August was a success...

36 62
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

It is the last day of the month and I honestly didn't like how my day went, some days are always like that for me when unexpected things come up to disrupt your plans and I think that's what life is about, not everything goes as planned and how we hand moments like that matters a lot.

Please don't mind my topic, I don't know what title to give. It is almost midnight though.

The post is nothing very serious, you can choose not to read it since it is just the soft copy of the things I did in August.

August started great for me because I entered into the month with a huge boost and I had a lot lined up for me to accomplish. My spirit was high, the energy in me was at its peak and I saw the need of diverting them into something that would make me happy, what is the essence of having such positive energy and in the end having nothing to show for it?

After the issues I had with the pond a few months ago, I decided to pause things for a while by taking things slowly as I seek God lead.

The damaged pond.

I was preparing how to go about renovating and extending the fish farm since there were two ponds initially. Since all plans were made, I channeled my positive energy towards the execution of the plans I had.

Due to the inflation of things in the country, the quotation I made in mid-July was almost irrelevant. Everything on my list has added few bucks and the more I wait, the more price of things escalates.

The money at hand wasn't enough so I had to use some of my earnings from the platforms (noisecash & readcash) to support the money I got from the pond before it got damaged. I could have made a lot of profit but I lost almost half of the fish then.

To choose the best materials for the job, I went to the market myself to get the materials and just paid the experts to fix them while I did the ones I know I could handle myself. I intended to choose quality materials but I ended up saving a lot, I got to discover that the quotation I got from the plumber, carpenter, and welder was on the high side. It taught me a lesson not always rely too much on people when it comes to project, they weren't pleased with me going to get the things myself because they had plans of making extra money from the materials.

The project kicked off exactly three weeks ago if I am not mistaken and the frequent rain delays the progress of the work. I didn't take enough pictures because I didn't know I would be writing about this.

We started with filling the land with clay sand to have a leveled soil for the ponds to sit on.

A truck offloading the sand.

It took us two days to complete the leveling because of the rain but I am glad we eventually completed it after lots of stress.

I didn't take pictures of when the other materials were supplied because there are times when I get too tired to even take pictures.

The installation of the woods and the iron rod took place immediately after the leveling of the ground. I doubted if I was going to be able to accomplish it with my brother but we did even though I got tired quickly after digging for the holes. My brother was of great him, he is very much stronger than me and motivated me to get the job done quickly.

picture of me digging whole the ponds legs 1 and a half feet.

installation of the woods and iron, it was raining and I couldn't get a clear shot.
phase 11 completed.

After the completion of the skeleton, we had to let the concrete dry before installing the tarpaulin. It took us more than two days because it didn't stop raining, we had to make the concrete twice.

The sun was up on the third day and the concrete got the chance to dry so we installed the tarpaulin.

Tarpaulin installed.

We had to wait for days before the plumber showed up, he has never been punctual since I have known him. He is used to showing up days after he promised to come but he eventually showed up did is part of the project.

Some of the plumbing work.

The journey looks smooth, right?

As smooth as it looked, there were setbacks and this is the reason why I always emphasize the fact that challenges don't inform you before coming, it just comes into the picture and we must always prepare for the unexpected.

Two out of the three ponds started leaking immediately after I pumped water into them. I felt down and sad because we went through a lot financially and physically to get things in shape.

I was angry at the same time, I called the person who made the tarpaulin in anger and almost said dirty words but I called myself back, my mom was surprised because she knew I usually don't get angry like that. The man apologized and explained that there are times the machine that sews the tarpaulin usually skip a spot but I wasn't convinced and he said I should send it back so he can make an amendment.

I did as he said and things were back to normal, he apologized again and who am I not to accept his apology when we are all prone to making mistakes as humans.

The pond after the amendment.

Many times we admire and want to be like people who are successful at things without knowing what they went through before achieving it.

Before success, there will be pain, suffering, and sacrifices to be paid, the temptation will come your way and it requires determination and God's grace to overcome. My Godmother will always say let pray about it before progressing and I am grateful to God because he never let me down.

This wasn't the plan from the onset but we can only plan as humans because God knows the best. A year ago, I was seeing things further than this but God had a different plan for his work.


Since the preparation is done and everything set, the electricity company haven't been helpful and I want to be certain that I won't have issues with the water if I get the fishes.

Pending the time, I will just allow the pond to grow some organisms as a sign that it now supports life.

I want to say a big thank you to everyone who has supported me one way or the other, Almighty God will never let you down and by his grace, September would be a month of success, greatness, development for us but remember to put God first always.


I said earlier that today was stressful but I had to just get this done. While writing this, I decided to relax with a pack of yogurt because I only had snack today not sure I would be able to make dinner.

You might be exhausted like I am here so I am uploading the drink so you can sip some before sleeping.

See you in September.

All images in the post belong to me.

Lead image

19
$ 6.77
$ 6.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

The journey to success is never a smooth one so keep it up am sure you are there already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's hard to get a business of that magnitude to work in a country like ours where prices of things skyrockets in a twinkle of an eye... Thank God you were able to get it done... Continue sipping you yoghurt alone...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ha, the yogurt is finished already. Nigeria is not supporting entrepreneurs anymore in terms of capital due to inflation.

The prices of things increase every second, all glory be to God though because none of this would have been possible without him

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, we keep doing our best and leaving the rest for God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He will never let us be put shame.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen to that prayer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

when you said this "the fact that challenges don't inform you before coming, it just comes into the picture and we must always prepare for the unexpected." I truly with this. When we do things, we should, rather expect some setbacks and equip ourselves with plans to deal with it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, challenges don't come announced. We must always include difficult moment in our plans when preparing for a project.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You've done so great, I'm glad that you successfully did it. Praying you a productive and victorious september.πŸ™πŸ’•

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would definitely be a productive one by the grace of God, trust you are doing great???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess that tarpaulin can easily be damaged especially when a typhoon comes.. Are there no options for that? Anywqy, grats to what you have achieved last month😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We don't experience such weather conditions here in Nigeria, I will be making barricades around the pond as soon as I have the money to do so.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, let's claim that this month will bring us success and greatness. God is with us after all. God bless to you ❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen queen, thanks for the prayers and I am wishing you a great and successful month as well. Have fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember reading your article about how the pond got destroyed and how some wicked people carted away some of the fishes. I'm glad you got things back on track in August. May September be a fruitful one for us all.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's been God, setbacks like that are expected to happen at a point in life which is why we must always pray to God for challenges not to overcome us.

Thanks for the wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes we lost our temper due to some instances, and I know its a normal reaction, but when God reminds us that He just there to guide us on our journey, we get back to a ourself calmly immediately and ask pardon for losing our temper:) salute you buddy you are really great!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I felt bad I went out of my usual calm zone because of the mistake but I am just an ordinary human still seeking for God guide as I grow.

Thanks for the compliment, it means a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The journey looks smooth indeed but effort behind that project is surely priceless. I hope it will went well. Let us hope for the better month.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right because regardless of the challenges we encountered, it was a huge success.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No matter how much hurdles we face to achieve something but the thing which matters is the vigor and enthusiasm to achieve the particular thing and finally we succeed to achieve it.I am glad after facing so many difficulties, finally you succeed to made a beautiful pond.Best wishes to you for this new month.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment, truly nothing good comes easy in life and it is one of the reasons why we must be prayerful and involve God in whatever we are doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And we are surly going to succeed if we have God by our side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's a challenge in every successful journey of us but always remember that God will provide and youre right that He will never let us down :) Good to know your fish fond is okay already.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

God has always been faithful to us regardless of how much we run away from him and his mercy endureth forever in our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything happens for a reason. If we fall that doesn't mean we shouldn't get up. Next month will be far better

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I say a big amen to that prayer. Setbacks don't stop us from moving forward in life, we must ensure we turn disappointment to stepping stones.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

More grease to your elbow bro.

Yeah it is bound to happen and most time everything won’t go smooth as we hope and anticipate it to be

But God’s plan over everything

And enjoy the life of your head

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks man, it is our success because everyone at dreemsteem played a part and I always have it at the back of my mind keep the dreem alive.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most people won't see the pain, the stress, the sweat, the tears and all you are putting in now but when you start buying cars and buying houses, they would think you got 'lucky' and want to be as 'lucky' as you.

I admire your resilience, tenacity and hope in God also to make it all better.

In other news, hahahahaha so you want to taunt us with this yoghurt abi? God is watching you, my brother.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am patiently waiting for my family who kicked me and my mom out those days to come when things are fine.

It hurts me when I see people being condemned just because they haven't gotten the right opportunity in life. I believe that by God grace, our labor won't be in vain.

I owe yoghurt bro and even more.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Amen, brother. God will help us and yes, those people will come back to beg you guys.

Yaaaaay. I look forward to them...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you expect me to break my screen and take the yoghurt abi? πŸ™„πŸ™„ Sha send my own through Bch πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

I can see the success of your work and thank God it went well in this month. Thank God for Noisecash and Readcash too who has been of help to you too.

Tomorrow is a beautiful new month and we shall end it well in Jesus name.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, my Princess, a lot of people have contributed to the success and I will forever be grateful.

How many packs of yogurt do you want??? I am sending your way immediately.

$ 0.00
2 years ago