Life in Lagos Nigeria

8 27
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

I thank for God for his blessings and I believe this testimony my friend shared with me awhile ago can be put to writing here. 💚

An older friend of mine invited me for lunch. He is always edified by the way I share my real life experiences.

So he wanted to let me in on a little of his personal journey and testimony of God's goodness.

This man wasn't born with any spoon, so don't worry about silver. When he first came to Lagos, he lived in a one bedroom apartment at Ikorodu, with 2 other guys like him. Daily hustling something.

"I came to Lagos with my girlfriend too. We've been dating for like 3 years. She stayed with her aunty and was a receptionist at one company like that. Our dream was to make small money and get married." That was their plan.

Money wasn't forth coming, so he pushed for the family land in the village to be sold. His siblings agreed and pressured their parents. After all, nobody had money to develop it. It was sold and he got 500k Naira as his share.

He had a deal to close at Idumota which could change his fortunes for good.

He was to pay cash for the deal. Year was 2005. "Son of Nebu, do you know what happened? By the way Beck, why do you even call yourself that? This boy sef."

He withdrew 400k, got to the market but couldn't finalize the deal. It was past banking hours. So he had to go back with the money.

"You know I live with guys and our room is always open because of heat. We barely had a sleeping space talk more of where to hide money. So I called my girlfriend and gave her the money to keep."

That was the last I heard about my money. "Jesus! What do you mean sir?"

"She kept telling me stories about the money. From she was attacked on her way home, to her aunty seizing the money. Story was plenty."

"So what did you do?"

I cried like a child. Someone later told me my then girlfriend rented a shop somewhere in town. I knew it was the money. When I confronted her, she threatened to report me to the Police that I raped her."

"What?" "You see this Lagos Beck, I don't know the spirit that enters some people sometimes. People turn to vipers overnight, looking for who to suck without regards to any relationship or anything. I just prayed about it and left everything in God's hands."

He was able to pick himself up and hustle hard. He was a man. About 5 years later, his ex-girlfriend started calling to plead for forgiveness because she's finding it hard to get married. All the men she deals with promises her marriage and breaks up with her just before they finalize everything.

"Sir, did you place a curse on her?"

"No o. I didn't. But Brro

But bros, I cried. I cried like a child. Do you know what it means to be duped by someone you love? The pain is double. My God was fighting for me."

"Did you forgive her?"

"Yes I did. I prayed for her and told her I have forgiven her. She got married about one year after that. It wasn't easy, but God had already blessed me. I had nothing to lose by doing that."

"Chai...you're such a kind hearted man Sir."

All these times, his 3 years old son was struggling with his chocolates and plate of rice.

When he noticed we have reduced our talk, he offered me one chocolate.

His father smiled. "Bro, if you don't eat it, he won't leave you." And true to his father's words, he stood there looking at me.

So I ate it. He smiled.

"Watch and see what he does next", his father said.

Our little man carried his plate of rice, kept it on my laps and opened his mouth. His father laughed.

"Bro oya, he has paid you upfront so feed him. This boy sometimes behaves like an old man." We laughed.

I carried his son and got to work. "I will join you guys soon, let me check on my wife at the study room. She has a presentation at her office tomorrow. Let me know how she's coming up with it." I nodded.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

8
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lagos is quite a tough place to survive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Is very important to check how things will be at city that your going and life in Lagos is only God can help

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely story. Expecting more

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Life in Lagos is very hard

$ 0.00
3 years ago