Tattered Clothes

6 63
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

I was folding clothes for what seemed like eternity when I was reminded of the popular aphorism, along with other morals that I value most.

All that glitters is not gold. We are already familiar with this. Yet I see a many who still judge based on looks. I cannot judge them back. After all, we are also encouraged to dress nicely, especially if we're to go for an interview, or present a report in class or even hang out with friends.

Nowadays, I usually display myself in our neighborhood without regard to my clothes. What's important for me is that I look tidy enough to be welcomed by the little stones that I see on the ground.

Sometimes, they question why I don't seem bothered by all those things. I tell them it's not what's important for me. Pages of a book, variety of pencils and ball pens, poetry, and even singing is of more invitation than the flashy fashion that I get to see only on television. They aren't as flashy as off cam anyway. So what's the use?

Integrity. I am ashamed for most of the time. I lose this every now and then. Sometimes, because of greed, or anger, or selfishness. Still, I give high regard for this. Integrity is a sense of wholeness or having responsibility over those that we've said and being consistent with our words. It extends to adhering to strong moral principles.

My friend, who is a Christian, supports the notion of integrity over popularity. Popularity, if chased, will eventually lead us to our downfall. But if we prioritize integrity, then we may well become more respected and followed by many, at least for those who know better than most.

Back to the clothes, I find it harder and harder to repair the damaged ones. Maybe, it is because of the change in hobbies. I rarely write before so I had more time for other things. Now, I usually write more than anything else. Even when I'm not publishing, I still write. Not really for public consumption but just to write whatever's of interest to me. The clothes that have been damaged, I sometimes just give it away to others or use it inside the house.

But the idealistic me dictates that I take care more of my clothes and not give them away easily. I agree but just sometimes, I get tired. But then again, if we do our best, we will find time to repair them.

Interestingly, there is this fashion on tattered jeans. Well, it's fashion! It is always dependent on people and the time.

What we should strive for is for our ideals not to get tattered and rugged. Because... All that glitters is not gold. And integrity is better than popularity.

5
$ 0.53
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Hanzell
$ 0.01 from @geeh
Sponsors of FrieLincs
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FrieLincs
2 years ago

Comments

i like these train of thoughts of yours. as an artist/chemist i always look like a mess or i smell awful when I'm done with an analysis but it doesn't matter because I've done what i could

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, Hanzell. You're an artist and a chemist and also a writer--it's just a wow! Yah, but back in the day, looks to me mattered very much. Good thing I've changed a lot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grew up bored 😂😂😂 i had a lot of time to improve a lot of things. appearances still don't matter much toe but i do like being cute when I go out though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It mattets after all hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is amazing that you find lessons in simple things you do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True... I often find myself wondering whenever I do mindless works like folding clothes or removing weeds from plants. Thank you, geeh, for dropping a comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago