Misunderstanding

11 25
Avatar for Freylin
2 years ago

Have you ever felt people misunderstand what you say, what you have written, even misunderstood the reaction you gave?

Yes... It happens to me a lot. And from there I understood I had to learn a lot of how to get people to understand what I really wanted to say, what exactly I meant by every word I wrote, or the reaction I gave.

I often talk about something that might be simple to be a bit complex for people. I admit my weakness is, I easily understand what people mean, but people have a hard time understanding what I mean, lol.

Furthermore, I wouldn't be surprised when I get all kinds of responses, some give the right response, but many of them give different responses that are even very contrary to what I mean. If that's a response to my writing or my comments, I often reread, maybe I chose the wrong word or said something offensive.

Maybe people will say it's a matter of language barriers and cultural differences. Yes, it's possible, but... So far what I've felt is not that, it's more about my ability to convey things. I know, I need to fix this. Sometimes, I have a feeling that people don't read what I write, or don't listen to what I say well. But the reality is, it's not that, they read and hear well, just don't understand. Lol. Sorry.

Why I'm so sure this is not a matter of language? Because writing in my own language alone sometimes makes some people do not understand. My friends often misunderstand what I'm saying, let alone what I write. I had to explain many times to convince and make them understand what exactly I meant. Well yeah, talk in my own language even sometimes make people misunderstood. That's why I always try to simplify my language, hoping people don't misunderstand or even be offended by what I write or say.

My bad. I love learning languages, any language. But I'm so bad at delivering things. I'm easy to understand what people are saying, but since I'm hard to convey what I mean, make people assume I don't understand them.

I even love writing, but I often write without really conveying clearly who I mean, making people often think what I'm talking about is only about me. Therefore, now that I'm trying to be more open, if I talk about myself I'll just say "I'm like this, I'm like that" but when I talk about people's things, in general, I use "them." I thought it will make people more understand that I'm not talking about myself, but it seems that, it doesn't fully work, I don't know how to convince my readers that what I write sometimes has nothing to do with me at all.

Well ... I hope writing a lot will help me to convey what inside my mind better. I'm often confused about answering responses that don't match what I want to say. A lot of them think of me as this and that. Well, I can't blame them, it's just that I got a bit scared writing, haha... joking. Anyway, sometimes it's hard indeed, has a style of language like mine that hardly saying something directly to the point.

I often make ambiguous sentences that make my readers deduce something far from what I think. Hmm... Sometimes I wonder if I need to straighten out what I'm actually writing. It's uncomfortable when people misinterpret what you mean. But... I'm not sure if I can even explain well to them. I need to look at their faces firsthand to see if they really understand what I mean, or just try to understand, to end the discussion. This is what I often experience, my friends often choose to end conversations with me when I struggle to make them understand, but they are lazy to listen.

So the conclusion of the topic this time. I have to learn to focus when I'm talking about a topic, I often lose focus and talk about other topics, maybe that's what confuses my readers with my writing. I often write my confusion makes others confused with my understanding. They often think I don't know or don't even understand what I'm writing. Sorry.

Don't take this topic too seriously, I often write things not in a serious mood, although maybe my words sound serious. Therefore, I often slip emoticons but since now I write using a laptop, I can not slip emoticons that may reduce the misunderstanding of my readers.

I get comments from someone I don't know, and I'm happy about it. I feel like my writing can attract readers, lol. Anyway, I used to have a blog, and I can see which topics bring people to read my blog. It feels good when your blog is read by others. Because all this time, my writing was only read by friends I know. Of course, it feels different when you finally realize that your writing is also read by people you don't know at all.

Alright then, I know everything needs research, time, effort, and patient to shine. I believe there are no instant things, and instant things will not stand long. I think I have made a clear conclusion, I hope there's no misunderstanding in my post anymore.

For you who just accidentally stopping by here, thank you so much.

3
$ 0.15
$ 0.10 from @McAdeleye
$ 0.03 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
Sponsors of Freylin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freylin
2 years ago

Comments

It is easy to assume things that's why many of us misunderstood things. And you are right about focus. We only want to hear what we want to hear sometimes that's why we are confused. Even in writing, our understanding may differ from what the author wanted to say and we want to interpret it the way that we can understand it. So it's okay to ask to clarify things and not just assume things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, can't agree more. Clarify is the best way we can do, although there are some people who assume without wanting to know the truth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We can get our thoughts across better that way and to avoid confusion.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Misunderstanding is just a part of life, I think. I always experienced it and I just want to cry in sadness if ever the class and I having a misunderstanding

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i feel you, yeah, misunderstanding is terrible when it comes to deeper levels, like trust.

please let me know if I misinterpreted your comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I am one of the outsiders reading this and it should have been that I stumbled across it too. But I can’t deny the fact that I enjoyed the read.

I love the way you spoke out your mind and also expressed your feelings too. It really bound to happen in communication, there is always misunderstanding and misinterpretation too. But it’s left to a wise reader to extract the point at with the author is trying to pass across and make meaning out of it.

Practically, I love the write up. Keep it up friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for encouraging me and left a comment. yes! Very often happens, that's why sometimes I try to find the right words in expressing my point but still, sometimes people misunderstand. Anyway, thank you, for being my wise reader today. Have a great day, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe. I am no wise reader lol

I am just a toddler trying to crawl and also driving my way to become a better writer like you guys

It’s always nice to meet to great and inspiring friends like you. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're good at choosing wordsπŸ‘πŸ» Unfortunately i'm bad at praising, so i don't know how to express my gratitude for your words πŸ˜…πŸ˜¬

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha. No worries, since we understood each other. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

aha! good point, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago