Social Media Detox

2 30
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

I shared yesterday my experience with body detox and why I chose to let go of unhealthy foods. As I get older, I slowly learned to love and appreciate myself more. I learned to say no, I learned to value myself, I learned to prioritize myself coz all for the past years, my youth, and even during my 20's, I don't prioritize myself. And looking back, I feel bad for my past self.

To be honest, I'm more concerned about my mental health more than my body because poor mental health can lead to poor physical health. We should prioritize it both, and social media doesn't give me good vibes, so I deactivated all my social media accounts even my art account on Instagram.

Social media is one of the great platforms to connect with people in this digital era. Social Media became part of our daily life especially Facebook. Am I right? Some of my friends don't have Facebook, only Instagram and it's okay with them. They're not affected by what's trending.

During my 20's I was addicted to Facebook like I post whatever I want, even the nonsense things haha, like it's my diary. I posted my daily life, rants, I even used it to my enemy lol. I was once a toxic person and got tired. As time passed by I learned that it's not healthy and starts to detoxify from it. At first, I deactivated my Facebook for 2-3 months then activated it again. But it feels like I'm wasting my time reading other people's stories that I'm not even close. Never-ending showbiz issues, and many many more that lead us to scroll more. Then when the pandemic hit's our country last year, I deactivated again, and this is the longest FB detox that I had.I don't have an Facebook and even messenger for a year now. Then around March, I deactivated my 2 IG accounts, my personal and art accounts. Why? I just want to disappear to social media and friends for a while.

I have a Facebook dummy account because of our business online. I need an account so I can access our Facebook page. Only my siblings and closest friends know about it. My friend messaged me earlier what's the latest update with my life, I just said "nothing new, it's always the same, same routine, same stress lol" She asked me if I'm updated to some of our colleagues. I don't have an idea what's happening to them actually, and they don't have an idea what's happening to me too. My circle gets smaller but it's okay. I don't have a problem with that. I just don't want to feel bad every time I refuse their invitations to some travels or events because there's a lot to consider. When I started my own business, I have to learn how to manage finances, I can't splurge that much like how I splurge before, sometimes they feel upset, but that's life. If they will understand, I'm grateful, if don't then it's okay. I don't want to feel bad about my decisions anymore, I learned when to say no.

Deactivating my social media really gives me peace of mind haha, because I easily absorbed everything that I read, sometimes good, sometimes toxicity of other people. Social Media detox once in a while is good if you need a break and if you think it consumed most of your time. Go back to basic and to reality. Some young-adult nowadays fall into depression because of what they saw on social media. They tend to compare their life to others and forget that social media allows everyone to flaunt their good sides and hide the bad ones, it's all filtered. I don't generalized of course. But it's one of the main sources of envy and there are oversensitive people out there that can't handle their emotions well.

There are some genuine people who just wanna share part of their lives on social media, other's just want to brag. Well at the end of the day, it's all depends on us. Ask yourself, what's your real intention in posting on social media? To inspire others? to brag? to rant? It's our account and we're free to post whatever we want, let's just be responsible with our posts. Post wisely. And sometimes, it just a matter of perspective, if you can't handle some specific posts that you read/see, unfollow or block them, your peace of mind matters.

Social Media detox is effective for me, coz sometimes I consumed most of my idle time browsing without realizing it and I regret that those wasted time that I should've used to more meaningful things.


Thanks for dropping by. Stay safe. ❤

3
$ 5.29
$ 4.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Bjorn
$ 0.25 from @bbyblacksheep
+ 1
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko na naman yung nabasa kong quote sa phone ng friend ko. Pinasend ko pa yun the following day. Hahaha. Only God knows what our intentions are from posting our achievements.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We need detoxify every now and then. I do deactivate my fb account every now and then. I do have other soc med accounts but those are just noise, nothing special. Don't be too concerned about others. Focus on your own well being.

$ 0.00
2 years ago