The lost meaning of our independence

2 38
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

The sweet beginning

Today, in my country, we are celebrating the 61st year of our deliverance from the colonialist, and it’s a big day in my country, a lot of fallen heroes like JAJA OF OPOBO, TAFAWA BALEWA, NNAMDI AZIKUWE, and OBAFEMI AWOLOWO, all this heroes fought really hard for my country to gain her independent. The independent is one of the most celebrated holidays that people celebrate with passion, it something that brings everyone in the country together because we all fought the fight of independence.

I remember back then when I was still very little, every October 1st my dad is always at home with us and my mom is always in the kitchen cooking us a very delicious meal, the feeling of patriotism can be felt everywhere. Every company, factory, traders and all working class observe this holiday, looking back to 2016, I do get close to 150messages wishing me happy independence.

The change that happened

Recently, I just have this feeling that we have forgotten the meaning of the celebration of our independence, I didn’t get up to 50message today, and it so saddening, I understand why, many people have lost that feeling of patriotism, togetherness and unity. This is not because they wish to or because they don’t understand what it means, but the situation of the country that prompt this action from many people. The country economic is not so favorable, many people find it so hard to get their daily bread, things are so cost, even when people feel they are catching up with the economic, inflation of goods and service will happen again, and this is really killing the spirit of the citizen. Now even during the holiday, most people are at their work place doing what they do best, it doesn’t look like a holiday anymore, it more like a regular day for me, but no matter how regular the day may be, the feelings of independence is always in the air.

I got the inspiration to write on this topic from @HappyBoy on his own article “Happy independence day Nigeria- I’m a proud Nigerian despite all”

The undying feelings

I’m glad some people still have like my similar thought, yes, we are also celebrating what the country has been able to achieve all this time after independent, but the true celebration are to focus on the heroes that have fought for this day we are celebrating, we shouldn’t let the situation in the country cloud our mind and make forget what we are truly celebrating. I’m also a proud Nigerian and I can say it anywhere I go because my country is the giant of Africa and yes Africa itself and the world know this. I’m also ready to serve my country anytime. I will also celebrate this day with my kids someday and I will make them understand why we celebrate it to the best of my knowledge. I'm also proud to say I'm a proud Nigerian

So back to today, what did I do today, since its independence, well I nothing much to do or celebrate, but I had a seminar in church to attend this morning with a topic on “a lasting nation” the speaker spoke on what can make a lasting nation and it mostly focus more on individual it lasted for about 6hours, though it wasn’t meant to last till that time but the question and answer section made it even longer and at the ending of the seminar it felt like the real celebration of independence.

I would also like to appreciate @Kristofferquincy for the support on the sponsorship, I hope I meet up to your expectation. Thank you all for reading and also @HappyBoy for giving me the inspiration to write this.

Lead image and other image are from unsplash

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Comments

Thanks for the mention bro. You've spoken my mind, no many hoe we try to deny it, the atmosphere says it all. Happy independence day to us all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy celebration of independence. This is the part where I try hard not to talk about how dysfunctional the economy has been and how a series of selfish, self centred and egocentric leaders have taken turn to continually destroy the good thing we thought we had.

$ 0.01
2 years ago