13 Reasons Why

10 33
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

I am sensitive when it comes to suicide and bullying topics. It's like there's a lot of emotions that keep on coming into my memories. Dark and sad memories that no one even noticed during that time. Those memories are always my wake-up call. Even if I feel down, sad, and stress now, I always remind myself of my past self during those dark times, that if I let myself sink again to that level, what will gonna happen? It won't help me. I always acknowledged my emotions, if my sad, angry, frustrated,..I always give myself some time to feel everything then bounce back.

While cleaning and organizing my things earlier, I saw this book and I remember this article that I made last year for another platform. I reread and improve some not-so-good words lol. ( I think there's not much improvement after I revise it hahaha).

Before the series on Netflix, my sister already had this book. She bought it because she's curious about the story. My sister is a bookworm that's why I can read a lot of books without spending money. I'm more on buying magazines because of my previous job. Need to refresh my mind in different style and designs. I bought my magazines in a book sale because it's cheaper,I don't read most of them, I only check page layouts.

Anyway, going back to my topic, 13 Reasons Why is a mysterious intriguing best-selling book written by the young writer Jay Asher. The story basically deals with the problems and stress faced by a teenaged school-going girl. It's a scary book especially when you're having suicidal thoughts. I read it before during my low moments. I have a wild imagination. I am an imaginative person. I remember one time, I was reading a horror story and my fiance was here. I thought he was sleeping and I'm so focused on the book when I heard a whistle. I was so shocked, I thought there someone beside me that I can't see lol. I'm going nowhere again haha. Let me continue, I stopped reading it when I am in the chapter that Hannah Baker explained why she decided to commit suicide. It's so painful and dark that I imagine it clearly in my head. So I stopped. It's not helping my emotions.

Hannah Baker committed suicide and before taking too many pills, she had recorded 13 tapes, telling her story, pain, and the reason why she ends her life. The book is all about those 13 reasons which one of Hannah's colleagues, Clay Jenson(the narrator) is listening throughout the novel. I won't spoil the story here, maybe you want to know it by yourself. The audio version of the tape is uploaded on youtube. Every word of Hanna Baker in the book is converted and feels like you're listening to a podcast. No narrator, it's the content of the tapes. Personally, my imagination works better while reading. The characters, the ambiance in every story, the emotions, I can imagine them easily.

If I read it in a good state of mind, I think I can finish it in just one day. I don't usually read books before, but because I was hooked on the story. This book leaves the readers in a different mood where one realizes that everything is not what it seems. There are people around us who might seem normal but are facing a lot of internal issues and struggles. I personally feel that the book is for everyone, not only for teenagers and for those experiencing bullying. It's for everyone, to be aware of our actions towards others.

What did I learn from this book?

-When you feel that there something wrong with your friend, loved ones, or even a colleague, extend your heart. Maybe they're just shy to approach you first. There's no harm in asking. Who knows, by that act, you can save a lost soul.

- Just because someone is acting fine doesn't mean they are. Sometimes, it's just a fake smile.

- Words have amazing power. It's either build you or kill you. Choose wisely.

- Don't be afraid to show and admit your love to someone, you may end up being all they have.

- You can't trust everyone. Other's will betray you.

- Be sensitive enough. For you, it's not a big deal but for others it is. Learn to be emotionally sensitive.

- Don't be a reason why there's a lost soul who chose to end their life.

Some of my favorite words written at the back of the book.

"You can't stop the future, you can't rewind the past, the only way to learn the secret is to play..."


Thanks for dropping by. Keep safe ❀

4
$ 5.20
$ 4.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.25 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @bbghitte
+ 4
Sponsors of Firenze
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Firenze
2 years ago

Comments

Nacurious tuloy ako. Narinig ko na yan pero di ko naman pinapanood. Minsan ang hirap talaga lalo di natin alam pinagdadaanan ng tao. πŸ˜”

$ 0.00
2 years ago

-Just always be careful and sensitive for the words we uttered..because not everyone has the same thoughts..hehe I never smile that much with fake people..nice one Sis! Have a blessed day!❀🌷

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have watched these series and one of the reason, why I hate men more. Lol. These is definitely not good for audiences with suicidal thoughts. I agree with you on that one, where clay johnson didn't tell hanah that he like her. Grr so frustrating.

You can't trust everyone. Other's will betray you. Yeah. Better be not get involved!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I haven't try to watch the series yet, .. True, I there's some country that banned the book or the movie before, because teenagers are not that matured yet to absorb the content of 13 reasons.

She can be saved if only she has the guts to open up. . and if Clay is not a coward 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have watched it before since my officemate recommended it and she gave me a copy of the movie. It's really a good movie, an eye-opener to all of us even if we don't have that suicidal thoughts. We need to be careful of our words and actions because we don't know each other's journey inside😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truly sis. .. Words can kill tlga..

Ngstick ako sa libro.. Minsan nga hanapin ko yan hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah, naumpisahan ko na si lemonade pero sobrang pagod ko kahapon di ko nabalikan..hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always do a fake smile...

to fake people. 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. I do that too. Impakta ko eh hahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha! Lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago