Last Christmas

6 24

Every year, our town lights up the park for the Christmas Season. People will go to and fro enjoying the lights and the foods stalled on the sides.

Couples are everywhere, holding hands giving each other warmth in the cold nights of December. Just like any other year, I am just on the side taking pictures of beautiful smiles lighted by the Christmas lights.

"Excuse me," I turned around to see who's talking to me.

"Can you please take a picture of me?"

Without a word, I positioned myself to take her a good shot. There I've captured the most beautiful smile I'd ever seen. I thought it was just her pose that I captured, but she also captured my heart at that very moment.

Her name is Angela, the name I will always mention in my prayers. For a very short time, we fell in love, and for the very first time in my life, I was able to spend Christmas with someone that holds my heart.

I am no longer the grubby boy on the side that silently takes pictures of happy couples, I am now with someone whom I can hold hands with and kiss to every mistletoe we passed by. My heart is now happy with my Angela. She said I was her answered prayer. I just realized God keep me single for many years because someone is secretly praying to have me in their life. That was the most beautiful thing I've ever heard.

New year's eve we were in each other's family. I missed her so bad that I couldn't stand to without her in this marvelous time. I hurriedly go to her house and saw her on her way out of the house. I get out of the car and ask her where she's going.

"I'm going to your house. Because I missed you."

I grabbed her and kissed her passionately. This person is definitely the person I'm going to spend my life with in 2022 and for the coming years.

We went to the park where we first met. We just blend in with the other couples in the park. We were like kids giggling on the side. I wish this will never end.

Then people started to count down... We stood where other people are waiting for the fireworks display as the new year comes. 5... I looked at her beautiful face, 4... I can't help but smile with the thought inside my head how lucky I am to have a girl like her, 3... Forever I will be by her side, 2... She will be the only love I will always remember, 1... I love you, Angela. HAPPY NEW YEAR! People shouted while I kissed her tenderly.

Euphoria. It's the feeling I always had in our relationship. It's the kind of feeling you don't want to last. I have been thinking already of forever if not just for a lifetime. I had so many plans for our future. For the last 11 months, I've never been so happy. I wish life did not intrude on our love story. I wished God was not cruel. It's Christmas again and I am on the side again. This time, I don't have the camera with me. I'm just capturing every bit of memory she had in my mind. I wish she was here. A few days from now should be our first anniversary. She would be here if cancer didn't take her life. I lost her last month and I felt like she had just gone far away. Away from life and away from me.

Last Christmas I was the happiest. Sometimes, I just wish, I never met her so I would never feel this sadness. I can't handle this too much pain. But then again, the happiness I felt with her is incomparable. So, even just for a short while, God sent an angel to feel what love like is and love as if there's no tomorrow. I will just go back to everything to last Christmas when I still had her.

Thank you everyone πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡πŸ‘‡

5
$ 3.68
$ 3.55 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ErdoV
$ 0.03 from @King_Gozie
+ 3
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Why does it need to end like that? Huhu I hate reading sad ending stories huhu. Atleast, he got the chance to be with an amazing woman like her.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Me too. I wonder why I ended it that way. Haha, I feel so melancholic while sitting alone in the park watching lovers walking in front of me. I got bitter, so that's the reason 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha πŸ˜‚

What a moment. At times we do wish we could be able to turn back the hands to time. But we just can’t And in addition this is another Christmas here again. You can probably meet with someone closer to her in everything

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope we all have beautiful memories at Christmas. It's very unusual to relate Christmas to any melancholic moments. It's always known as the happiest and best time of the year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Should I say that’s why it falls to the end of the year??

I remember when we do have our end our the year party in elementary schools then. It’s always fun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to end the year with happy memories.

Yes it's always fun and momentous 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago