GMA Short Film Bayan Ko: A Critic Review

2 102

Our second semester begins this week, and due to my busy schedule over the last few days, I haven't been able to complete some of my work on time. I was absent from some of my online orientations yesterday since I needed to file some papers that were a requirement for me to apply for a scholarship, so I had to go to school to take care of some requirements. Unfortunately, I haven't been able to complete everything I need need to finalize because my first semester grades haven't been released yet, and I'm still waiting for confirmation when could I get it and when will I need to go back to our city municipality again to pass all the other requirements.

But before anything else, I'd like to extend my gratitude to my sponsors for their support, and you can visit their accounts to read interesting pieces.

Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

While I waiting patiently on our department chairperson's announcement, I completed some of the tasks that had been assigned to us. There really is no trouble since they are simple to make it it just some personal information or a self-introduction paper or some simple analysis that we needed to check, and one of the things I am currently working on is a critical paper for my ethics subject it is about the GMA's "Bayan Ko" film series. Well, it is not actually a critical paper since we just needed to point out which part of the plot of the film is obviously the wrongdoing of a public servant.

Anyway here are some things that I observe on the first episode of the film series:

  • Many employees live in the Municipal hall

    Aside from using the Municipal Hall as a temporary residence, employees also do what they want, they tend to close offices early, slack off, or use their time to do what they want. Furthermore, some employees demand additional payment from each client, which is not clarified in the legislation on the issuance of papers. Then, of course, it is inaccurate that someone who should serve as the city's public servants will be a negative influence on their fellow citizens, it is an insult to make the municipal hall their boarding house. As a form of professionalism, it is the employees' responsibility to be punctual and self-disciplined in separating work at home and work.

  • Political Dynasty

    In this short film, it is completely obvious that there is an ongoing political dynasty in the Rubio family in this area. The unchanging nature of the area was noticeable during the Rubio family's three years in charge of their province they built a road project, but it was still not yet finished. It is the responsibility of those in charge to ensure that the funds collected from its people should be put on projects that would be beneficial for each citizen.

  • Usage of Municipal vehicles without the authorization of City Mayor

    As written in administrative order no. 239, p. 2008, all government agencies and offices are prohibited from using government vehicles for purposes other than official business, and all government agencies and offices shall limit the use of government vehicles to essential activities and shall review their travel program and schedules to minimize unnecessary trips. It's worth noting that when Mayor Santiago required an ambulance to respond to a resident in need, the vehicle was unavailable. The ambulance, which is supposed to be available at all times, is still missing in the area, and the authorized person (Mayor) has even no idea where it is while he should only be one of those who must know where to use them because he is the one who will grant permission to use the vehicle for service work.

  • Insufficient funds for the infrastructure programs of the government

    It's worth mentioning that the Rubio family leadership is indeed prone to corruption, one of the obvious results of which has been the unfinished projects promised to the locals such as roads in some barangays. That administration surely has gained funds from the locals that should be allocated to these projects, but why has there been no change in the area and the progress of the project that they have been proposed.

  • Bias and stereotyping in publishing news regarding particular leadership

    The publicizing of false accusations against their fellow leaders who rule as Mayor of the City of Lagros is one of the victims of such a rotten system brought about by the influential family that rules the area. It is unavoidable that the current Mayor would be subjected to or receive slander from public officials who are hostile to the former mayor.

It is some of the points that I have noticed from episode one, and only this episode was assigned to us for the activity, but I don't think that will be the end of my viewing since the theme of this film series is interesting and it's great to watch especially now that we're on the election season yet again.

Here is the link to the first episode of the film if you are interested in watching it you can also check their GMA Public affairs YT account for full series


You can check a few of my previous works here

Disclaimer: I am neither a psychologist nor a financial advisor, and all of my pieces were done for entertainment purposes only. What I've written here is merely my personal opinion, and any statements made are based on my personal views and should not be taken as fact. Always do your due diligence.

I do not own the images used in these posts, hence no copyright infringement is intended.

Support and Follow me here:

https://read.cash/@GelayyLumiere

https://noise.cash/u/Gelayy

3
$ 1.05
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.13 from @jasglaybam
Sponsors of GelayyLumiere
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Those you saw in the movie were actually true at some point. Our political system has been so abused and rotten, but I am glad there were major changes in the past few years. I am glad to see your profile improving bunso :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sana nga po ngayon darating na halalan manalo ang karapatdapat na mamuno sa ating bayan.

Sana nga po magtuloy tuloy di po ako makapagsulat these past few days dahil sa mga inaabyad kong scholarship hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago