A reflection of these songs on me.

9 68
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Music is a lot of things for me, it means life. I have many times referred to some musicians as seers because it surprises me to listen to 10 years old music and still find it relevant to the things happening in my life or even in the world today.

Music has unbelievably seen through the hearts of many without having an eye, it has touched minds and souls without having a hand, and its ability to transform into what you need such as entertainment, advice, caution, inspiration, education and many other things makes it awesome. It is a source of inspiration to me, it has given me the strength to carry on when I was broken.

It is impossible to see me go out there without my ear pods, I might forget things but not my ear pods because my mind sometimes feeds on music in this messed up world. I don't know how it finds its way to connect with our minds but its impacts are visible because the kind of songs we listen to most times reflect in our personality. I remember when I had my first relationship heartbreak, it hurts me a lot and I had to depend on music for healing. It wasn't something I intended to share with anyone then so I just embraced some heartbreaking love music, it reminded me of a lot, caused me more pain, and helped me heal at the end.

Choosing just two pieces of music out of my playlist is a difficult task for me but I should share with you two out of the many songs that guide me when nothing about life makes sense to me.

I first saw Nightbirde at the American Got Talent show and I couldn't hold back tears while listening to her perform, I had to take a break to let the tears flow while writing the article.

I have depended on lots of inspirational songs to stay strong in life, I just put the songs on replay and let them dig deep into my heart as I draw strength from them. I have broken down in tears on buses and even on the road while reflecting on my life because there are times I feel like there is nothing worth fighting for in a world where we will stay just for an unknown period.


It's okay by Nightbirde.

Nightbirde's song titled "it's okay" hits me hard because there was a new perspective of motivation for me, the deceased artist wrote the music as a reflection of her life but it somehow connects to me. My challenges in life are nothing compared to her case, she had cancer and had just a 2% chance of surviving while I am just broken from the experience plus challenges I have been through and the uncertainty of the future.

Despite her condition, she saw reasons to have an impact on the world. The music made me understand that a lot of things like those challenges we are experiencing or have experienced were meant to be and living with or through them is what we should work on.

They should never be the reason why we should be broken, the song has taught me to hold on to hope as I make a path through life with those challenges. I have been struggling with blood pressure even at the age of 24, I couldn't help myself with it because it is impossible for me not to wander and lost myself in thought which is one of the causes of the condition but the song has taught me to always assure my inner mind that "it is okay" even when it isn't.

If we don't stop trying in life, we will definitely live a fulfilled life amid the challenges life brings our way.

The second is "Ordinary people" by Cobhams.

The song doesn't just have a message for me as an individual but to the world in general, what if I told you that this song can help restore humanity if we all listen to it with our hearts.

The greed for power, wealth, fame, and other things have landed the world where it is today, I have many times imagine a world where everyone sees themselves as an ordinary person. There won't be discrimination, racism, class in the society, and everything that makes us see ourselves as someone bigger or smaller.

Seeing ourselves as ordinary people will make us live in love, and there definitely won't be any form of hate or discrimination among us. We will live to help/support one another, spread love among ourselves, and this will make the world a peaceful place to live. We can achieve extraordinary things by living as ordinary people, we can make the world a better place. Regardless of what the world looks like, I am playing my part, and seeing myself as an ordinary person through the message in the song has made me influence lives and spread happiness the best way I can.


Lead image.

19
$ 6.88
$ 6.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Princessbusayo
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

I am a fan of Cobhams too, I love his song too. I think I have listened to this song before but will download this again.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I have been following Cobham for a while, his condition was what attracted me to his music and I eventually fell in love with his songs because of the message in them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Woah I will try to listen to this songs I get curious so might as listen to these, music can realy posses sanity to one being.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Have you listened to them? Tell me how you felt...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I remember Nightbird on AGT. She was brave, determined and inspiration to us. How unfortunate that she was already taken by the Lord.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

She is on the better side, in a world free of troubles. May her soul rest in gentle peace, she truly sent us a message of hope.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Music is life. Music is food to the soul. Music heals. It transforms, inspires etc.

To me, we all should be connected to music because the beautiful lyrics are what makes the world great. Let's find songs that relates to what we experience presently and we would see how soothing they sound and heals.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Music truly has the power to heal and we just need to open our minds to it so that we can feel the magic in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Music lyrics is a form of non visual word of exhortation which give one some life lessons

$ 0.01
1 year ago