Quails: Few Are Many

6 22
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago
Topics: Read cash, Home

Happy day dear friends of this great Community, grateful for one more weekend with family, as I mentioned in the previous article, I had a small farming of quails at home, these birds do not take up much space and the daily dedication is minimal.

These are my wonderful sponsors, they have very interesting articles, I am sure you will like them, be sure to visit them. 

Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty

Few Are Many

With Few quails Are Many eggs that you collect a day, I started my quail breeding with 10 females and 2 males, these animals I bought were juveniles had about 30 days of birth. I prepared a cage that I built with thin rods, aviary mesh and wire, with 2 doors, it had a length of 1 meter by 40 cm wide and 30 cm high, the floor I did with an inclination so that the eggs rolled to the outside of the cage and collect them easily.

To the cage I made a connection to the water pipe, with 4 automatic drinkers, to avoid taking away space in the cage and they were constantly dirtying the water, on the outside I made a small hopper with recycled material to place the concentrated food. After 1 month of having them in the house they began to lay their first eggs, in the first week we collected like 4 eggs, then in the following weeks it was increasing, when we had about 12 eggs, we prepared them with pink sauce, delicious.

After about 2 months, I decided to increase the number of animals, but this time I did not buy quails, there were quail breeders in the city and bought 2 dozen fertile eggs, but before buying them, I was researching how to make an incubator. Look for recycled materials (as always), I made a wooden box with your door, use a refrigerator resistor to provide heat, use PC electro fans, buy a thermostat and thermometer for temperature check, manufacture two trays with the wooden edge and with small mesh the bottom, at the base of the incubator I put a tray with water, to maintain moisture.

When I had quail breeding I didn't know I was going to make publications, therefore, I don't have photographs, my apologies.

Now yes, let's go with the incubation, buy two dozen fertile eggs (they sell them more expensive) and select 12 eggs from the ones you had in the hatchery.

Place the eggs in different trays and then, at birth, select the females and separate them from the males to avoid consanguinity and I laid the females born from the eggs purchased with the males born from the eggs of the hatchery, likewise the males born from the eggs purchased with the females born from the eggs of the hatchery.

After checking the operation of the incubator for several days, verified the temperature, humidity and that all the equipment works well, begging to have electricity for 15 consecutive days. Place the trays with the eggs in the incubator and every day before going to work (they were normal days) I checked the temperature, the tray with water and turned the eggs with my hands. Then he would check the cage and collect the eggs, place food, in the afternoon to make the same tour.

It was 15 days of impatience, waiting to see the cutupollos born, I made an ovoscope with a plastic container and a light bulb, to see the growth, but they were not born on the 15th, I was worried when at night I heard the cutupollos chirping, I ran to see them it was very exciting, they were already being born, the next day almost everyone was born, for that first experience there was an 80% birth rate, not bad for being a rustic incubator.

I made some drinkers with recycled material for the cutupollos, I put stones in the water to prevent them from drowning and a bulb to maintain their temperature, after that first experience, I continued to incubate eggs until I had about 200 quails, in other cages that I built.

Thank you for getting here, if you want to know a little more about quails or want to have your production, I can guide you about it, it is fascinating to have them.

All content is original 

The information obtained from the Web is indicated 

Thanks for visiting me, you can leave a comment and remember to Like and Follow me. 

February 20, 2022 

REFERENCES:

PHOTO COVER: Cría de Codorniz Ponedora: Todo lo que deberías saber antes de entrar al negocio (hablemosdeaves.com) 

Cría de codornices japonesas: la producción alternativa más recomendada para diversificar ingresos (infocampo.com.ar) 

HUEVOS DE CODORNIZ 12U (dieteticarojas.com) 


3
$ 0.76
$ 0.52 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @LucyStephanie
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 3
Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago
Topics: Read cash, Home

Comments

Awww it must be nice to have the eggs hatch indeed. ❤ Congrats on your quail breeding journey. 👍👍👍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It reminded me of when I had my quail. My son ate so many of those eggs. He loved them. I think I will buy some to get back to having quail with little eggs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can start a new breed, they are very relaxing, you can also sell the eggs too. Any additional information I am at your disposal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much my friend. I will remember but now I just want them to put for my consumption. I will buy depending on the cost of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! You're doing great propagating those quails, you're a jack of all trades eh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right now I don't have birds, I had those a few years ago, then I gave them away with the cages. Yes, I have done many things that sometimes surprise me

$ 0.00
2 years ago