A great lesson for today

7 51
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

After paying for my cable subscription this evening, I stopped by his church on my way back to the house. This pastor is a good friend and often pays me for consultancy in relation to his investments.

He was walking to his car park followed closely by Mary, his chef whose culinary abilities is out of this world. I've eaten her jollof rice, semo and okro soup at different times. I exchanged greetings with the pastor.

"my brother. You didn't care to call me when you returned to Lagos. I'll just dash you one evil spirit now to possess you."

We laughed and he told me he was headed out to bless a new shop opened by a member of his church. I brought out my phone to show him certain documents he asked me to research on, but we were interrupted by a random man who walked in on us.

He fell straight on his knees and asked the pastor to pray for him because his family is hungry and he has no hope of what they were going to eat this night. The pastor asked him how many they were in the family and he replied; 4. Him, his wife and two kids.

Mary, the pastor's chef whispered something into the pastor's right ear and he said it doesn't matter. "Whether he is our member or not, God listens to all prayers."

My friend stretched out his hand over this man's head as he knelt down and started praying for him. After about 20 seconds; the pastor hissed, stopped praying and told the man to stand up.

"You said food is the problem right?"

"Yes man of God."

"I don't need to disturb God." He asked Mary if the jollof rice for lunch was remaining and she nodded in the affirmative.

"Please put enough in a takeaway pack for this man and his family. Enough for them to eat today and tomorrow. I cannot be disturbing God for something I can handle." As Mary walked away, the pastor's phone rang and he excused me to answer it. I quickly followed Mary, squeezed in some Naira notes into her hand and told her to add it to the food package for the man.

I returned to the pastor with a big smile on my face. I joined him in the car and he dropped me in front of my Close before proceeding to his destination to bless the new shop.

His actions made me happy today and the point he stopped inbetween praying made me laugh. He appeared really angry and troubled that our people pray to God for the most basic of things.

I'm grateful the pastor also listened when he heard God's voice inbetween the prayers. I believe strongly it was a good spirit that told him to pause first and think about what he was asking God for. In that moment, he knew that God cannot do for us men what he has ordinarily given us the power to do for ourselves and our fellow humans.

This is the lesson worth sharing with your friends and loved ones; if you can do something for someone, don't tell them to pray about it. You may be the answer to the prayers. A little kindness can go a long way in healing hearts. I know this, because people have shown me massive love and support over the course of my life.

When you can, lend a helping hand in anyway you can.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

5
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

You can learn something new about these chapters from being called the father of all...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Full of great lessons, as someone also rightly said, "don't postpone what you can do today to help someone"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm grateful the pastor also listened when he heard God's voice inbetween the prayers. I believe strongly it was a good spirit that told him to pause first and think about what he was asking God for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a great lesson learnt, we should just believe in the Almighty

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Inspiring article.......keep it up

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Most times we complain to God for problems we can solve

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Help people when you re in the position to help. Not everything we keep disturbing God for.

$ 0.00
3 years ago