Wine Making

0 37

Wine is a concentrated fruit just that ferments for a long period of time to transform into an alcoholic drink. All of them must certainly be familiar with wine right?

What actually happened throughout my day is what I'm going to share with you all. Like most of the classes that hospitality/culinary students attend, the laboratory, where practical activities like cooking, table setting demonstrations, and similar things are carried out, is what most people find exciting. Earlier, we had been tasked to ferment our own wine.

Obviously, it's really thrilling for a student like us that has been restrained to perform such activities in the campus laboratory due to the pandemic to have this kind of experience. Believe me, just the idea of having a laboratory class is exciting but also frustrating due to the expenses that we need to cover just to buy all the ingredients we will be needing.

There are several fruits that are widely available that may be used to make wine apart from grapes, but for my part, I choose to use pineapple fruit. All the ingredients I'll need to make my wine cost me 500 pesos. I originally meant to be at school earlier than usual since I was so thrilled, but only to find out how the other section become so unfortunate on their wine since some of what the produce exploded overnight.

Yes, you read it right, during the wine fermentation process wine does explode due to the carbon dioxide that has been overly produced by the acid and yeast on the formula.

This occasion brings us frustration, knowing that our wine formula could possibly ended up like the other section, we were worried about the possibility of an explosion of our wine formula just by thinking about how much it cost us. That amount, wasn't that easy to earn kaya naman nakakaba na baka may maling procedure kaming magawa that would result to explosion.

We took almost the whole afternoon for our whole class to finish making a formula, now we just needed to wait for 21 more days until it becomes a bottle of wine.

We will be needing to visit our wine every 3rd day, to evaluate it as well as to release the carbon dioxide that is created through the jar. Hoping that it would last until the very end.

PS: This article was supposedly posted last November but I haven't realized the times have passed outside this platform we are in our final semester during this time. I just noticed that I didn't post this back then because I'm caught up in my busy schedule. Anyways this journey of my wine turns out great and I already transferred it in a bottle as for it final phase to ferment it for more months.


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

Images were from Unsplashed.com

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

1
$ 5.02
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.02 from @dexpartacus
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments