Missing my Dad

27 45
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

December 17, 2o21

Staring at this page again for a few minutes now, and yes there are topics that popping up but they are all meh. Thought of writing about foods or some travel that I did had before but I just can't make my mind work to refresh me with what happened to that trip. Thought of sharing my book collections but I remember that I did give away some of it just others can read it instead of stocking it at the shelves and accumulate dust, so another topic that I wipe out. Let's just make some free writing and let's see where this writing will lead me again.

Tomorrow is my Dad's birthday and if he is alive he will be turning 76 tomorrow, he left us at the age of 57. It was a shocking goodbye because he was not ill and he doesn't have any diseases at all. He died in a car accident somewhere along the North expressway near Valenzuela exit at 5:30 in the morning.

Everybody knows that I'm a Daddy's girl, but I guess its just natural since I'm the only girl in the family and the youngest. Anywhere he go you'll find me at his side, except for his work trips and some trips that are only for the boys. He is so good in cooking, his specialties are Morcon, Mechado, kare-kare, dinuguan and a lot lot more but my favorite among all the food that he cook was pork sinigang and ampaya sauted in miso.

And oh I remember he also make a good pineapple ham, while my mom cooks embutido and leche flan. That was our business every Christmas way back mid 90s. We are going to cure the pork for 16 days before he will cook it in pineapple juice with some herbs and spices before he will glaze the top of it with sugar. My mom is the one who sells it while my Dad cooks it. There are days that our fridge are packed with cured pork for a month, you'll not find anything just cured pork. My mom cooks the embutido while I take care of the leche flan. I think during those times I reached the point that I don't want to see any embutido or leche flan on our table. I can't even stand the smell of if because almost everyday we cook it. My mom being a teacher got a lot of orders from her co-teachers that is why almost the whole month of December we are busy. Though even if we cook ham, the one we put on our table every Christmas or New Year is a different one, my Dad buy his Chinese ham at Quiapo.

Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty

These people are all wonderful that you'll want to get to know them.

We stopped making ham after my Dad left, yes me and my siblings knows how to do it but no one wants to do it not even my mom. Do I still have the recipe? Yes, I think I still have it but got no plans of making one.

Another recipe that my Dad make that we are not trying yet is the morcon. Even though I know the recipe and I know how to cook it I just don't want to do it. Can't find the inspiration to do it actually.

My Dad was a friend of everyone here in our neighborhood, you will not here any negative comments on how he deal with people. He was my cousin's favorite Uncle too.

How I wish he was still alive, how I wish both of my parents are still alive. It will be a different Christmas if they are still here and I wouldn't mind chopping all the ingredients just for them to cook for me again. And I miss my parents a whole lot, sorry if I keep on talking about them. it's my only way to be with again, even if it is just a memory.


 Thanks for your time reading this article, if you enjoy reading it hope you're gonna click that button to like and subscribe. By the way, let's talk some more so I hope you will leave a comment below and share with me your thoughts.

©Eylz2021|#ClubBrokeBCH

All Original content unless specified otherwise ;)


15
$ 15.16
$ 14.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
$ 0.10 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of Eylz2021
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eylz2021
2 years ago

Comments

Every christmas we will miss someone especially if it is our parents.. It's just sad that we can't be with them in times like this.. but for sure he's watching you now and will greet you a happy and merry christmas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Keep remembering him fondly, nothing is the same when he is gone, only the good memories remain. God bless you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True nothing is ever the same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how you feel about losing a dad, mine died of sickness and I wasn't there when he passed away. It's sad remembering the people we love during the holidays but hey he has been a good dad. I guess with those borrowed times he made all of you happy and that's what matters. May he always guide you and your family.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep he really did made us happy... and raised us well too. For that i am so thankful for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're dad so sweet. I kind of crying inside. I know that he is now looking and guiding you always. Christmas is such an emotional time. God bless sis

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks sis... went visit him this morning and i was talking to him like he was just beside me.. made some jokes too but still uts different

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Christmas is not the same without our parents, big hugs Elyz

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Ed.. yep will never ever be the same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A big bear hug for you. I lost my dad when he was 63 years old. I adored him. He also loved to cook and was in charge of Christmas dinner, he loved to make a stuffed turkey. I have never eaten turkey again at Christmas Eve dinner. And I miss him so much. Love yah, amiga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for that sis... yep there stuff that we do we thwm that we cannot do without them.. love yah too amiga

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At this time of the year we always tend to remember our loved ones.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know and no matter how try to look at it on the brigther side the more it hurts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

They are never forgotten. We only learn to live in their absence and with the pain it represents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aga mo ko pinaiiyak madam. I am a papas girl too and ramdam ko pagkamiss mo sa daddy mo.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Yep yen... kahit gaano na sya katagal miss na miss ko pa din sya

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sure they would want to be here with you too if they could. It's nice you have such wonderful memories of them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Got so many wonderful memories with them... and i'm so thankful for that..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pray for us, tito.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks sis... jamming kaya sila today? Bday party nila sa heaven

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's such a treasure that is buried in our hearts those memories with them. It will be my Dad in-laws 3rd death anniversary on Christmas Day and Mum is getting emotional this past few days missing him. ❤ I know how you feel Eylz. Your Dad is always with you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks sis... and be there always for your Mum.. i know no one can replace your dad in laws presence but still be there for her to cheer her up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry or your loss. We've all gone through pain, my dad left early too; today makes it 10 years amd 7 days since dad left, while today also makes it exactly 4 years since mom left.
It's a really sad day for me. I'm so sorry for your loss once again.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Huggsss ... let's not be sad.. i know they don't want us to feel that way

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm trying my best to be happy but it has not been easy without them..

BTW I'm new here and have only written an introductory article. What do I do next?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm so sorry about your dad. You know, he would be probably looking down at you with a big fat smile on his face realizing how good you turned out to be :) He would be very proud of you sis. Hugs

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks doll i really hope that's the case 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago