My first fight

17 26
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

While growing up I always get involved in fights, maybe I love it but I don't know why. I remember the first time I was ever involved in a fight. Well, calling it a fight could be considered as elaboration, since the whole thing perhaps lasted no more than 40seconds which is not up to 1 minute and only involved just one hit. I was not sure how it started or what started it, but I recall everyone was outside for free period, this undefined wandering time was a free for all it happens every Wednesday, we do call it β€œextension break" which is from 2pm to 3pm.

Whatever caused the brawl I can't recall, but I found myself with my friends standing chest to chest with samson okoro and his friends...... I did not really know him before that moment maybe because he was in the senior class then and I never met him and know him at all after the incident. Yet still, all these years till now I can remember his name πŸ˜…πŸ˜…, and his faceπŸ˜‚.

As far as fighting goes, I knew knew how to back down from a fight, but not much else. My only real knowledge in fighting was getting beaten down by my reasonably older sister or goofing off with my close friends while playing. So I stood there, not relenting, but also I don't have any idea or knowing what exactly to do next . Unfortunately for me, Samson had a plan, maybe because he had been involved in real fight before, Taking two quick step back and front he disembarked a heavy hit into my right ear. It wasn’t a kind of hit that dismantled my face at least in the physical perception, although psychologically it was really massiveπŸ˜… I wobbled a little couldn't find my balance, more from shock than pain.

When this happened I just lean on a wall. I still had no strategy or any technique. I had never really anticipated or seen myself in this kind of situation I was at that moment, and therefore I had no understanding or idea on what to do. With almost all my classmates waiting and observing and anticipating for something to happen or something worth watching, and not really realizing what exactly to do, I burst into tears πŸ˜‚

I think samson may have been amazed by that. To have easily beat the most stubborn boy in school and perhaps a little bit of shame or sadness. I will likely never know. But that moment stuck with me for a while. Within a minute, our class teacher appeared to break it up then crowd slowly dispersed away and me and samson followed the class teacher to the HOD office We were interrogated, Samson got suspended and I was on working suspension.

My friends never brought it up again, and I don’t remember being treated any differently by anyone most especially my friends. But I understood one thing that very day, a dark lesson which changed me for the worse. I made a covenant to myself that if I were ever going to stand up against anyone chest to chest another day I would always hit the person first and I would never be hit first again. A promise, I would keep, for far too long.

Later that same session, when boy who is above me in class and age, whose name I can not remember stood his ground and confronted me, I didn't think twice I put my new experience into practice. Before he could take two steps I unleashed two quick blow to his jaw, 5 seconds into the fight he was already bleeding. Before I knew his friends came over and drag me to the hod office and I was the one suspended that very day. after that, when anyone big, small, tiny or fat stood in front I would always escalate it by throwing the first punch. A commitment that completed when, in my last year in secondary school , a guy showed up confronting me about talking to his girlfriend at a gathering before we write our final exam and while on my school uniform, I hit him before saying anything.

Gone are those days Following Jesus has changed so much about me. Not only did I learn to stop throwing knockout punches, I learned to stop finding myself in those kind of situations. Just like today topic in Sunday school blessed are the peacemakers, and for you to be a peacemaker you have to emulate Jesus Christ behaviour, because he his regarded as the prince of peace for a reason.

Thanks for reading ❀

Make sure you check out my wonderful sponsors

8
$ 3.50
$ 3.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 6
Sponsors of Freedom007
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Freedom007
2 years ago

Comments

This is really interesting I was laughing throughout πŸ˜… Thank God those are in the past, but I'm sure those experience will be useful in dealing with Lagos thugs

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ lagos thug fight is different πŸ˜… they use weapon and I'm not built for that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So you were little villain in school time. As and when time flies, we adopt to the new change. Looking back you must have had great fun i believe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I had fun and I learnt alot of things

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Omo Can you still fight?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have the strength again I'm old already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚ Iyen na da

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, so if I stood up to you I would really run for my life... you see say na talent you get like this... we for hear am for unilag, thanks to God you didn't continue πŸ˜„πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ thank God for his Mercy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Opoor, Randy Orton. Bad boy from scratch,no wonder you dey always give me voice, but me go best you shooπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na precious go beat u no worry

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Precious na my boy naπŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oshey mike Tyson 😹😹😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na Mohammed alli ooo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Werey 😹😹thank God say them no break your head

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whatever Sins that we did before, Jesus will forgive us, as long as we are sincere asking for forgiveness to Him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's right, he is always willing to accept us back

$ 0.00
2 years ago