Playlist

12 31
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

The first article that I write about the songs is entitled Songs that I'll never get tired listening to... on that article I'll include all the songs that are part of my growing, songs that I learned to love listening to with my Dad. So we can also say that those were the songs that mold me into who I am right now.

This article covers the songs that I learned to listen to whenever I need some rainbow, some home. And this is the other side of me if the first article is mostly songs from yesterday this one is different, I call them the music of today.

One day - Matisyahu

For me, this song is about hope for a brighter tomorrow, a brighter day that one day kids can go back playing outside without worrying for their safety. That everyone should work for that peace that we are all dreaming of. That you and I are here to work for that peace.

Matisyahu told Spinner UK: "It is an anthem of hope with a big beat, the kind of song that makes you bob your head and open your heart at the same time."

So yes, this song is all about hope. And this is my fave part of the song.

“Sometimes I lay under the moon and thank God I’m breathing then I pray don’t take me soon cause I am here for a reason”

Fireflies - by owl city

The real story behind that song is about a guy who has insomia, about his experiences of sleeplessness. It is about how the paintings in his parents' basements help him imagining things in writing this song.

But for me, the song is so magical, so enchanting, even the melody. Yes the lyrics say all about sleeplessness but that sleeplessness leads him to an imaginary world of fantasy, where everything is perfect.

To ten million fireflies
I'm weird 'cause I hate goodbyes
I got misty eyes as they said farewell (they said farewell)
But I'll know where several are
If my dreams get real bizarre
'Cause I saved a few and I keep them in a jar (jar, jar, jar)

I love that part because I also hate goodbyes but I envy him because he saved some fireflies, it's like he saves all the good memories so he has something to look back. Unlike me, that I tend to forget everything when I'm hurting because of goodbyes.

Cups - Anna Kendrick

The real story behind this song started way back 1937 and it is two different song that was combined together. The song when I'm gone and the cup rhythmic accompaniment was first played in the year 2009 and then Anna Kendrick sang it in pitch-perfect movie.

I love the rhythmic melody and the lyrics of the song for me it is about telling someone that you'll be going on a trip alone and it would be much better if that person will accompany you. that the trip will be much more fun with him than let her go alone in a trip then miss her while she's gone. It's a lovely song for me.

I got my ticket for the long way 'round
The one with the prettiest of views
It's got mountains, it's got rivers
It's got sights give you shivers
But it sure would be prettier with you

Better Days - Franco

This is so simple, just like One day of Matiyashu its full of hope for a brighter tomorrow and this time it is already said in the lyrics that it needs to start within, it needs to start with ourselves, I like the way he puts its that the price for a simple better world starts in healing within us.

The world is gonna see some better days
This feeling starts within yourselves today
Such a simple way a price to pay for better days

Castaway by - Franco

This is another Franco's song that's doesn't need to dig more if you want to know the story behind it. The lyrics says it's all, he wrote this song while he was in America and feeling alone. And for me another song of hope because of this part.

On my own castaway
Trapped and caught in between
Darkened skies, tidal waves
But I am moving on

Bad Day - Daniel Powter

The song is really about someone who is having a bad day but it has a sunny tune that makes it reassuring and comforting but there are some who said that "It's not literally about having a bad day, it's more about not taking yourself too seriously and complaining about trivial things"- source: bad day

I just loved everything about this song and it's like me when I'm having a bad day. I try to fake everything and pretend that I'm really ok. I listen and sing sad songs hoping to think of something that is much worst than what I'm going through.

Barely Breathing - Dunkan Sheik

This song is about one-sided relationships, where one party has significantly more affection for the other. It also tells about emotional troubles in a relationship. The indifference and coldness lead to a sensation of emotional and physical suffocations..

I guess the reason why I like this song is that I've experienced being in a one-sided relationship. I know how it feels to hold on to something that you don't know what will be the ending aside from parting ways. I know how it feels to keep on hoping that the story will still change, that one day that one-sided relationship will change to two people who are both in love with each other, but I think that story plot only happens on the big screen.


Lead image : unsplash

Thanks for reading and don't forget to hit that like and subscribe button. You can also leave a comment if you have any questions or suggestions. Thanks again!

8
$ 18.63
$ 17.97 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @dziefem
+ 4
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Music can name the unnameable and communicate the unknown - Leonard Bernstein

This article made me think about the wise words of this American Jewish Composer, it is incredible this great musical list dear friend, all these songs you share, so full of feelings, learning, wisdom and passion, I did not know them and I thank you for sharing them, I do not listen to a lot of music in English, I am more of Spanish genres, however each letter, each story behind these themes, inspires you, motivates you, makes you think so many things, it is incredible how each of these music can positively influence life, another great article that you bring us, my respects, delight without a doubt, take care of yourself, greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's said that music is the food of soul, and good songs are the best friends in the time of loneliness. So enjoy the songs in your spare time with coffee and snacks❤️😋

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep... Heard about that too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bad day - timeless hit!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One Day, Fireflies and Cup the best yan. Save ko nga to, pakinggan ko bukas yang tatlo sa huli.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tatlo lang po alam ko dyan. One day, Fireflies and Cups. Ang sarap kantahin yung one day.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo.. sobrang feel good kantahin eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga po, damang dama ba. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pakinggan mo yung bad day maganda din 🤭🤭🤭

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay sige po try ko rin yan 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love fireflies and bad day. Both nostalgic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yep... I like bad day the most actually...

$ 0.00
2 years ago