Got burnt?

5 12
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Just a few moments ago, I was feeling a bit hungry for I only ate sweetened mung beans for breakfast. So I went to the kitchen to boil some water so I could have some flavored instant oats. But I can't find the kettle, maybe because our neighbor had borrowed it and haven't had the sense of mind to give it back so we could use it. I can't be bothered to go over their house to take it back so I decided to use a pot instead. So I went ahead, took a tiny pot, filled it with a cup of distilled water and put it on the stove to boil. A few minutes had passed and it was boiling so I poured the instant oatmeal on my bowl and time to pour the boiling water too, but maybe I ran out of luck cause I can not find any potholders anywhere! Goodness gracious, is there a ghost in this house? When you need things the most, they tend to get missing! Back to the story, instead of feeling annoyed and delaying my snack, I grabbed my towel, wrapped it around my hand, and grabbed the pot with it so I could pour some water on the bowl. 3 seconds in and I felt a sudden sharp pain on my fingers and I realized that the heat from the pot was seeping through the towel causing my fingers to get burnt. I instanly, let go of the pot filled with boiling hot water and spilled it's contents to floor. Luckily, I was far enough not to get spilled with that hot water and cause further damage to myself. My fingers were really painful it was tingling so I went to the sink and submerged my hands with cold water but it doesn't seem to work. It was too painful! The tingling was intense it seems as though it has a heart on its own, beating. I can't really moved my fingers cause it hurt a lot so I grabbed some ice with my left hand and iced the fingers on my right hand. Ah. It was soothing, what a relief! The tingling suddenly stopped. So, ice it is!

I iced it for a couple more minutes and now although still a bit painful, it's actually more manageable but I can't put much pressure to it yet causing a problem. I might not be able to crochet today, and I can't go on a day without crocheting. I also have an order to make. I also can't crochet with my left hand so maybe this is the right time to practice, right? It's starting to develop a blister now, I just hope it will be fine soon enough so I could get back to work.

Lesson learned: Never improvise in the kitchen.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @renren16
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
Avatar for Fancycrafter
2 years ago

Comments

I, myself like to improvise things at home, especially in the kitchen. I sometime experienced that. After putting some ice in it, I also put some toothpaste.Hihi..

Hmm..anyways, You should be more careful, okay? :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I've read that putting toothpaste on the burnt area is probably not a good idea. But whatever works for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! We can still improvise. We just have to be careful :) I hope you fell better soon.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago