The benefits of learning from experiences

6 57
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

The story of my life is an easy one to relate to. I had a few attempts at establishing myself as a businessman, and this ultimately led me to start again a number of times on different adventures while searching for that business model that works.

The journey was characterized by a number of unfortunate events, mostly due to ill-advised investing decisions and poor management of my finances. I knew from a very early age what I didn't want to do and never applied myself to making anything successful.

In an earlier article, I discussed my problem with deciding what to work for. That dilemma could have been solved if I had a different goal in mind, but at the time I was so invested in the next idea, the next location, the next logo, the next thing to buy, that I couldn't afford to have it all unravel when that last idea failed.

This issue plagued me for years until I reached a point where I decided that I needed to gain a degree of stability and a single-mindedness before I pursued the next idea. I was at a crossroads. I had already failed in multiple business ventures and was growing tired of the uncertain path my life was taking. This led me to the process of closing down my existing businesses and starting afresh on a new project each time.

I'm glad I did that because it forced me to give myself time and experience building and running an actual business. I learned a lot about how the world of finance worked, how to run a business effectively, how to manage staff, how to work with people, how to market a product, and how to manage a budget.

Many people look to the examples of successful entrepreneurs and wish they could follow in their footsteps, but this is not the best route to take. The reality is that those guys and girls have failed a number of times before. They have had their share of failures. They have struggled with money and personal issues. They were fortunate to have started when they did because, when you're young, your mind is not yet set to the point where you've had the time to develop the business skills that you will need later on.

Instead, you might have an idea but not the skills to actually get yourself started. Or, you might have good ideas but don't have the talent or experience to execute them. Or, you might have the talent and skills but not the business acumen to create a successful business that runs properly. In essence, falling and starting over many times gives you experience on how to do things right.

Start looking at things differently. It might seem counterintuitive, but taking the time to write down your ideas and keeping them in a place where you can refer to them often will make your business stand out from the rest.

You're going to need to think critically about how you're going to invest your money, the products or services you're going to offer, and how you're going to keep your customers satisfied. In order to do that, you need to think like a businessperson. You need to have a plan and vision.

For example, if you're into the clothing business, you don't make a clothing range and offer it to customers. Instead, you make a business plan and do extensive market research to learn about what people want to wear, how much they're willing to pay, and how well they'll like the clothes you sell. You then put together a marketing campaign and launch that business with the clothes you want to sell in that market.

Don't go out there with a haphazard business plan, guessing what people want. You're too young. You can't guess like that. Figure it out. Ask yourself questions and find answers so that you can have a real business.

By putting yourself through this process, you will develop a sense of confidence that will help you in the long run, helping you to look at every new challenge as an opportunity to develop skills. You'll be able to push yourself and work really hard when you believe in what you're doing.

Once you've got the skills to get things done properly, the only challenge will be mastering the process and then doing it over and over again until you have mastered it.

This doesn't mean that you have to start a new business every day. It just means that if you're involved in any business, you should use the time to develop that skill set to get things done properly in future adventures. This is what I did, starting my new business at my new location and trying to learn from the mistakes I made in the past. I wanted to make sure I'd get it right this time.

I have said before that you need to understand how to "meet people where they're at," meaning that you need to understand how to interact with people and understand their needs to be able to get the job done. This doesn't mean that you just go out there and start trying to sell, then trying to find a client to sell to, and then trying to find a way to get those clients to pay you. You have to understand how the process works. You need to understand the principles involved and know what will and won't work.

That's the process that I've been using to set up my new business. It's a process that involves using my skills and experience in the businesses that I've been involved in to set up my new one, and it has worked very well for me.

I decided to do it this way because I know exactly what I'm doing and I'm a disciplined person who is serious about what he does. I don't believe that all entrepreneurs are like that, however. I think that a lot of entrepreneurs use that discipline in their business, but they don't know how to apply it in other areas of their lives. The only way to find out is to try it out.

Don't just follow what other people are doing. Use the time that you have to build your skills and become a better person.

It's great to build your skills as an entrepreneur. It will help you to take control of your destiny and give you the skills that you'll need in the future. Use it to build your wealth and be a winner in the long run. But use it to build your character, too, and become a better person.

Job sucks and school sucks. You need to find something that will give you the chance to develop your character and that will help to build your wealth. You can't be a winner if you don't have anything to be a winner with. If you're good, you'll always be successful. If you're great, then your own personal excellence will always push you ahead and take you to the top.

13
$ 1.88
$ 1.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Talecharm
+ 6
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

Experience is the best teacher indeed

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, it helps to avoid making same mistakes over again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, experience is mostly the best teacher, life outside school is different.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, when you are in school you thinks the world is waiting for you, but when you come out of school you are shocked to see that no one cares about you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Business is game of minds. I am simple with no use of brain so I always try to avoid from it. But after reading your article brother, I am motivated for clothing business. Moreover I am aware about quality and different designs of clothes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, what is it that doesn't require the use of the brain? Clothing business is good when you know how to source for quality wears and also know how to attract people to your business.

$ 0.00
1 year ago