Focusing on personal goals and happiness, things I am doing to control my emotions

16 252
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Everyone has experienced anger, sadness, disappointment, and frustration. If improperly managed, these negative emotions can break a relationship, ruin a project, and even take a person's life.

Managing your emotions is the key to a happier and healthier life. Did you know that you can eliminate stress and anxiety by simply learning how to manage your emotions properly? Anger and mental health issues such as anxiety and depression are very real and affect millions of people every day.

It's not just about changing your diet and lifestyle, you also need to learn how to change your brain and manage your emotions better. Everyone knows that everything we think, say, and do starts in our brain, so learning how to manage it better can help you control yourself and make better decisions.

I've learned an emotion management skill that I find very effective. I'll share it with you today.

Now, I'm not talking about trying to suppress your emotions but managing the way you interpret and experience them.

I also learned this skill from experience in my day-to-day activities with people and my family members especially.

So, what is the skill?

It's called 'Reframing'.

What is it?

Reframing is changing your perception of a situation.

It's quite simple. You just need to learn the techniques and practice them every day!

Here is an example:

You're annoyed because you just had a bad moment with someone. You're upset and you feel the need to complain about it to somebody else. The situation goes through your mind and you find yourself feeling bitter and not happy at all. You keep thinking about your experience and how upset you feel and it becomes difficult to focus on other things for the rest of the day.

Imagine you can separate your feelings into different rooms. The skill is to simply keep different emotions in a different room and never mix different emotions in one room.

It's a common fact for all human beings to have different emotions. However, we often experience slipping by letting some emotions intrude into other emotions, and thus, we became angry and upset with people over some issues that are not connected to our initial feelings, and at the same time, we become disappointed, pessimistic, and insecure about life. This is called transfer aggression.

On the other hand, we also learn that keeping away anger on people who have wronged us will help us to become stronger and be able to resist things more effectively.

Furthermore, we believe that jealousy is the worst emotion as it drives us crazy eventually. Yes! I've also experienced those situations before and it leads me to feel very bad about myself as I felt so powerless.

However, as human beings, we should know better. We know how to manage our feelings and emotion wisely and properly.

Now the question you might ask is how it's possible to manage your emotions to live a happier life.

The idea is not actually new. It is something that has been practiced by most people around the globe for their happiness.

It wasn't difficult back then to separate your feelings into different rooms. You don't need many things to do so, but now with our busy schedule and the exponential growth of technology you might find this hard.

I may be very frustrated with work, but once I am away from work, that room is closed. When I work on other things or talk to other people, my emotion will be neutral.

When I am doing work, I can get stressed and angry, but when I am away from work, I think about something else. I tried as much as I can to reframe myself from thinking about the frustration at my work.

Removing yourself from the emotion of frustrations is the only way you can be happier. It's difficult, but just remember that when you are away from the frustrations of work, they are still there. You are slowly removing them, bit by bit. Your job is to remove them completely. Otherwise, frustration will build. At this point, it's easy to get upset with anyone for nothing related to the feeling of frustration in your heart.

People say I am a complicated person. And yes I agree, I have my moods, and they change. But once I am done with someone, that's it, I leave it there. That space is closed. I can't go back to it again ever. I won't talk about it to anyone else. I am focused on my life and my friends and the things that bring me joy. I do what I need to do right at the instance of the incidence and then I am done.

I have 3 kids. Whenever one of my kids annoyed me, I wouldn't take my anger out on the other. Instead, I would let them know that I was in a bad mood and needed a break. I would take a walk in the yard or the neighborhood. This way, I didn't have to let my anger out on the other kids when I was in a bad mood. It was a great way to channel my anger in a positive direction and it's a habit that I still practice. By channeling my anger in a positive direction, I cannot bring my anger out on my kids.

Every room starts with neutral emotion. I'm not saying you should suppress your emotion. It's bad to suppress your emotion. Don't suppress. Let it out, but let it out fast.

Many people have a misconception about letting emotion out. If you have a bad day at work or a bad date or a bad life or a bad anything, you should let it out, right? But you shouldn't let it out to people around you. It should be a way for you to vent to yourself to relieve the pain, not a way to vent off the people around you. The key to a great relationship is having a lot of empathy. If you can't feel what your partner is going through, you're going to have a little problem in your relationship. That's not necessarily a bad thing. It's a growing thing. It's a learning thing. But it's a problem. The key to a healthy relationship is having a lot of empathy.

I have learned to use the five minutes skills. I wouldn't keep my bad feelings for more than five minutes. Though I didn't time it, but I learned to let my anger out fast, and let the event ends in the other room.

Over the years, I've learned not to bring emotion from one room to another room. This skill has helped me to overcome my business and marriage failure. It has been instrumental in keeping my mindset positive.

If you have a spouse, let your spouse know about this skill. This has been a wonderful skill for my wife and me. This skill is one of my favorites. It has been a real blessing for my marriage. I tell my friends about this skill as well. I hope it will help them as well. Try using this skill and you will see it work. It has worked for my wife and me. We've been happily married for a long time now.

I have been married to my wife for many years now. She has been working very hard nowadays. The other day she came home from work and was very tired. She was complaining to me about how much work she had to do. I was a bit annoyed to hear that because she knew that I had to do a lot of housework to take care of our kids. She also knew that I was going to leave to work the next morning. I told her to take a rest and hugged her and said "I love you". She calmed down and went to sleep. The next morning, she woke up and took care of our kids, and made me breakfast before I left for work. She never complained about her work again.

Bottom line

It's no secret that we all have our ups and downs. And we all know that we can get caught up in negative emotions and behaviors when we're feeling sad or stressed. Unfortunately, these negative emotions and behaviors can lead to poor choices and self-destructive habits. So how do we keep that from happening? We all need to find ways to manage our emotions and deal with our stresses in healthy ways.

I hope this blog post has helped you identify some strategies that could help you to better manage your emotions and deal with your stresses in healthy ways. If you have any other questions or concerns about dealing with your emotions and stresses, please leave them as a comment in the comment section.

Thank you for reading, I am always excited when one of my posts can provide useful information on a topic like this!

18
$ 6.31
$ 5.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.05 from @Eylz2021
+ 7
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Emotions are what makes us different than machines and what makes the human race true survivors

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To control my anger most times, I just play music and give excuses for the person's behavior, it helps me automatically forgive the person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really thank God for the kind of person that I am. I am able to control my emotions most times but I still for grace to do more and also work towards it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Negative emotions shouldnt be directed to others, we should settle it with ourselves because you may regret letting it out on another person. Thank you for teaching me this skill!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Removing oneself from the negative emotions can be hard. It happens to me often , and i end up transferring the aggression on things or people i ought not to, after which guilt set in. Best thing i do is to apologise and as you stated work on it-manage my emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reframing is indeed good. When a person is angry or has overwhelming emotions, whatever these are, it really clouds our judgement. So when we try to understand our emotions more, and try to look at the brighter sode of things, those emotions can subside and be handled well, thus making us more efficient for the rest of the day, despite some bad stuffs happening.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There's great Wisdom in knowing oneself and realizing that which is our strength and weakness.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Anger, sadness, jealousy and other feelings of emotion are what makes us humans. Our ability to control and channel them appropriately makes us different from the rest. I hate my reaction whenever I get angry, but I have learned to control that. I try to avoid or walk out of situations that will get me angry, and when I don't, I simply avoid acting in anger until I have calmed my nerves. This works do me. Trying out the skill suggested in this post can be helpful too. In the end, try various skills and stick to the one that helps you keep your emotions in check.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should learn on how to control our emotions. Those negative emotions we must find a ways that it will be gone. Do our best and response an actions. No one can help us first it's only ourselves.

We must be aware for this. If you cannot be brave it will ruin your life. We should be stronger and be ready whatever happens. Don't let those emotions can flow with you or else you will regrets.

Thank you for this sir. I learned a lot.❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Letting your emotion out to people cannot save you neither can it bring happiness to you, but allowing it to go within you is the best. You have taught us what we should know.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can be angry from time to time, it is normal, we are people and it happens to all of us. The important thing is to know how to handle it and not to alienate people who have nothing to do with the particular situation. Whenever you are angry remember not to take action on anything, much less argue, if it is with your partner worse, let the initial emotions pass, you can say something that you regret later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi, my friend,

Many years ago I read a book by Daniel Goleman, Emotional Intelligence. Sure, the technique you point to, reframing sounds great.

Yes, learning techniques to manage emotions are helpful. Already in ancient times, Aristotle wrote about this in the Ethics for Nicomachus.

Rationalizing your emotions helps you, but in my experience, not much.

Over the years, I have learned that acting out of love for others is the best method to express emotion. Yes, loving is easy to say, but not to feel. Mind and body must merge in the magic of brotherly love.

Love heals you beyond belief.

Greeting from the distance. God's blessing to you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your contribution my great friend. Yes, just as you said here below;

Over the years, I have learned that acting out of love for others is the best method to express emotion.

That's another great way, and I think the best way to express emotions to our fellow humans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Emotional intelligence is one of the most vital tool needed to successfully navigate and live well in this 21st century

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you. learn something from your article! and yes we have to find ways to manage our emotions for it not to destruct us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should learn to control our emotions because if not, it will have a high chance that we will not succeed in what we want to do.

Just like in trading, we must learn to control our emotions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago