I'm a dreamer and this is my story.

11 25
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

If you have a passion to do something that you really love. Don't quit. Never give up on your dreams, that's the key. Persevere and never give up. I'm was graduate of Bachelor in Advertising and Public Relations at Polytechnic University of the Philippines. (PUP) It's a course for creative persons. The curriculum was composed of subjects that will squeeze the creative juices out of the student. I so love the idea of making commercials, marketing campaigns, jingles, developing your own brand (yes, we're like marketing but more on the creative side). During that time, it was so ideal. As a student and a dreamer, we have a lot of choices. My friends dreaming about being a marketing officer, account executive, media planner, copywriter (I personally didn't like it because I know to myself that I'm lacking. I'm not good at English, even now haha), so I choose to become a Graphic Artist...coz I love designing and editing more. Fast forward. After graduation, I applied to several companies but as a fresh graduate, it's hard to compete with other designers cause of my portfolio. It's a battle between fresh grad vs experienced GD. I remember, one day, mama told me "maybe it's not for you, that position doesn't fit you" And it hits me really hard. I started to question myself. Maybe she's right. Maybe I'm not good enough to be a Graphic designer. Maybe I'm dreaming too high. I used to be happy go lucky kid. I don't have an ambition when I was younger. I was a free spirit human-being (until now, but with maturity.) I just want to finish college and work. That's it. Being a graphic designer was the first and ultimate goal that I want to achieve for the very first time. I didn't listen to my mom. I applied and got rejected many times, my competition between me and fine arts graduate.

I tried a Public Relations company because it's also connected to my course. But being a clerk was not my thing. I can't perform well and I'm not good at talking to people too(in a professional way). So I quit after a month. I wanted to push my dream, to be a Graphic Designer.

I applied again and again until I saw a job hiring post online. They're in need of "creative staff". At first, I thought It was a GD position but I was wrong. I'm in the creative department but my role is to assist the designers and typical office clerk. When the supervisor interviewed me, she looked at my portfolio and said " You have an eye for designs. You have a skill, just need to develop it. But we're not hiring for the designer position. You can take it as a stepping stone. You'll be in our department and look at how we design. Who knows, you'll achieve your goal one day." And yes. I get the job, It was an answered prayer for me. I took the opportunity, and they promote me after 5 months, from Creative staff to Graphic Artist then promoted again as Junior Graphic Designer. She's the first person who believed in me. That I can pursue it. Reality begins for me after graduation. It's not easy as I imagined it to be. The struggles were real. I experience bullying in the corporate world..life feels like hell back then. (I'll share it in my next article.)

Do what you want to do. Embrace the challenges. You'll be fine I swear. Life is hard, but God is good. Believe in yourself because nobody else will. I changed my path when I turned 27. Maybe I will share here too.

*Lead Image is mine.

5
$ 0.30
$ 0.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
$ 0.05 from @alliborn
+ 1
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
3 years ago

Comments

I am fighter too.I love dreaming but only things which are reachable.I never give up if I have one goal.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Yes. That's the spirit. Never ever give up coz what if you're close to your goal then you suddenly stop. There's no easy path if we want to push our dreams. If I give up back then, It's impossible to me to be a Graphic designer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes it only really takes one person to make or break us. And if someone doubts us, we tend to question ourselves also. Sad. But we are where we are now because of our past. Push to making our dreams into a reality.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true... that's why I mastered the "fighting" spirit that I have. I got my goal as a graphic designer, set another goal, and struggling until now hahahahahahah. Kaya naten yannn. laban lang

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Struggling too. From own business to a Youtube channel. Hahaha. But we can do this. Aja aja fighting! 💪🏼

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True magtatagumpay din tayo 🥰

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahirap lang sa umpisa pero push lang!💪💪💪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

true... walang sukuan ahahah

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tama sis!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life is not fair, get used to it..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yaaahhssss... immune na immune na ko haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago