Back on my feet again after six days of illness

14 70
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

I was ill for six days, which is unusual for me. I was unable to sleep and while I did manage to get a small amount of work done while in bed. My productivity while sick was very low compared with say a normal week where I work a total of 30 hours a week. Dispite, having completed my usual tasks for the week on the days I did manage to get on line my usual rate was reduced by 25%. I had reduced concentration, slower response times and major typing disasters especially with the left hand the primary typing hand.

So I was hit by an ugly cold six days ago. Like, sharp chest pain, cough, fever, sore throat, aches and pains, sharp headache that you get that feels like it's never going away. Like you are lying awake at night wishing for something to stop.

I'm happy to report that I've gone over it. The last three days have been steadily good, as I gradually get back my strength.

I learned a couple of things while being sick.

Nothing is more exhausting than being sick. You can't do anything for yourself, so it's usually up to loved ones to care for you. After all, you can't expect someone else to do the work you need done when you're physically or emotionally drained. You can't even expect loved ones to take good care of you when you're sick, since they might not realize how stressed out you are. We all know how trying it can be to care for the people we love, and to live our lives with the thought of not being there for them. For this reason, we should always make sure we take our health serious by taking good care of ourselves when we need it. This will help us to save money and prevent us from taking ill too ofteun.

We live in a very fast paced world. Our fast paced world is something that bothers me. I am desperately trying to learn to slow down. I feel like we get into such a good rhythm when we allow ourselves to take it easy. I feel like I am constantly in danger of not being satisfied in life if I don't live my days right in time in order to keep up with the fast pace. We could all use a moment in our day to take it in. And when you stop to appreciate the little moments, Like, we really need to chill out at times and slow down.

Has someone ever told you to slow down, or to take it easy with your working input? We may consider this a joke, but when illness struck, then, we realize how vital it's to take out time from our busy schedules to chill and relax. We always feel that we are missing out or we're gonna miss out if we should take sometime out of work, and I think it's crucial to maintaining good health.

I have never been sick for more than five days in my life. Being sick is one of the most frustrating feelings of all time, so rather than try to act smart while undermining the feeling of your body, just focus on getting better.

When you are sick, it is best to take care of your body and simply rest. Don't run around trying to act like nothing has happened or putting more pressure on yourself by thinking you have to work harder so others won't get better than you. As the saying goes, "When one door closes, another opens." So when you get sick, accept it and move forward with actions that will help you get better faster.

I guess this is why we should learn to save our energy and not push ourself too hard when sick. When there's life, there's hope . We should try to live our lives on a simple and sustainable energy basis. This is not always easy, but we must learn how to be flexible and adapt to change and learn what works for us.

I think I have actually overstressed my body, with several nights without sleep trying to catch some golden peals on the internet, I knew I was heading for the worst with my body. I have learned my lesson, and now I can see how valuable the recommended 8 hours sleep at night is.

I have decided that I will be going to bed earlier than 9 pm from now on, and also to try to find more time to relax and chill out with my family. It's been a long time I have watched a movie together with my kids and to enjoy a good meal together also. Since I wasn't able to eat anything nice for over five days, I ordered for a live chicken for our lunch yesterday been Sunday. I wanted to enjoy the time with my family, instead of going out to a restaurant we decided to do what we can do at home, prepare the fried rice and chicken for lunch, and have some nice fruit drinks available for all. It was to appreciate the care they rendered to me for those days of illness.

It's good to let your love ones know you appreciate their care and support especially during illness. I know some would say, are they not your family members? Hmm!

We live in a world where individualism and selfishness rule supreme. Most people can be so heartless to watch their die of sickness even when they have the money to provide medical support that would've saved the life. And in a world where everyone is in haste to get anything, how many people have the time to say hello to their neighbors daily. When you have people that love you let them know you appreciate their love.

9
$ 6.00
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Davinchysax
$ 0.10 from @King_Gozie
+ 7
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Last year I had a bad flu for 15 days. And I was living alone at the time. I managed as best I could. And some neighbors who were looking out for me helped me with food. Now I have my son at home and when I get sick I am better taken care of. I am glad that you are already well. And now you value your health and family time more. Take care of yourself my friend

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Para poder conseguir cualquier cosa en la vida, primero tenemos que estar sanos para estar fuerte para afrontar cada reto.

La familia y las personas que tenemos a nuestro alrededor debemos valorar las, son las que estarán ahí en los peores momentos y en la enfermedad.

El descanso es el que nos proporciona energía para el día siguiente, hay que respetar los tiempos.

Leyendo lo que dices, me doy cuenta que he estado cayendo en tu error.

Estoy empezando en esta plataforma y aprovechando el internet que tengo WiFi es en la noche he perdido varias horas de sueño.

Si puedes pasa y leerme a ver que tal.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I experience being sick few weeks ago as well and I also learned my lesson of prioritizing health. I also plan of sleeping early but it's been two weeks now but I never done it. I hope I could commit to it soon before another illness would strike. Thanks God you are well now and back to truck

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank God you are well now. Sickness also came to me this week, and I am still recovering.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It seems to be getting out of hand lately as so many people I know took ill last week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to know you are okay now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Our loved ones would always stick with us when they are most needed, especially during the moment when things seem the other way round..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So glad you're feeling better now. Take a good care of yourself. And as a reminder to everyone, Health is wealth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for your support

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am happy to see you heal and hearty back on your feet to continue on this platform. I hope you have had a complete treatment just to avoid a recurrence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

glad you are well now sir..yes, please do take care of your health.. i usually sleep around 8-8:30 in the evening and I wake up at around 2AM..then I will get back to sleep again. three hours after. i spend some me time . its just hard to sleep straight with a breastfed baby

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I truly learn a lot from this your article. Its truly good to appreciate and thank our loved one when ever they came to our rescue when we are down with illness so that can also help us again when ever we are in need

$ 0.00
2 years ago