Self-Care and Self-Love

8 47
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

I'm here again after a week. I really can't think of any topic lately. I want to share story about Penpen, my dog that died last April 23, but I stopped myself from doing it because I'm in too much pain, and I don't want to torture myself. I always miss her everyday.

Anyway, I'm not well today so gonna share this thought of mine about self-care.

Why self-love/ self-care is important? Self-love is one of the best things you can do for yourself. Most of us don't appreciate ourselves. We always give others the love and care that we also deserve. They're always our priority more than we prioritize ourselves. Is it bad? Yes and No. Well, it depends on us. It's not bad to prioritize your family and friends, as long as it's balance with how you treat yourself. You also need others that will love you unconditionally and genuinely. In many support groups, one of the things that helps a person to recover is that the group loves the individual until he or she can love themselves. The bad side of giving all to others? We tend to forget our self and some people will abuse our kindness. They will abuse us because we care and love too much. So I guess, it's a matter of how we balance things.

There are different ways to practice self-love:

- Stop giving people the power to steal your peace.

- Make sure you don't start seeing yourself through the eyes of those who don't value you. Know your worth even if they don't.

- Have fun by yourself. Enjoy your own company.

- Travel, once a month? or even once a year. Make sure you have a breather.

- Forgive yourself for your mistakes. Loving yourself despite any mistakes you made in the past is great for your self-worth.

- Get out of your comfort zone. Try things out of your control and say yes to the things you not normally do.

- Start your journal. If you can write down your thoughts and feelings, you can go back later and see how you coped with certain situations. It's also a positive way for you to heal.

While giving value to our minds and emotions, don't forget to take care of yourself physically too.

- TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF BECAUSE HEALTH IS WEALTH.

I'm guilty when it comes to taking care of myself. When I decided to leave the corporate world, I also sacrifice my sleep. I chose to be an entrepreneur. (It's a long story though). Back to self-care, because I'm home-based now, I'm so lazy to go outside. I don't exercise much, I stopped exercising again when this summer because I get weak easily, lack of discipline too, I admit.

Before, I was too focus in front of my laptop and busy with my small business. I love to eat junk foods and chocolates. Yes, I don't eat healthily before. I always sleep late (even now). I was living like that for 2 yrs until my body complained, January 2019. I have hyperacidity since college and it's normal for me to have a stomachache. Until I realized that it's no longer just stomachache. And I was right. I had gallstones and need surgery. It's the only way for me to heal and the operation was expensive 😞. Health is wealth indeed.

I started to give more effort to my health. Though I stopped again from exercising in the meantime, I'll go back once summer is over. I started to monitor my water intake. The only problem that I always have is my sleeping habits. It's hard to be consistent especially when I have some deliveries to finish and gonna encountered technical problems with machines and printers. I'm the only full-time managing the business. I'm doing my best now to make it bigger so I can hire some staff. I'm not getting any younger and I need to take care of myself more.

Please, let's listen to your body. If you need to rest. Just rest. I'm guilty of this too because I can't stand not doing anything but because of what happened to me today, I've decided to just enjoy my day. I just sleep and play a mobile game, I'm more energized now.

Oh, it's late na. So bye for now,goodnight.

5
$ 10.64
$ 10.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
+ 3
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Comments

I am sad to hear about the death of your dog.But it is natural who has to live must die.Yeah!Self love is very important.We live for others and forget about Ourselves.We should prioritize things and give first love to ourselves then to others.If a man really implemented all the principles you mentioned ,he will always be happy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yes, but given the fact that being human, we are stubborn. We need t to be strong to change our perspective in life and embrace ourselves to change.. it's not easy but it will always be worth it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko you number 1: Stop giving people the power to steal your peace.

Andami kasing taong ganun na pag nakikita kang masaya parang gusto nila tanggalin agad at sisirain at sisirain araw mo; mga kontrabidang tao sa life.

Kaya let's enjoy life and take care of ourselves even more kasi kung nagkakasakit tayo at nakakaramdam ng negative feelings di nmn alam ng kasama natin sa bahay gano kasakit yun, madadamayan lang nila tayo😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

true sis.. may mga tao na impakto tlaga at pinanganak para manira ng happiness ng iba. kaya kapag ganun na.. layuan na agad. sayang beauty hahahah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga, tlagang may ganun eh noh...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doon sa mga how to practice self-love meron ako mga check, check, check tapos biglang X, X, X. Hahaha. But yes we really have to love and care for ourselves. There's a different vibe or feels whenever we love and take care of ourselves. Self appreciation is one. But anyway, you mentioned water intake. I forgot that I have to increase my water intake slowly so I can drink 6L again by the time that I would start to exercise. When? I don't know yet. LOL. I agree that it's too hot these days. When it's raining, I would say that the floors are wet so I cannot jog. Or that I'm too lazy to move because it's bed weather πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

6L? omg prang nkakalunod hahahaha. parang nabsa ko sa kiki yan date ung d ka makapagexercise kc basa naman kapag tagulan hahaha. pero db? totoo nmn nkakapatay kaya ang init tas exercise..kaya ko ngstop. (excuse pa more) haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo binanggit ko din nga yun sa Kiki. Pero totoo naman kasi. Hahaha. Nakakatamad kapag mainit. Kapag maulan ganun din. Tapos may dahilan pa ako na baka madulas ako kapag basa tapos magjjog πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago