My government

27 59
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

I am not here to talk about the government of my country (Nigeria) because my fellow Nigerians did that and they make justice on the article about the Nigerian government, I won't want to bore you with that but rather I want to talk about my government.

Are you surprised when I say my government?🀣🀣🀣🀣you don't have to be, I am a leader on my own and I surely have my followers that I serve, I have those who look up to me which I must be careful with my behaviour and act. Wait, why I am saying all these? I remember during my primary school when I started holding some posts even though I have never understood fully well what it all means then.

I was chosen as the class captain when I was in primary 5, so anytime our class teacher is not around or the teachers are having a meeting, I will be asked to take over the class. I will start writing names of noisemakers, I write down the names of those who refuse to keep quiet and submit them to the class teacher, she will beat them when she comes back. Half of the class like me while the other half hate me, why? Some like the fact that I am not biased with it and some hate me because after they have begged me to forgive them or promise to give me something after the class I won't still accept to cancel their names. I never knew I was doing the right thing then but one thing I know then is that I don't take back my words/ reverse my actions after I have said or done it. I have learned this from my dad cos he will always tell me that whatever I have done and I don't have any guilty conscience about it, it means I have done it right. He said I can be wrong sometimes but whenever I want to make corrections to it, I should think twice to be sure that I actually made mistake. This was how my government started right from primary school.

When I got to junior secondary school, I was given the post of timekeeper 1, I control the time of the whole school. I do ring the bell anytime each period of any class is over, I do skip it sometimes cos no one is perfect. I was part of the school prefect as at jss3 but no-one will know cos I was humble. Most juniors don't even know me then only on those days that prefects are told to take over the assembly or the whole school that they started knowing me as a perfect. I will always be the first to get to school right from day one, this shows how punctual and diligent I was in my government. My government didn't stop here and I move on to senior secondary school.

I was the first Assistant Senior prefect in my schoolπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆπŸ™ˆ, I am shy saying this hahaha. I started to know what it takes to be a leader and what to do and not what to do when one is in such a position since the time I was the timekeeper. I knew many people were looking up to me and many people aspire to be like me when I was the assistant senior prefect. I have encountered more than 3 junior students who came to me while I was eating during the break hour with my friends they all said the same thing. They said they like me most among the other prefects and they will like to be like me, I was happy when I heard this but at the same time, I was scared. Why was I scared? I was scared because I never knew what I must have done for them to like me and what I will have to do for them to continue liking me so that I won't disappoint them in the end.

I was feeling fly among my friends when I heard the compliment πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡πŸ˜‡ but I didn't let that get to my head. I was a disciplined person and some of my fellow prefects disliked me doing that, they said I am overdoing thingsπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…. What did I do? I will always tell them to go on their knees whenever they come late to school, am I wrong for doing that? Well, I might be wrong for telling them to do that amid the junior student who came late too but I don't care. They will want to bribe me by begging me but I wouldn't listen because I will be biased in the sight of the junior student and I don't want to do that. One of the things I have always hated in my life is cheating and I will not for one reason partake in it, all these acts of mine make them dislike me. I punish my classmate whenever they are wrong on the assembly ground and whenever I do this the teachers are always surprised about it, if my classmate wants to refuse in doing what I ask him/her to do, the teachers will immediately back me up. They love the fact that I am being fair in my judgement and discipline but I am being disliked by most of my classmates πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… but do I care? No ooo I don't at all. So many times I have been appointed to go teach the junior student on some subject they are having difficulties with which I did happily and I love the fact that they understood it when I taught them, I serve them, I didn't just give instruct them to carry out some activities.

The few ones that like me like me for real and they are always happy for me even if it was their turn to be punished and I do, they still find happiness in serving the punishment because they believe what I did was right. No wonder that I was given the overall best prefect in the whole school during my set, many juniors came to me to hug me and congratulate me when I was given the award on the day of valedictory service and I was happy, the teachers were all happy for me too. That was how my government was and it's still the same since I have been in the university. I haven't held any position in the university yet but I remain the disciplined person that I was in secondary school, my friends can testify to all these.

Writer point of view

I haven't written all these to brag about myself or make known to the world that I am this but I only did these to bring out some key points to as what most leaders should hold unto. I will list them below and you should understand they are all taken out from all my rant up there if you have carefully read them.

  • Humbleness

  • Equality

  • Fairness

  • No cheating

  • Diligent

  • Punctuality

All these qualities and even more is what a leader should portray to his followers, we should learn to serve the people and not only give instruction to them. The leadership role is not meant for relaxation, you are meant to work and serve the people. I hope the Nigerian government and all other governments of other countries can see this and learn from it. You aren't excluded, yes I mean you reading this article, you are also a leader in one way or the other, learn to be a good example to people so that they can also emulate you and aspire to be like you. Enough of just looking up to your role model, be a role model to others too.

Ps: I never said we shouldn't have a role model but we should learn from them and put it into practice too.

A very big thank you to everyone who prayed and encourage me yesterday on my article, I love you all and I so much appreciate it, God bless you all.

Don't forget to thumb up πŸ‘

All images are made by me with pixellab

Thanks for reading and bye for now.

21st October 2021.

13
$ 3.29
$ 3.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Infinity
$ 0.04 from @Princessbusayo
+ 5
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago

Comments

If only our government portraits these traits in them, I don't think our country would be in this mess we are in. A leader should represent a true one

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And that should be principles of a Good Leader. You are a Good Leader though and Continue for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're Always Welcome My Friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute to you Mr. Leader:) This also reminds me during my Primary and Secondary, I also became one of our school leaders. It was so fun that I haven't felt it tiring :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…Miss leader

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Being a prefect comes with alot of responsibility. You might feel turn between supporting your fellow students and supporting the school authority. Either way you take it you end up getting hated by one of these parties.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think we should start preparing you for the coming election in 2023, I believe that you will be able to lead Nigeria and bring justice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜… I believe in myself too. Thanks for believing in me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess you were right when you said Nigeria your government cos at the early stage of primary five, you were a class captain, that's an absolute achievement at that time and the ability of shouldering a responsibility early on is awesome

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were lucky that i was not in your school or in your class, because why will you punish. Na outside school we go settle matter

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Real lifeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚.. Na inside erosion him go kneel down

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ as in

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…you will not be able to do anything cos of people that follow me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You do well not to cheat my friend. That is an evil that we have to completely eradicate at its roots.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir, it needs to be eradicated truly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have a great thing by not cheating. Cheating is not profitable it is part of the things that is making the world regress instead of progressing. Cheat is evil that need to be wipe out and eliminated Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right on this, I pray it eventually happen

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me that am olodo I never gotten to be anyone's leader before all through my school days even university

Am too lazy to be a leader

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…you are a leader to your children ma. They look up to you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww am not a mother yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, so sorry about that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nothing

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice article I'll say Someone like you should be chosen as the Nigerian leader, because if the Nigerian leader possess all these characteristics of yours Nigeria would have been a better placeπŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment, I wish I can or someone can cos the country is becoming hell for many people

$ 0.00
2 years ago