Tips on how to be street smart

28 118
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

We have to be street smart in Lagos Nigeria, either from experience or where you grew up; by experience, I mean becoming a victim of an incident such as having your phone stolen or forcefully taken or individuals violently collecting monies from your pocket, or strangers pressuring you to pay for their food, or buying an electrical gadget and discovering some other thing inside when you unwrapped it when you got home, and as a result of what had transpired, you became street smart because you don't what that to repeat itself again.

Where we grew up definitely shape us to be street smart also, imagine growing up in big places and where some illegal activities are been carried out or where there's always fight occuring constantly with time you will definitely be street smart just to avoid being bullied by the ones around....I'd want to discuss some street smart strategies with you to help you survive in huge cities like Lagos, Nigeria. I had to choose Lagos as my reference because it's where I reside and being street smart is essential for survival in this big city

Kindly check out my awesome sponsors

Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty

These are some street tips

1. When you find yourself on a street and it looks uncomfortable, attempt to maintain a confident body language. I'd say an angry appearance, but that would be too violent.... You portray yourself as an easy target if you don't appear confident, and most importantly you should never exhibit signs of being lost in a community that looks rugged, you're most likely to be robbed in such situation.

2. When you hear gunshots or see people running around for their life and you live close by, go into your apartment because when the cops arrive, they will pick up anyone they see, and you could be charged with a crime you did not commit..

3. If you're walking through a difficult community with trees, abandoned or uncompleted buildings, and parked vehicles on the side of the road, make sure to take the central route rather than the side because you'll be making yourself an easy target for anyone looking to harm or steal from you. If you can't walk along the center of the road, make sure you're as far away as possible from possible hiding spots for such dangerous persons.

4. If you live in a ghetto, never take your expensive gadget with you when you know that you are most likely not to use it because you might not discover it's missing until you come home and there's absolutely nothing you can do about it because you don't even know where it got stolen.

5. Avoid withdrawing large sums of money from an automated teller machine because this alone will attract a large number of criminals willing to take any risk to rob you of that money. When you know your environment is not safe and you need to withdraw large sum of money, you can just go into the bank to do that.

6. Always confirm the license plate of the Uber and most importantly the face of the driver, make sure it is the same person that is showing on the app also because the rate at which kidnapping is occuring nowadays is very scary.. and if it's possible ensure that you share your ride with one of your friends or family Incase you don't get to come home early, they can confirm where you are at that moment.

7. There is never any guilt in fleeing a fight because you may be sparing yourself from more serious difficulties such as being beaten up by your opposing party or violent criminals ( gang members) of your opponent and You'll undoubtedly go to jail if you accidentally knock your opponent unconscious and he or she dies as a result of it.... And also you may possibly be unaware of the weapon that the other person is concealing from you., so don't try fighting anytime you see the opportunity to fight.

8. When you come across people involving themselves in illegal or prohibited activities, don't stare at them since you'll draw their attention to yourself and you might not like what will happens to you.

When you're in a type of scenario where you need to safeguard yourself, keep in mind that your elbow is your deadliest weapon on your body. Stay away from people who have nothing to lose and people who have everything to lose.

Thank you for taking the time to Reading thisπŸ’šπŸ’šπŸ’š

17
$ 4.21
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.12 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 12
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

They try to pick on people like us cause we look scared, but if they know who you are on the street they most times leave you alone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate thief's most in life cause they are just useless and this is the worst thing to do

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If you are not street smart in Lagos, you're on a long thing o. Although, I usually withdraw huge sum of money and put them in my pocket but on a coded level o. Act innocent. Glad I have never been mugged before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always act innocent but when you give me hot I go give you hot back, everyone is crazy on the street of lagos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate theif who stole others asset. Its really hard when something stolen from us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It can be really painful especially when you just bought the gadget

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'll keep this in mind especially when I'm roaming around the city. 😱

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Alright πŸ‘πŸ‘, I only learn this because I live in a rugged area

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your safety tips. But is it really scary out there?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The level of insecurity is high at the moment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They say experience is the best teacher, but sometimes it's better to learn from others. That first tip on your list, I had to learn it on my own after almost getting mugged in my off campus hostel in the university. Looking like a lost puppy in a rugged area will surely draw the attention of area boys who will immediately know you're new to the area

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ mine was at ketu, the way I was approached sef still shocks me till today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oshey street OG let’s get it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I dey learn from you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stop Lieing jor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is also common here the stealing of phones and other gadgets. We must be aware of it and be a street smart. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I learnt this through experience, my phone got stolen and I didn't understand how they did it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No. 2 is very common in my side here,,, police will not listen to anyone trying to justify himself whether he's among them or not. You only get to talk when you've landed in their custody. So it's always advisable to lock yourself out of the area to avoid being picked

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I added this because I was almost caught one day while coming back from field, so I showed them my boot and football before they left me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You were lucky that you met the reasonable ones. If it were to be some group, you'll be taken to station first before you'll bail yourself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

aw, after reading your article made me think, was Lagos a dangerous place?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sincerely it is and at the same time it's not.... only if you're home at the appropriate time and midnight walk is avoided, even if you follow all these safety is not still sure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly,I really learned a lot from these tips,it's gonna be a great helped for me and as a reminder everytime I will go to the city. We should be watchful all s the time not just in our own town but also in any places,because we never knew what will happened next time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I learnt most of these through experience though and I regretted happening to me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lot of people whose intentions are not good. Let's avoid those person to avoid trouble.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We really don't know people intentions, so we should just avoid some places that you feel is not secure

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can't avoid harsh people on the street. Sometimes they made tripping for us. We should also know how to defend ourselves not to fight but to escape of big problems.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah... I love that quote, defend to escape and not to fight

$ 0.00
2 years ago