Don't settle for less

10 29
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Ever been in a place or in a team where your efforts and contributions are not been appreciated?

It's heartbreaking to be in a team where you run on the forefront to make the project successful, only to hear someone say, "What do you expect from us?" This would feel like a stab in your arm.

Of course, there are times when you don't get the appreciation you deserve and you have to accept it. But sometimes you really feel the difference in the level of engagement. When you work with some people for some months, you feel that your contribution will be useful and important. It is not fair if some do not see it that way, even though your performance for the entire team is good and has brought success to the project.

That is why in today's communication revolution, it is critical to communicate your level of commitment to a project. Often, there are people who over-promise and under-deliver what they promise. People do it because they can and people do it because they think they can. Don't over-promise, don't under-deliver; instead, make a promise that you will exceed the commitment.

As a writer, I have had the opportunity to work with several projects team in the area of promotion and marketing which I believe is the most crucial aspect of every project. I usually don't make any promise of commitment but simply do my best to make the projects successful. When you are made to be a promoter for a project you become the selling point. The reason for this is simple, you are the bridge between the team and the client. Your focus is to make the project a success.

But after you have done your best and helped a project to gain visibility, Then someone says you have not done enough and wanted you out. This will be a stab in your shoulder. It will break your heart and cause you to go around with pain in your heart. I have had this kind of a stab in my shoulder, even from a person I recommended to join the team.

Often, people expect more commitments from you than you can actually give and blame you for the negative reactions they get from the public over a product they bring to the community that was not well received. In this kind of situation, what can you do if you are the one being blamed?

In my case, I simply throw in the towel and move on. I think it's better to let go than to keep hurting myself over the judgment of others. If my contribution to the project is no longer considered valuable, I can't settle for less than what I do on other projects that am not committed to. It's just not worth it.
I work with a team where I took the responsibility for marketing and promotion. I did this promotion for a period of 2 months, brought many sales for the team, and helped the project gain credibility. I was expecting around $500 for my work but was paid $250 of which $50 was to be invested back into the project. This to me was not right, and I was told that my contribution does not worth it.

I would not have accepted the project if I had an indication that it wasn't worth my time. This is a person I trust and recommended to be a part of the project team. Just because he has the technical capacity to work with the team leader made him the one to decide what others should receive. And as the initiator of the project, I feel much pained to be treated like that.

Nevertheless, I couldn't settle for less. I moved out from being a member of the project's team and in another 5 days, I landed a promotional job that paid me $350 for just one piece of a promotional article without doing any marketing whatsoever. I don't even know what the person who requested the article will do with it

This is what I mean by not settling for less. If you are in a place where your contribution is not valued, don't settle for less. Don't sell yourself for less than what you deserve. Move on from it, there are a lot of opportunities out there where you will be well received and valued.

This is a brief summary of what I have learned about accepting and not accepting to work with people in a team:

Lead image source:




8
$ 2.11
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 8
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
1 year ago

Comments

I think it's better to let go than to keep hurting myself over the judgment of others.

If you are not appreciated, then this is the best decision. After communicating properly what you can deliver versus what others expect from you and there is still no understanding from the other party, then it's time to move on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's exactly what I did, I can't give more than I have, and after all that I have done without any appreciation it was clear to me that I was no longer needed in the team.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True , if you know your worth , the quality of skills you have then you should also know your market value. Know your market where you are being valued right. Some people are just too good in taking advantage of their connections and throwing blame into other people as well.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do you know that I was the one who initiated the project and bring everyone together to form a team. That's was why it was so painful to me to be treated that way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww, so you are the brain of the project yet when it work someone steal the credit and pretend that your idea was not working at all so that he has reason to pay you less. Well, good thing you let go of it.They are just going to use you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes others took for granted our presence because they found a new friend where in fact they just met them now, unlike you who they knew long time ago

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mostly people use others like a tissue paper. When the project gets wings they forget or ignore it's forefathers or founders/ bigners who work for it day and night. Agreed, we should not accept any offer with less value of our time , energies and potential. Our contribution should be recognised worthy!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I will rather stay hungry than to allow people use me to achieve their aim without equal remuneration that is suitable for my service.

$ 0.00
1 year ago