Hello bloggers, your brain could be at risk. See why

17 78
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Do you know that the number of cells in the human brain is about 86 billion? That's what scientists said. It's also said that the size of the gooey between the ears controls the body just like any other. And as such, it makes sense to spend most of our time caring for it. But no one does. Most people do not even think that the brain needs attention. It is asserted that our modern way of life is limited by our emotional state, which doesn't allow us to slow down, eat, and exercise.

These can be dangerous to the brain, and, there are several reasons why this is so. To handle this case, we need to identify the bad habits we have chosen which most of us have never considered the damage they are doing to our brains.

What are these bad habits?

The odd side of Inactivity

I today's world long-distance work is becoming commonplace, the coronavirus pandemic made many people turned their bedrooms to their offices, and hardly had to move out of their bedrooms. I have read about people who eat, drink, sleep and work in the same place all day. The only time they move out is when they need to buy food, which, in most cases could still be delivered due to technology.

Whether we realize it or not, the consequences are far-reaching. Staying or sitting in one place for so long is directly responsible for heart disease, obesity, depression, dementia, and cancer. In addition, it also converts certain neurons in the brain, making them worse.

You need to understand a simple truth - movement is good. It releases endorphins that make us feel better, keep our hearts healthy, and make our brains work better.

Excessive sitting in one place during working hours keep you breathing hard as you type on your laptop or computer. You can see this for yourself. This leads to a decrease in oxygen in the body and leads to muddy thinking, fatigue, and mild anxiety.

How to deal with it

There's no need to think about the gym or hiring a fitness coach.

A 20-30 minute walk is all you need. If you say- "I don't have the time," you're lying.

Most successful businessmen and entrepreneurs in our days do this regularly. From Elon Musk and Warren Buffett to Mick Zuckerberg, every one of these men loves to exercise by taking a walk regularly.

This is one easy way to care for your body and the brain at the same time. Suspend whatever you may have to do and take a walk. Before you know it, you will easily hit your goal and not spend too much time on it. You can also use alternatives like using a standing/walking desk that helps you move more and burn more calories.

I know you are smart enough to know the benefits. You just have to apply it to your life. And with these simple steps, there is no reason why you should not do it.

Junk information is the greatest Killer of the brain

The amount of information we go through in a single day is staggering. The average youth consumes about 34 gigabytes of data and information each day. Such information from emails, social media, chat forums, notifications, meetings, and much more. If left unmanaged, we can be left astray and lose the right path.

Some people enjoy it that they can read a book online at 3x speed and listen to 2 podcasts while also checking emails, chats notifications, and news. But that is not something you should be proud of.

Even a small amount of information can prevent focus. For example, if you try to focus on work and know that email remains unread in your inbox, it can reduce your active IQ by 10 points.

We need to reduce the amount of information we consume each day systematically. Try to back down on short-form content and invest that time in reading long-form pieces. Reading longer content capture your focus and help you improve instead of jumping from one tweet to another.

Learn to remain calm as often as possible. Peace and tranquility prevail in the mind, body, and soul. Normal quiet times are the only solutions to the use of our great content.

Having loud music blasting in the background while working

No doubt, we all love to enjoy some cool music while working. And to immerse ourselves in the music we love, we always increase the volume.

You might want to think hard about this next time before you do that. With the popular use of ear earphones, you can easily harm your hearing. When your ears are accustomed to a certain volume, you need to put forth an extra effort to hear the normal sounds of those around you. Therefore, you cannot store things in your memory fast enough.

Most times even when you take off your headphones while listening you still hear music. That is a sign that your hearing is accustomed to the music sound level. To help yourself and your brain recover after blasting on music, take breaks every time you listen to music and provide much-needed relaxation to your brain and ears.

One thing to bear in mind is the fact that loud music damages the brain in more ways than we can imagine. It's best to keep the volume down. You can still enjoy your favorite music without damaging your brain.

Watching live True TV Shows

Reality TV shows are popular TV programs around the world. In Nigeria for example, reality TV shows such as the BBNiaja are a big deal, pulling millions of people glued to their TV sets week in and week out Naturally, people are attracted to drama (often deceptive).

I warned people about the danger of watching those shows, but they said, "It's not dangerous!" I say, "Yes, eating snacks every morning also seems safe but over time there are side effects."

I spent extensive time talking about this with some youths a time ago. The truth is, what we watch in the reality TV show is the unhealthy diet of our brains, and in the same way that unhealthy foods rot our teeth and make us sick, the bad side reality of TV shows rots our brains.

What we see has a clear effect on our behavior and our behavior is controlled by our brains. When you leave watching a great movie, you naturally feel good, not self-sacrificing, and want to replicate the protagonist in the movie. Now consider fixing your brain with deceptive content.

For a while, we get into the same emotions that we see on the screen. Your behavior starts aligning with the type of content you are watching. Because it has a profound effect on our perception, attitude, and behavior.

Help yourself today to help your brain by spending less time watching TV reality shows.

You are not a Jack of all trades, keep things moderate

Doing too many things at the same time is good but also disastrous. multitasking has been vastly promoted as a desirable trait for people in our time. However, the fact is that humans are not designed to perform many tasks at the same time. We cannot do two things and give equal attention to both. Only computers can do that.

People who do a lot of work all the time can't sort out the insignificance. They can't manage active memory. They are incessantly disturbed. They start with the most important parts of their brain that are not important to the work being done. And - too bad a lot of work.

When you ask them to do more work, they are worse. The more activities you do, the more damaging your brain will be.

To get out of this list, find your one item. Unwittingly put your health first and focus only on the most important things. Fear of not completing our to-do list is a reason to make a habit of doing too many things.

The solution is not very difficult. The solution is to shortlist and save only the essentials. Once you have done that, you will no longer feel pressured to do ten different things at once. When that pressure is raised, your focus and creativity go up leading to better output in less time.

conclusion

These are some of the oddest behaviors that can damage your brain over time. At one point, I almost have it doing everything I have to do at the same time, and t was always having to return to do again what I thought I completed because they were never done well. But after I cut back, I found myself more productive, less bordering, and happier.

Most importantly, do not forget the basics of a healthy brain - good food, sleep, drinking enough water, etc.

Caring for our brain is our job. It will not take care of us by magic on its own if we live our lives according to our thoughts and desires.

Give your brain the best treatment it deserves.

16
$ 16.64
$ 16.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @alberdioni8406
+ 3
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Good day to you sir! Since the pandemic started, I'm pretty sure I spent most of my time just laying down and scrolling through social media. I know the downsides of this and yet I still do the lazy routine. Overtime I realized that I looked stressed and I get tired easily. Thank You for this article, it just shows that even a short walk can bring so many healthy benefits❤️

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Gracias por compartir, muy buen articulo además de acertado en estos tiempos que estamos viviendo en donde queremos hacer de todo y con un movil en mano, donde estamos consumiendo contenido de diferentes indoles y que muchas veces no nos dejan nada, que nos convenga. Deberíamos buscar información solo que nos interese o prestarle atención a lo que realmente valga nuestro tiempo en ver o leer. Muy certeras todas tus técnicas para mantenernos sanos y activos, para cuidar de nuestro cerebro y salud en general

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good day sir. I would call this a food of thoughts and can only be Useful to the wise ones. You have highlighted main points on having a healthy brain and what could cause some brainwash and also giving room to unhealthy and a malfunctioning brain.

Yeah I know I fall into some of this category, but after reading this I would surely take to correction. Thanks so much for this sir.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Greetings sir! I don't know that walking is good for the brain. Oh my, I'm just here in bed being lazy and not having a walk outside for almost a week now. Goodness! Glad I read this articles of yours and I'd better be moving starting tomorrow.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You're absolutely right! I personally have been sitting on my ass way too much this pandemic, while exercise gives you more energy and makes you feel much better. It is also a lot better for the grey matter in my head then just staring at a screen all day!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hi, my friend,

This is an article with a lot of value for the readers. The brain is an amazing organ that is very consciously neglected.

I liked it when he talked about respecting cognitive limits. People aspire to become walking computers and underestimate how fascinating it is to work within the confines of the brain.

Although the new Prometheans aspire to the emergence of the singularity (the self-conscious and unlimited AI), our brain has already been a marvel since time immemorial.

Thank you for raising awareness in taking care not only of the brain but not of oneself as an individual.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

you mentioned it and they're all true... i have the tendency of multitasking and I know that it is not effective in many aspects.. so lately, I try to focus on one activity before moving on to the next.. the 30 minute walk habit still is in my goals this month.. its just hard to be away from my baby.. perhaps I can walk in place!? will that count?

$ 0.03
2 years ago

What matters is that you are moving your body occasionally, it can be within your compound or something like that. Having a working table that makes you stand instead of sitting will do just fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have given good information about how to care for the brain. As for me, I have always worked much for my brain that I tend to get headache at the end or most times strain my eyes and it start to hurt me.

Our brain should be settled and given attention to Everytime especially multitasking. It is very important. Thank you for sharing

$ 0.05
2 years ago

This is what I do, I work online for three hours and take a break for two hours to rest my eyes, take a work to refresh my brain and my body. You should try to avoid sitting by your phone or computer all day long, it's so harmful not only to the eyes but also to the brain.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good information. I, for one, love to take a break and do a short walk every hour when working. I seldom open my Facebook and Twitter to reduce the junk information that I receive.
I hate loud music. And I seldom watch TV. I guess I'm safe then.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are exactly like me. Kudos my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

86 billion? Why I can't feel it? 🤣🤣 Well you are right. Everything in this new era is dangerous.. that's why we need to take things in moderation.. Sometimes it's not bad to go back to old life.. it's even more relaxing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You are right, the old life is more comfortable and peaceful, that's why people live longer then than today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Such a wonderful article. I may say that my brain is not healthy anymore due to so much informations I gather in my existence. I do multi-task especially way back in my college days. That is maybe the reason why I had hard time focusing on things lately.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

You need to take a break from some activities especially online activities for some time to give your brain and your memory to refresh. Also your body needs rest as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would do my best to take your advice. Thank you so much

$ 0.00
2 years ago