100 days without an Electronic device.

23 61
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I felt really bad because I couldn't write a post yesterday due to laziness, the weather really made me unproductive and it looked like there was more to it but there wasn't.

I had a plan of writing earlier today but I went out as early as 5 am and it wasn't a planned journey. I couldn't go with my phone due to the high level of insecurity in the country and I thought writing today might be impossible as well but I made it back earlier than I thought.

I didn't feel cool throughout the journey because I wasn't with my phone and something kept telling me that I was missing a lot. You know that feeling when you feel like there are things you are missing out on in the virtual world, no camera to capture the good things that are worth sharing, no movie or music to keep me alive because traveling alone makes me bored. To make things worse for myself I have a bad habit which is not talking to strangers on a bus, it doesn't feel cool relating with someone I don't know but there are times when you find someone interesting to talk about things that would make sense and not about politics, covid19, and other boring topics.

I started having several thoughts in my head and one seems stubborn because I couldn't get it off my head. It was a silly thought about the world returning to the times when we had no smart phones or internet.

Immediately this came up in my head, I smiled and said to myself,

"that's impossible buddy".

Despite the high percentage of impossibility compared to the possibility, I think some events might warrant us to do away with our devices for some time and it doesn't have to do with been forced to do so.

My thoughts took me back to a silly reality show I detest for their promotion of immoralities in the country. The show is called BBnaija, about 25-30 people are gathered together to live together without phones or any electronic device for 3 months.

Why on earth would I shut myself out of this world for something of such? The winner of the competition will walk away with $180,000 and I think that is worth it but I kept wondering how they are coping because if I can feel odd without my phone for 8 hours, what will my story be for 3 months?

I wouldn't want you to see it as an addiction for me, it is just that I have so much to do in the virtual world. Aside from spending time with my family and fish farming, the virtual world is another place where I find so much happiness.

I asked myself, what if something comes up that warrants me to stay away from my smartphone or any electronic device.

How would I survive???

Using the word survive looks like I have placed too much importance on what I shouldn't and if I am not mistaken, what humans need to survive is food, air, water, and shelter. Did I by any way mention electronic devices? No, but the world has gone digital and it has been these devices part of our daily life.

While still thinking on the bus, I came up with ideas on how to keep myself alive if something warrants me to stay away from smart phones for a while.

Reading and writing:

This is one thing I like doing when I don't have access to electronic devices, reading interesting books and articles is fun though but a special kind of fun because you learn during the process.

Reading opens my mind to lots of things that would demand me to write and I get carried away when writing especially when I am inspired or writing without any form of distraction. I will engage with books and my pen to keep me alive.


Physical fitness:

Engaging in sport and exercise is another thing I will pay attention to, I have become very lazy at that and would love to get back on track so it would be an opportunity for me to keep in shape again.

I will either get registered with a gym center or I just dedicated dedicate 2hours in the morning and at night.


Gardening:

Gardening is cool when you have space for it, there is this joy in making your food such as fruits and vegetables.

Having flowers around is great because it would bring you closer to nature.


Animal farming:

I love rearing animals a lot but it can be time consuming and that's what I need when I don't have access to any electronic device.

I am into fishery already so I will just add battles and birds, it would be great.


Learning a new skill:

I always have the intention of doing this but what do I need for now that I have my device? I engage with farming and my mobile all day but if the mobile is removed, I think it would be great if I replaced it with skill.

Something like making pastries, interior decorations, hairstylist will be okay for me. I would have loved to choose programming or graphics design but it would require me to use an electronic device.

Many of us including me always feel like we wouldn't be able to do great without an electronic device if we are restricted for some time but the truth is that we will blend in with something else that makes us feel great.

There was a time we didn't have all these things and the world didn't end because of that but the population of the world has gone crazy that we wouldn't be able to do a lot of things without electronic devices.

In the comment section, I would love to know what you would love to engage with if you are restricted from the use of electronic devices for some time.

The lead image was created by me using the Canva app.

16
$ 7.56
$ 7.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I don't think we can stand the 100 days without any device nowadays 😅 because it is vital to our lives already..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is a long time though but I don't think it will affect us like we are thinking.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally, I'm getting bored and indolent every time my phone is charged due to the restricted moment that I can do, and I don't know if I can stay up for over than 100 days. I think that I would be insane

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It would really be a difficult experience but I believe it would be great to get involved with something else aside from electronic devices.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're talking about 100days

But i spent 30days without mobile,without watching tv etc and i know how difficult it was and coz it wasn't my choice i was forced to not use that's why i don't want to experience again and 100days no way

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What happened, I would love to know what happened throughout the 30days and why you had to go through that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think I can live my 100 days without my phone. Haha. I can't imagine myself without a phone even in a few days. It is very important in my job.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

What kind of job do you do? Yeah, some parts of our lives are attached to the electronic device and we can't do without it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would probably first let my loved one know about my plan to not use electronic device for 100 days. Knowing them, they will painc when they can't reach me after a few hours haha.

As for the activities, I will do hmm. I will most likely spent my time crocheting things and experimenting with different patterns. I would also paint and draw just about anything I can see. I also have books that I can read and reread. I can also sew some things. Maybe try experimenting with cooking again. And of course, I would probably spend a lot of says just trying to organize and clean my place HAHA

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You must have a passion for art since you choose crocheting, it has to do with creating designs.

It is important to notify families to avoid them panicking, a family member might volunteer to keep your company throughout the period.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Honestly, it would be easy to go on days without looking at my phone and/or laptop as long as I am busy. The problem is when I get bored, my go-to is to mindlessly browse social media as if my mind needs a constant influx of information. Lately, I have tried cooking and also gardening to keep my eyes off the screen.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Gardening and cooking are cool, it is one thing I love a lot. We have things in common.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admit, it would be tough but those in the Big Brother house have other housemates to relate with, challenging tasks to keep them busy and of course, there is a reward of the money and popularity to go with it, so they can cope.

Yes, I would go with your choices too because those are the only things that can keep me sane 🤣🤣😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, that's true. They have other things to engage with on the show.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, Brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I think I wrote about something related to this a few days ago on my blog about how I can not imagine myself living without my phone for just one day not to talk about 100 days. I will be the most miserable person that day 🤣🤣. I guess it is because we have accustomed ourselves to our phones for many of us that use our phones and data wisely.

For the Bigbrothernaija, I seriously can not imagine why Nigerians will put so much into such a thing including resources and energy but can't promote educative things.

If I am restricted from electronic devices for 100 days, I think I will just go and work or perhaps go into confectionary school to learn how to bake and cook intercontinental dishes as I have always wanted.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true, we are really addicted to the device system way of life. It would be tough but interesting if we take our time to take advantage of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really you did all that? I couldn't imagine my life without operating devices, not a day without it, it would be so boring and unproductive. But it has happened to me before where i spent months without a phone nor a gadget, it was like hell

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It must have been a crazy experience, I can't imagine that happening to me but if it does, I will just blend in quickly since I don't have a choice.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For me, I don't think I can do without my phone for 3months especially when I have a platform like Readcash. I might just lose my account and that is it. Besides that, I can't even participate in such show and go for something like this. Though the pay is huge 😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The reward is tempting though but I don't like the show due to immoralities

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can live for months without anything technologically plausible. My only condition is to be in the middle of nature and to have a few options to meet my human needs. I can even grow my own products after a while. I don't think I'll get bored with it, it would even be fun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

There are lots of things we can possibly do but we are obsessed with the devices already.

$ 0.00
2 years ago