meal quickly and due to me been in a haste, I just took a small quantity of water to drink. After the meal, I took my plate back to the kitchen and returned to my room.

I became thirsty again after few minutes so I decided to get another glass of water, I drank it right there to avoid the stress of returning the glass if I had taken it to my room because I dislike leaving the kitchen kinds of stuff in my room. I returned to sit on my bed to write an article when I couldn't find my phone around me, I quickly went to check the kitchen to see if I left it there.

Few minutes after returning from the kitchen, I heard a loud crash that scared the hell out of me. I closed the laptop and rushed outside the house because kids were playing but everywhere looked calm. I asked if they heard any sound and they all said no, I looked crazy to the kids and was saying to myself, " Are you all right?".

I returned to my flat with the thought of maybe I was just assuming what wasn't real but to my surprise, the whole house was filled with dust when I opened the door. My heartbeat raced as I ran to check every room to see where the dust was coming from because it was clear that a part of the house collapsed.

To my greatest surprise, it was the kitchen. I went out of the house to catch my breath because I am very allergic to dust and I remembered sneezing all day because of the dust I inhaled while checking the room. I was glad I didn't hesitate to take my phone immediately I noticed it wasn't with me, it would have been a different case for me because it would have been damaged from the crash.

The kitchen had a concrete cover because there use to be a water tank on it before but I was removed when we felt that the concrete was getting weaker due to it absorbing too much water. I went back in to move my things out of the kitchen immediately to avoid more damage since not all the concrete fell at once, I was able to do it quickly with caution to avoid myself getting trapped in if it falls more.

I took pictures and sent them to my Landlord immediately so we can know how to fix things, the damage was beyond something I could repair by myself.

After seeking an engineer's advice, we were told that it would be best if we destroyed the concrete completely and convert it to a roof, it was a difficult task that needed an expert to avoid other parts of the house collapsing when bringing down the concrete.

I converted the dining room to the kitchen immediately since it was empty but I didn't find it cool cooking there because it made the sitting room hot.

The renovation started a few days later, the first part was bringing down the remaining concrete. The bang from the sledgehammer hitting the concrete nearly drove me mad because I couldn't concentrate on working on my phone and I was checking on the person doing the job now and then just to remind them to be careful.

Bringing down the concrete

Pulling down the concrete took a whole day and moving the stuff out of the kitchen took another one day, it was tedious work I wouldn't dare.

The particle dropping on the floor.
The concrete after it was brought down.

The carpenter also took time before he showed up but when he did, beauty was restored.

It didn't stop at that because the cabinets and some parts of the windows were damaged, the water pipes were damaged as well.

The plumber did a great job changing the position of the water tank since the new roof has affected the layout of the pipes, I and my younger brother completed the rest. We had to purchase some tools which might be useful for us in the future but I don't pray for incidents like this again.

The tool we used to complete the renovation ourselves.

We used the remaining woods from the roof repair to mend the cabinet, bought gloss paint for the burglary and emulsion for the ceiling. The job was completed today, we washed the wall tiles and the floor as well.

As you can see, the kitchen is set and ready for use.

The kitchen after renovation.

I missed using the kitchen and I do be sharing my first meal after preparing. Right now, I am tired and need some rest.

Do you understand what the adage at the beginning of the article means now?

The damage mandated us to repair the kitchen and it now looks better than it was before the damage.

The adage applies to our life as well, ask me how???

Setbacks, disappointment, tough challenges, and others are similar to the damages that happened to the building according to the adage but we must always bounce back stronger and better just like the house that got more beautiful after the renovation.

If nothing was done to make it beautiful, the damage would remain there forever. That's the reason why we mustn't fold our arms when some situations in life decide to take us down, we must ensure that we stand against it and come out stronger than before.

Thanks for reading.

(I am sorry I couldn't take some pictures and I was too busy to do but I am glad the job was well done).

18
$ 8.32
$ 7.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Winx1988
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

The kitchen looks more beautiful now and it is very true about the adage. When something is damaged and it is being repaired, it brings out the beauty again.

Let me be your guest soon in your kitchen. Why do you still cook sef? 😬

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I cook because I love cooking and who will do it for me if I don't??

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It collapsed because the foundation is weak already, so need to renovate for better foundatiin, just like our life we have many struggles to be a better version of ourself

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Not the whole building collapse, it was just the top. The concrete was weak due to the water that stores on it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope it doesn't hurt anyone at all because you have mentioned it before that you live with you siblings

Thank God everything is back to normal and more beautiful than before now

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It didn't hurt anyone because I was the only one in the house, I am glad that my siblings were at home.

It would have been a different story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well thank God for everything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank God you were saved, just imagine if the damaged happened few minutes ago but I am glad that no one is in kitchen at that time. Now its looking more beautiful.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks a lot, buddy. Everything looks really good now, I missed the kitchen a lot because it is my favorite part of the kitchen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like how you relate the adage to our life.
And you are right. We should get back and fix things right after uncertainties and challenges misshaped our life...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am used to connecting things to what's happening in our lives and I think you got the lessons right.

Congratulations on your visa extension, I just heading to the post now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is now like a beauty after a mess. Thank God you left the kitchen before the concrete collapsed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am very grateful to God it didn't happen when I was there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's always your reaction after the damaged. Thank you for your article.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This article tells more about bow building contractors used substandard materials when building a house. It would have been a different story entirely if someone w as in the kitchen when the decking collapsed.

However, renovation has added to the beauty of the kitchen confirming the Yoruba adage.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah I think the material used weren't of standard, I am just grateful to God that nobody was hurt when everything happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is beautiful. Glad you are safe and this would guarantee even your safety better. How did you cope during the renovation period? Wow.

I love that adage you used and as a Yoruba person hahahaha I have heard it a lot while growing up. Always sweet to say when things are taking shape. Love it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I had to move my kitchen to the dining room for that period and I am glad everything has been restored to normal.

I don't use to understand the adage until I became an adult.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. That's a serious change and discomfort for you there and I am glad it has been sorted now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago