The special one

5 20
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago
AUTHOR: OMOJUWA FREEDOM
DATE: THURSDAY MARCH 17TH 2022

We had the opportunity three days ago to commemorate the tenth anniversary of my grandfather's death, which actually happened in his room when he was attempting to wake up, and then at the same time he was suffering a long-term illness.

I could remember that day vividly and how I heard a loud bang in his room while we were in the sitting room watching movies with my family members and we all rushed into his room and we saw him lying on the floor and I was shocked because that was the first time I'm witnessing a death of someone very close to me and I couldn't cry at the same time because I couldn't wrap my head around what was happening but people were crying and shouting and our dogs were barking but I still Didn't believe everything happening.

The next day, the street was deserted and there was no mobility because the street and one nearby were named after our family, so everyone had to follow the rules, and those who needed to go to work couldn't drive because the entryway gate was secured. I was still pondering and asking myself, "Is he truly gone for good?" in my room. ..... I began to recall the times we spent together and everything dad taught me..

Those were the days when we had to get up earlier than usual for early morning devotions, and he made sure that everyone was fully conscious. He also made me recite our indigenous hymns, and everyone would repeat after me because that's how it's done. He was the one who encouraged me to attempt football on my very first day, telling me that I would enjoy it.

I recall weekends when, after morning religious activities, we both went to our family church with my cousins to worship and praise God after we had spiritual practices at home. I recall those days when my cousins and I were attempting to play and we tried to imitate how we practiced our devotions at home, with me pretending to be grand pa.

I was incredibly upset when I found out he had finally left us, but I couldn't completely stop my tears when I sung a song he taught me and makes me read during morning devotions, and that's when I truly sobbed because I realized I wouldn't see him again, and that really made me feel awful.

Though I was much younger at the time, his impact on my life was profound, and I owe him a great debt of gratitude since he was one of a kind. I still wish he was alive, and I hope to see him again in paradise one day.

He passed away, but his effectiveness on our lives continues to this day, and he truly transformed the lives of many people, which is why the gathering for his memorial was so impressive.

..... RIP GRAND PA 🕊️.....

6
$ 1.58
$ 1.47 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @Seni
$ 0.03 from @Aimure
+ 2
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

Those memories of the nice moments with him are something you'll not gonna forget for life. Each time you come across what he used to do or what he taught, the memories will pop up. Thank God lived a good life, especially knowing church and God. RIP to him

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May His soul continue to rest in perfect peace. I am very sure he was a great man.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I wish his soul a perfect rest wherever he is, I can understand how you feel and how much you have missed him. Sorry bro, take heart.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

May his soul continue to rest in peace. Most have been overwhelming experiencing everything happen so fast.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sounds like he is a great grandpa! Your blessed to meet and spend time with him. I haven't meet both of mine as they died before I was born.

$ 0.01
2 years ago