A special birthday gift(BCH) for my special old-time friend.

5 100
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
3 years ago

Image source

I wrote an article on the Power of friendship few days ago. You probably must have read it but if not, you can check it out here. It is an article born out of my own little experiences gathered while trying to build friendly relationship with people over the years. It talks about both the good sides and the ugly sides of friends and include a piece of advice on how to select your friends.

Friends are definitely the most wonderful set of people in our lives. Though some unfortunately May become a torn in our flesh and this happens to be the reason, most people wave it off when you try to discuss the topic of friendship. But there still is a great number of friends who would stick with you and also, stay true to you through both good times and rough times. Those are the kind of friends most appropriate to be referred to as special friends and they deserve special gifts.

I have had a good number of them in the past and this guy happens to be one of those. We were Best of Friends through middle school to high school level and got separated after securing admissions into different colleges. Ever since then, we only talk on phone and occasionally meet during holidays.

My time with Him was a memorable one. The pranks we pulled on each other, the singing together; he raps and I mime choruses, the dancing together and many other things we learnt from each other. He was part of my childhood and now part of the memory. Even though we still talk as friends, we aren't that close anymore, thanks to distance. It always have it's way.

Few days ago, we were on the phone talking, discussing issues related to life and aging. That was when he remembered to tell me about his upcoming birthday which he had planned to celebrate this year. He had always celebrated his birthday but he wants this one to be very special and much bigger. The reason being that, he wants to thank God for seeing him through the 2020 huddles and making it possible for him to witness another special day in his life. I believe everyone alive today has something to be greatful for. If not for any other thing, at least for passing through 2020 alive. Corona virus seemed a death trap and it was like the world was coming to an end. But at the end, we made it through and we're still alive today: another opportunity to struggle more and witness more wins.

I'm not the type that celebrate birthdays that much but I always mark it a special day in my life. I really do not have much ideas about the best gifts to give a friend for birthday. The few I had given gifts to, had only received cake. When he notified me of his birthday, I became lost in thoughts. I imagined all the things I could get for him and how he would react to them. Trust me, I'm a bit good at imagining things. I couldn't come up with anything tangible. And I do not want to gift him cake again. I had given him cake as a birthday gift once in highschool. That, coupled with the fact that we don't stay close anymore which means, a Virtual gift would be the only possible thing sent cake off the list leaving a blank sheet.

Then came this idea!

Image source

The thought sprang up with question. "What if you gift him Bitcoincash?". My friend is the type that loves cash gifts a lot. I could remember back then when his uncle leaving in a different state gave him the chance to say what he wanted as Christmas gift. My friend surprisingly chose to say cash. I was curious enough to ask why he chose cash and he told me that, with the cash, he could get whatever he wanted and it's better than his uncle buying him things he probably won't need or like. Anyways, people think differently and that is his own way. So, I'm pretty sure my Friend would love to receive the cash gift from me.

But this would not be his usual fiat gift. This is going to be a gift he could chose to spend as cash or preserve as gold. A gift that may likely become part of Him forever. A gift full of hopes and is capable of changing his perspective about life. A gift which could bring him into a lovable community such as the bitcoincash community and make him a permanent member without an entrance fee.

He is a friend with zero knowledge about Bitcoincash and it's awesome platforms. This is a special mean I'm going to use in on-boarding him to the bitcoincash train and he will probably stay forever. I have set $20 worth of BCH aside to use as this gift.

The plan

I will call him up on the eve of his birthday and tell him all he needs to know about Bitcoincash. I will guide him on how to download a BCH wallet. It's definitely going to be the one I'm using which is bitcoin.com wallet. I will also ask him to send me his wallet address after he's done setting up things. After all is set, then I will wait till the morning of his birthday before calling him up again to wish him a happy birthday and ask him to check his wallet. That would be a bit of surprise.

Image source

After the birthday, I will introduce him to these platforms(including read.cash and noise.cash) where he would learn more about Bitcoincash and also earn in the process.

If this plan works perfectly, I would have succeeded in giving an old friend hopes for the future and getting a new bitcoincash user onboard.

It's all about Bitcoincash awareness.

What are you doing in your own way? Do you know it is our responsibility as the users to get bitcoincash to as many new users as possible? If you haven't started, the time is now. It must not have to be for Mass adoption. The single faithful user you onboard today will also onboard another person tomorrow. And that way, the awareness continues in a circle.

Why should you? Do it because, you are Bitcoincash!

10
$ 12.20
$ 12.09 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 1
Sponsors of Gabu
empty
empty
Avatar for Gabu
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This is a great idea sir Gab. Aside from making your friend's birthday extra special, he/she also can learn about bitcoin cash.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that is the aim. Thanks for the kind words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great idea.. Or share some shareable links to him.. So he will download bitcoin.com wallet 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, that will be good. Thanks for the idea

$ 0.00
3 years ago