Talking a barber into accepting BCH was hard but it did happened

4 183
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
1 year ago

It's been a while I published an article here but that doesn't mean a stop was put to my BCH adventure. It's just that my academic responsibilities are becoming more demanding and challenging. To be honest, BCH is a part of me now. A day hardly pass without me discussing or reading something about BCH and the cryptoverse at large. I lately decided to enlarge my knowledge of crypto by learning new things in addition to just buying, holding and selling coins. I'm currently exploring and learning a lot about NFT. I hope that makes my journey even more exciting. I would love to mint and list my own NFT collection one day but it is always a good idea to take one step at a time.

Ever since I started college and relocated from home, This barbershop had become my second favorite after the one I grew up to like back home. I discovered it after spending just few days on campus when I wanted to maintain my look. I reached out to a friend and he took me to this barbershop where he believed was the best and to be honest, I couldn't agree with him more after my first experience. Ever since, I have had different favourite barbers that worked and left the same shop. I have always made payment in local currency. Sometimes cash, sometimes electronic transfer. Not like I have other options though because, they only accept local currency and I never once noticed anything crypto-related about them. But to be fair, I have also never attempted to pay using any other mean and got turned down.

On Saturday, I went there to get my regular look and fortunately for me, I met the guy that gave me that benefit the last time. I met him for the first time 3 weeks ago when I went there and the other barbers I was familiar with were all busy. He approached me, I was a bit skeptical but it happened that I was in a hurry. I just had to give it a try. He didn't disappoint and I was really excited. While on it, we began chatting and I found out he is a college student whose school is on break. He is there to put his skill to use while awaiting resumption. I was happy to see a young man like him with such skill and zeal. Believe me, I have come across many college students who only value and care so much about their studentship status but nothing more. That is to say, they solely depend on their sponsors and believe in working for someone else after graduation. No plan B.

While we chatted about many topics, what caught my attention the most was his interest in Cryptocurrencies. There are young men of his age that would not even give you the chance to explain yourself before countering you when the matter concerns Crypto. I can't remember what led to this discussion but we found ourselves discussing about different Cryptocurrencies: similarities and differences, price action, shitcoins, wallet, exchanges and many more. I found out he is loaded with information.

But the disagreement only came when he listed out coins he thought were not shitcoins and did not include my favourite, bitcoincash. I was not happy to find someone with such level of Crypto knowledge but not informed of BCH. But I decided to seize the opportunity and introduce him to this wonderful project. He listened why I explained the things I know about bitcoincash. He made to steer up argument at some point but I usually switch it into dialogue rather than a debate. I pointed him to sources where he could do more research and learn more things about bitcoincash. Some of the benefits of BCH which I made sure to point out seemed unrealistic to him, which is the more reason I suggested for him to create a BCH wallet so we could practicalize it. But there was no time and I was already running late for an appointment. I quickly made my payment with cashas soon as he was done and left.

On sighting him last Saturday, I couldn't wait to ask if he had made any further research since our last discussion. We greeted and he told me, he didn't make much research but he was opened for a try. He obtained a BCH wallet through trust wallet app which he already has on his android phone. I intended to send just few cents to his wallet but on a second thought, I decided to try my luck by asking if I could make that day's payment with BCH. He wanted rejecting because he would need to settle the shop, but he later agreed and decided to settle the shop with his own cash.

I immediately made the payment and as soon as I hit the send button, a notification dropped on his phone. Payment had arrived in a matter of milliseconds. I also showed him the insignificant fee. From the look on his face, I could tell he was intrigued. The kind of service he rendered to me afterwards was special. Such is the power of BCH. It makes everyone that comes across it happy even if it is your first time.

It was a pleasure bringing a fellow comrade onboard and I hope to do more of that as my journey with BCH would obviously be an endless one. Feel free to join me, let's enjoy the ride.

16
$ 29.79
$ 27.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @ErdoganTalk
$ 0.50 from @DrNums
+ 9
Sponsors of Gabu
empty
empty
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I'm also in the quest of promotion of bitcoincash, you know when i got to know about this amazing coin i cannot stop myself. There was a presentation on the topic of freelancing, i took that topic and presented everything related to bitcoincash afterwards i mentioned read.cash too from where one can get easily.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's really good of you. I wish everyone else sees it this way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You always talk about BCH adoption and the process you explained to them about BCH is fascinating to the point that you really encourage them.

I think he will continue to accept BCH, hopefully!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's surely the target. I hope he continues too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago