Surviving by Materialism

4 15

Only decades ago, people were contented with using what they could have, instead of waiting for something else.

Simple luxuries did not exist back then. Their days passed by simply without even taking a peek at the TV or surfing the web, and they didn’t even always listen to the radio. Now, there are technological innovations that occupy most of a person’s time. I am not specifically pointing out just the gadgets, but also the fashion revolution.

Everywhere I go, there are cell phones on hand and eyes on them. I admit that I also do that, but at least I glance to the road once in a while. Others just bump to poles, bump to each other and being bumped by cars, and spending large amounts of money for the load. Load is mostly used for texting or surfing the net.

Aside from cellphones, there are many more gadgets that steal the focus from everyone: tablets and laptops that make functions of a computer much better, faster, and handy. The Internet is now even made easy to reach because of internet cafes. And even made easier because of Wi-Fi! People have become lazy because of these. And even then, people copy from others because it’s just a click away. That makes it so sad.

And for fashion, in the textile industry, skirts are so short, and tops are sleeveless and even tubes. Some designs cover the entire body but are see-through. There are also shorts and skinny jeans that perfectly morph the exact shape of a body. Sometimes, actually most of the time, I tell myself: “With these clothing designs that people buy, why do they even bother wearing clothes?”

And don’t get me started with hairstyles. I thought people just want to cut their hair for comfort. Now I see that they don’t. I can’t even see the comfort in their hairs. Some have uneven cuts, spots, overflowing on one side and overblown on the other, dreaded, square-box for girls and long flowing hair for boys. They think they’re unique. Yeah, I say so. Unique on another level.

I may sound like a Karen or a Marites to you but I don’t really understand if these things make life better or more complicated. I know you’ve been told by elders and even by our parents: “In many days, we did this instead of that.” And I know you would probably say, “Well, you didn’t have this in your time.” I can justify that we are living in this era of the world when technology is gradually enhancing at a fast pace. If you don’t want to be left out, you have no other choice but to ride along with it as you can. That is how to survive: socialize by materialism.

Lead image from Google.

Thank you so much👇👇👇👇👇👇👇

5
$ 2.34
$ 2.18 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
+ 2
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I started practicing minimalism a few years ago. It's more fulfilling!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

True sis. There's no need to be grand naman diba. Especially if it looks over na.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Why naman ganyan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Arang ka conyo ni baray oy hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago