A Recap

12 21
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago

It's been a while since I last wrote. Not that I travelled, I was very much around just that I have been very busy. It's so good to be back. I hope to be consistent this time around.

I will be giving you the gist of how my sister's wedding went. It went well. All glory to God.

The wedding ceremony was on Saturday. Not only that, the engagement party was also held on that day. The engagement party is where families of the bride and groom come together to finalize the union.

Here, the groom's family brings gifts-tubers of yam, fruits, palm oil, rice, butter cola,drinks, kola nuts, salt, goat, honey, some amount of money, the holy Bibleand other things written by the bride's family. The engager, who is the chief speaker of the event, use these gifts to pray for the couple and bless their union.

According to our tradition, the engagement party has to hold at the bride's house. So the groom's family has to be served well most especially, with pounded yam.

The colour for my sister's engagement party was blue, all shades of blue. But this doesn't mean people without blue clothes are not welcome. For the reception, the

I didn't expect people to be that much at the party because we started early. I was happy they were able to make it.We started around 7 in the morning. It was sanitation week. Sanitation week here in Kwara state is usually on the last Saturday of the month where it is mandatory for people to stay at home and clean their surroundings and cars must not be seen driving on the road. It's usually difficult to go out around this time. Except for some people that are given exempt like those in the health sector. I'm still wondering how people were able to get to our place so early.

Although, some people came the previous night to help with the cooking. Like my uncles and aunties wives we call them iyawo ile. Omooo they tried. They didn't sleep a wink. They were just going up and down. They slept over as well.

I met some mummies I haven't met before that I've just been hearing of them. And trust me, if you are from Yoruba land, you have a lot of kneeling to do and with both legs. God help you, the person you are greeting is a prayer warrior type of person, you have to kneel till such person finish praying.

Some people even mistook me for the bride. I was just looking at them. The resemblance between my sister and I isn't so strong.

I invited my friends, my brothers invited their friends, my cousins too came with their friends. Everyone came with somebody.

We were done in no time. Fast forward to the church wedding. The couple had gone to change to their white clothes. It was a very beautiful moment. The colour of the cloth we used here is peach and burgundy. We the bridesmaids wore peach while men in suit and agbada wore burgundy. The church wedding lasted for one hour and a half. We sang and danced. Everyone was filled with excitement. The couples had their dance. The pastor's message was a very interesting one. He addressed both the wife and the husband. He talked about being romantic, saying a romantic person is a happy person. They should not stop dating each other. They should learn to tolerate each other and they should always involve God in their doings. It was a very nice session.

Hymn was sung by the choir. I think the title of the hymn is God give us a Christian home.

After the service ended, we took pictures outside. We already had our photographer but we saw people with different cameras snapping us without asking them to.

Then we moved to the reception hall. It wasn't nearby. Kind of far from our church. I haven't even being there before.

We got there and we met the hall full. I was like what??? The bride's mother,(my mom), was called upon first by the MC to dance forward. And of course, people sprayed her money. Then the bridal train danced with the bride. They sprayed us money too.

I forgot to take slippers along. My legs was already aching me. Then the worst happened: my shoe by the side cut. There was no shop nearby. It was manageable though.

After a while, they started serving food. Different dishes was prepared-fried rice, jollof rice, moin moin, Amala and ewedu, semo and efo riro. Drinks was available as well.

Some people we didn't even expect they would be able to come, were there. Some came from Ibadan, Oyo, Abuja, Lagos, Osogbo and Osun state. They were mostly family and friends.

I wasn't really watching the event as I was trying to make sure people were served. I only sat down for a while. We were just going up and down.

Everyone was served. The cake was the last to be cut. It was shared round.

We got home late in the evening tired and exhausted. But we had some cleaning to do. The whole house has been turned upside down. We swept, mopped and arranged the house, washed the plates and ate.

Although stressful, it was a fun-filled day.

And I later got the bucket hat🤠

The next day which is Sunday, we went to church for Thanksgiving. Our church holds two services. First service is from 7:00- 9:00 while second service is from 9:15 to 11:00. I attended first and second service while the rest of the family with some visitors attended second service as I couldn't wait for them.

We (my family and the newly Weds) were called upon during the service to dance to the altar. The pastor once again prayed for us.

Several people came greeting us then they will turn to me and say 'iwo lokan' meaning you are the next in line. I would just laugh. I claimed it Sha. It's a good prayer.

We took some pictures after the service ended and went home. Our visitors have started returning to their various destinations.

Thanks for reading✨

6
$ 0.10
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.02 from @Gaftekloriginal
$ 0.02 from @Dennnis
+ 1
Sponsors of Faa_day
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Faa_day
1 year ago

Comments

When I first saw "engagement" I was thinking it's the normal engagement with ring on the finger in the misdt of young friends... And I got more surprised to read that families were involved. That's what we call Traditional marriage here🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's the same thing. That's what I'm referring to...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i am so happy for your sister who was now married to the man she loves. congratulations!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can tell you're a yoruba lady and besides, I also stay in Kwara state for now, I attend Kwara state polytechnic, I would like to line up with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! That's so nice! I didn't know you are based in Kwara

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nah, school brought me to Kwara even if its my state of origin

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm happy that the wedding was successful. I was even experting some photos of the event.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it was. Our pictures are not yet ready.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣is the kneeling down for me? Truly, a lot of postrating will be done if you were a guy just like me. Omo, I miss a lot oooo especially that amala and efo riro. 😋😋😋. Thank God it was a success and truly iwo lokan, I wan come eat rice

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You will have to wait for like five years if you want to come and eat rice... You are the next bro

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣🤣🤣emi ko leleyi nkan ooo,iwo lokan

$ 0.00
1 year ago